We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
40
4
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
4
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed in this lovely Victorian house for four nights whilst visiting the Festival and of course the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. It turned out a real home from home feeling.

On arrival we were greeted by Gill and of course Solo the lovely black Labrador and we were made to feel at home straight away. We had started the day in Shrewsbury where our taxi to the rail station got lost trying to find our house and eventually arriving at the station with only minutes to spare for our train departure.

On arrival at the Guest House, Gill sat us down in the lounge and brought us coffee and biscuits to help us de-stress and a short while later we met Bob. They are a lovely couple and work hard running this super Bed and Breakfast.

The room we stayed in (Yew Tree) was spacious and very comfortable with a separate bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of room to hang our clothes. Dressing gowns were hanging on the back of the door and one extra in the wardrobe where we also found a pair of slip on slippers. A fruit bowl in the room was replenished every morning.

The bus stop from the city is just a short 2 minute walk from the B&B but the one to the City is literally round the corner, less than half a minute away. There are lots of shops on Morningside Road where bargains can be found especially in the Charity shops that sell quite up-market items at very, very reasonable prices (especially compared to those in Shrewsbury).

Gill and Bob, we hope you read this because we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you and your truly amazing breakfasts. Solo was a delight to meet and thank you for all your help and advice, particularly the 'Tattoo Bag' which turned out to be very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Yew Tree is at the front of the house and although it is less than 100 meters from the main road it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RandRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I travel a great deal all over the world and stay in everything from very smart hotels to pretty basic B&B's. I can say with confidence that this is one of the nicest and most ideal City Bed and Breakfast homes that one could ask for, or find! The situation is so convenient being just round the corner from the main road down into Edinburgh and there are buses, a Waitrose, a Marks and Spencers Just food and a Tesco Minimart all just a few yards away.
Bob and Jill Knox make one so welcome and the accommodation is stylish, spotless and beautifully fitted out. Jill cooks a really delicious full cooked breakfast to your order and there are also all the extras that one could ask for..... fresh fruit, including strawberries, raspberries, cherries, blueberries and loads of cereals, different breads, croissants etc.
The house is a classic Edinburgh Townhouse and has a lovely solid feel to it and is set in a really lovely garden.
When I visit Edinburgh again I will definitely stay at 4 Morningside again. Thank you Bob and Jill for a most enjoyable three days in your house.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gadfly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We really enjoyed our one night stay here on brief visit to Edinburgh. Elegant spacious period property in Morningside district, with superb substantial garden to match. Breakfast very tasty and served in a most attractive conservatory. The hosts were very friendly.

There were couple of minor admin glitches, but we felt that these were far outweighed by the overall quality and character of what was on offer. There is also easy access to city centre by public transport.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It is a beautiful Victorian house with a lovely garden in a quiet street near a busy road. The owners are really nice and it was not a problem for them to welcome us at their house past 11 pm on a Friday night. The room was bright and spacious and the owner prepared our beds with an electric blanket, which was nice! The bathroom had all the necessary toiletries and more. Breakfast was amazing and was served in the conservatory at the back of the garden. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEFaraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We prebooked over the phone and offered to pay for the en-suite four poster room we were told we should pay on departure, which was fine. When we arrived we were shown into a twin room with no en-suite facilities but a bathroom at the end of the landing we told the man that this wasn't the room we had booked and he said that the remaining rooms were full. Unfortunately as we were attending a function that evening we had little time to find alternative accommodation. The beds were uncomfortable and someone had accessed our room while we we're out as the door had been left open after we had locked it leaving fruit in the room! Breakfast was located in a small conservatory to the side of the house which was good but you did need to fill up on cereal and toast. Great location though very handy for all in Morningside.

Room Tip: Double check before arrival that the correct room is booked.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews