We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$235
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$95
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$346
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$152
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$992
US$372
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
40
4
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
4
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017

we dont really want to tell you about this really nice place as next time we might not be able to book up.Jill and Bob very welcoming as was the new Labrador.
House as usual very comfortable with improvements in the form of new windows since our last visit in September, we even got an early alarm call from our neighbour in her pre Marathon perambulations to the bathroom,she must have been very nervous.

Room Tip: Dont choose Cedar when I plan to come I will be very dissapointed
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arranshand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I think previous reviewer has missed the point. If you want shrink wrapped, hygienic uniformity stay in a Travelodge. This is a very good, perfectly clean bed and breakfast, situated minutes away from one of the nicest roads in this glorious city. My room, Sundial, was spacious, blissfully quiet, and even had a remote control coal effect fire and an electric blanket, both most welcome on a freezing weekend. This room is not en suite, but had its own bathroom across the hall, and robes provided. The hosts are polite and welcoming and their home is filled with plants, flowers, family photographs and books. Vast hot and cold breakfast assortment with fresh fruit and homemade jams. Very efficient and prompt responses to my emailed booking enquiries and changes of plan, and they were most welcoming to my daughter who joined me for breakfast. Jack the dog is charming and very well behaved, non dog lovers have nothing to worry about as he is kept away from communal areas. Only very minor criticisms are shower pressure could be stronger and it would be nice to have a small thermos of fresh milk on coffee/tea tray in room.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Our stay at Morningside was certainly an experience. The used bar of soap above the bidet I think sums it up, but more worrying was the lack of any fire exit information and the poor level of hygiene throughout.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelsindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed in this lovely Victorian house for four nights whilst visiting the Festival and of course the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. It turned out a real home from home feeling.

On arrival we were greeted by Gill and of course Solo the lovely black Labrador and we were made to feel at home straight away. We had started the day in Shrewsbury where our taxi to the rail station got lost trying to find our house and eventually arriving at the station with only minutes to spare for our train departure.

On arrival at the Guest House, Gill sat us down in the lounge and brought us coffee and biscuits to help us de-stress and a short while later we met Bob. They are a lovely couple and work hard running this super Bed and Breakfast.

The room we stayed in (Yew Tree) was spacious and very comfortable with a separate bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of room to hang our clothes. Dressing gowns were hanging on the back of the door and one extra in the wardrobe where we also found a pair of slip on slippers. A fruit bowl in the room was replenished every morning.

The bus stop from the city is just a short 2 minute walk from the B&B but the one to the City is literally round the corner, less than half a minute away. There are lots of shops on Morningside Road where bargains can be found especially in the Charity shops that sell quite up-market items at very, very reasonable prices (especially compared to those in Shrewsbury).

Gill and Bob, we hope you read this because we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you and your truly amazing breakfasts. Solo was a delight to meet and thank you for all your help and advice, particularly the 'Tattoo Bag' which turned out to be very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Yew Tree is at the front of the house and although it is less than 100 meters from the main road it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RandRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I travel a great deal all over the world and stay in everything from very smart hotels to pretty basic B&B's. I can say with confidence that this is one of the nicest and most ideal City Bed and Breakfast homes that one could ask for, or find! The situation is so convenient being just round the corner from the main road down into Edinburgh and there are buses, a Waitrose, a Marks and Spencers Just food and a Tesco Minimart all just a few yards away.
Bob and Jill Knox make one so welcome and the accommodation is stylish, spotless and beautifully fitted out. Jill cooks a really delicious full cooked breakfast to your order and there are also all the extras that one could ask for..... fresh fruit, including strawberries, raspberries, cherries, blueberries and loads of cereals, different breads, croissants etc.
The house is a classic Edinburgh Townhouse and has a lovely solid feel to it and is set in a really lovely garden.
When I visit Edinburgh again I will definitely stay at 4 Morningside again. Thank you Bob and Jill for a most enjoyable three days in your house.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gadfly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews