We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best host in Edinburgh!”
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Ranked #1 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We loved everything about Gerald's Place.

From the moment you walk through the door you are warmly welcomed into this comfortable home. Gerald has thought of every practical comfort and provided for it, down to the makeup mirror in the room and his excellent DVD and book selection. The whisky in our room was also much appreciated.

The breakfast spread was vast and I particularly loved the thick-cut smoked salmon and Gerald's three homemade muesli mixes. We could have stayed and chatted with our host all day, however we had Edinburgh to explore and were given excellent advice on the best places to visit.

We certainly won't be staying anywhere else when we return to Edinburgh.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and special thanks also to Marie, Gerald's wonderful housekeeper who keeps everything in such perfect order.

Sophie and Alistair x

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophiehermione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

824 "The best host in Edinburgh!" thanks Sophiehermione for kind thoughts and generous comments > you said "We loved everything about Gerald's Place ..... special thanks also to Marie, Gerald's wonderful housekeeper who keeps everything in such perfect order" thanks Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

I had the most magnificent stay at Geraldsplace. The B&B is very centrally located on a beautiful street with a wide array of lovely restaurants to suit any palate very close by. Gerald's warm home and delicious breakfast made my stay in Edinburgh most memorable and I am grateful to have found him.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pamelaaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

823 "Gerald is a most generous host! His beautiful B&B is perfectly located"
many thanks pamelaaberg for your thoughtful and heartfelt review - you are always welcome Gerald



















823 "Gerald is a most generous host! His beautiful B&B is perfectly located"
thank you pamelaaberg for your thoughtful and heartfelt review - you are always welcome - Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Everything that you could possibly need or want in a B&B- Gerald has you covered. Location is top-notch, quiet and convenient. The accommodations are incredibly comfortable and Gerald is the best host. His home-cooked breakfasts are delicious and fresh, just what you need to start a day full of urban hiking. Gerald gives fantastic advice on where to go and what sights to prioritize. If you are staying in Edinburgh, it has to be at Gerald's Place. Period.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmarose937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

822 The best in every way! thank you gemmarose937 for your beautiful review > you said "Everything that you could possibly need or want in a B&B- If you are staying in Edinburgh, it has to be at Gerald's Place. Period." Especially appreciated was the confidence / certainty / authority of your last word .... and of course, your delightful enthusiasm > you were lovely guests, and please try to be able to stay again > thanks, Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

2 room B&B in a great location in Edinburgh. Gerald, our host, was extremely attentive as was the housekeeper, Marie. Lovely breakfasts including salmon and scrambled eggs, multiple cereals, yogurts, fruits and delicious bread. Can't say enough good things about our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

821 "Excellent stay" thanks Joan G "a great location" is key to an excellent stay ~ thanks, Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Dear Gerald,
Thank you very much for having us in your warm, welcoming and comfortable home. We really enjoyed the smooth scotch in the room upon our welcome, as well as the other treats!

The room was wonderfully appointed, the bed comfortable and the premises very clean. The washroom had a great bathtub, well stocked cabinet and very hot water.

The location is very good for all sights and Gerald has excellent advice whatever your interests. Lots of literature available no matter what you need to know.

Quiet area, easy to get to from the train station.

Gerald, we very much enjoyed chatting with you, hearing your stories, and sharing the delicious breakfasts. All food was top notch, I really enjoyed the smoked salmon and the bread. You also give very good hugs.

My only complaint? That Gerald may retire before we get a chance to return. I highly recommend this B & B.

Much love from Canada! Hugs.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zoey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

820 "A Rare and Wonderful B & B Experience " thanks zoey44 for your generous review > certainly it was a pleasure to welcome you here and maybe you are able to return and share more happy hours here : you said " Much love from Canada!" and that is a great gift to be treasured by me, and I should add, is heartily reciprocated [with hugs] - thanks Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#3 of 394 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
576 reviews
23 Mayfield Book Direct
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: €101 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing