We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Excellent location to stay in Edenburgh. Short to walk everywhere. Only thing we didn´t like was the breakfast. Not everything was included, felt like they were finding a way to get more money. But our dinner at the restaurant was great and bar service. If I go back to Edinburgh I would stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bjorks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 259 of 3,878 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

A great hotel in the centre of the grassmarket, close to everything we needed and a great service, highly recommend to anyone going to Edinburgh. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the bar staff were particularly helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrsW292015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Construction was being undertaken at this property, which is basically a converted 1960s office block kitted out with budget plastic floors and ikea type furniture. We weren’t told of the construction at check in nor did the price reflect that. The room didn’t have the advertised castle view, instead it overlooked the car park the tradespeople congregated in at 7am.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank guest944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We arrived early and our room was ready for us which was a nice bonus.Check in was quick and easy.Room was adequate for our needs except for the bath which was very high to step into ( a grab rail would have been useful) Must thank management and staff for the bottle of prosecco put in our room to celebrate our anniversary.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here thanks Apex.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The rooms were large with big windows which opened, so I could sleep with
some fresh air. The bed and pillows were really comfortable. It is the first
time I have slept a night through, in a hotel, for ages.

Also in the room it was nice to be provided with pen/paper and decent
toiletries - their gimmicky rubber duck, is also a nice touch. The only
thing that let the room down for me was the shower, which was a bit weak and
the bath looked a bit small - although I will test that out next time.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - completing an evacuation
plan with me in the event of fire, which is always a good sign. I was with
colleagues, but will be staying here if travelling to Edinburgh alone with
my guide dog, as I am confident the staff will support me well.

I was in a hurry this time, but the breakfast was good, with the full
standard buffet (including cooked breakfast), as well as some items,
available from a menu. The sausages were very greasy though, so stick to the
bacon and eggs.

Overall a brilliant hotel, which I would recommend and will be back to visit
again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room which doesn't face Grassmarket I had room 1020, also if you just want a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank louisj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,889 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,784 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,757 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €73 - €305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing