We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$239
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$237
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Dunstane Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$197
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$137
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$280
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
803
37
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
37
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconsummate hostyogurthome away from homeplace to stayguest roomsquiet streetwithin walking distancebreakfast tableeach morningprinces streetcomfortable bedsbeautiful citythree nightsa wonderful staywalked everywheremajor attractionslocation is ideal
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I had the most magnificent stay at Geraldsplace. The B&B is very centrally located on a beautiful street with a wide array of lovely restaurants to suit any palate very close by. Gerald's warm home and delicious breakfast made my stay in Edinburgh most memorable and I am grateful to have found him.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pamelaaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

823 "Gerald is a most generous host! His beautiful B&B is perfectly located"
many thanks pamelaaberg for your thoughtful and heartfelt review - you are always welcome Gerald



















823 "Gerald is a most generous host! His beautiful B&B is perfectly located"
thank you pamelaaberg for your thoughtful and heartfelt review - you are always welcome - Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Everything that you could possibly need or want in a B&B- Gerald has you covered. Location is top-notch, quiet and convenient. The accommodations are incredibly comfortable and Gerald is the best host. His home-cooked breakfasts are delicious and fresh, just what you need to start a day full of urban hiking. Gerald gives fantastic advice on where to go and what sights to prioritize. If you are staying in Edinburgh, it has to be at Gerald's Place. Period.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmarose937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

822 The best in every way! thank you gemmarose937 for your beautiful review > you said "Everything that you could possibly need or want in a B&B- If you are staying in Edinburgh, it has to be at Gerald's Place. Period." Especially appreciated was the confidence / certainty / authority of your last word .... and of course, your delightful enthusiasm > you were lovely guests, and please try to be able to stay again > thanks, Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

2 room B&B in a great location in Edinburgh. Gerald, our host, was extremely attentive as was the housekeeper, Marie. Lovely breakfasts including salmon and scrambled eggs, multiple cereals, yogurts, fruits and delicious bread. Can't say enough good things about our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

821 "Excellent stay" thanks Joan G "a great location" is key to an excellent stay ~ thanks, Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Dear Gerald,
Thank you very much for having us in your warm, welcoming and comfortable home. We really enjoyed the smooth scotch in the room upon our welcome, as well as the other treats!

The room was wonderfully appointed, the bed comfortable and the premises very clean. The washroom had a great bathtub, well stocked cabinet and very hot water.

The location is very good for all sights and Gerald has excellent advice whatever your interests. Lots of literature available no matter what you need to know.

Quiet area, easy to get to from the train station.

Gerald, we very much enjoyed chatting with you, hearing your stories, and sharing the delicious breakfasts. All food was top notch, I really enjoyed the smoked salmon and the bread. You also give very good hugs.

My only complaint? That Gerald may retire before we get a chance to return. I highly recommend this B & B.

Much love from Canada! Hugs.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zoey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

820 "A Rare and Wonderful B & B Experience " thanks zoey44 for your generous review > certainly it was a pleasure to welcome you here and maybe you are able to return and share more happy hours here : you said " Much love from Canada!" and that is a great gift to be treasured by me, and I should add, is heartily reciprocated [with hugs] - thanks Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

There is no better place. Edinburgh is a fabulous city and Gerald's Place is the best place from which to experience it. My wife and I stayed with Gerald for ten nights and were more than satisfied with everything. The location is outstanding: very convenient to all the sights and to excellent restaurants, very quiet, and totally safe. There are two rooms, an en-suite and the other with its private bathroom. The B&B is exceptionally clean, with the most comfortable beds imaginable, the best shower anywhere, superb and inclusive breakfasts, and a lovely art collection to top it off. Not to mention the complementary wine, champagne (real champagne), sixteen year old whisky, chocolates, teas, and shortbread in the room.

But the primary reason there is no better place is the people. Theoretically, any B&B can have great beds, great showers, and great breakfasts. Most do not, but they could. What no other B&B can have is Gerald. Gerald is Gerald's Place. And he is a great man. He is warm and kind; very informative and helpful; a man of much experience and easy conversation; most generous in hospitality and in spirit. Gerald is a man of grace.

And he is blessed. Twenty years ago a woman accepted a trial position to be Gerald's housekeeper in his B&B. She planned on working for him for six months. She is still there. Her name is Marie.

All of the compliments that describe Gerald are equally descriptive of Marie. She is as nice a person as you will meet, and she is the engine of Gerald's Place. Everything she does is done to the highest standard, which is also his standard. For example, after washing them, Marie irons your bed linens. As Gerald mentioned, they wouldn't want to have a "drip dry" B&B. No, of course they wouldn't.

It was our privilege and honor to have met and, in a small but surely revealing way, to have gotten to know these two special people. Thank you, Gerald and Marie.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank donnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

819 "Best B&B Ever...Very Special People" thanks donnolan for "going the extra mile" in you review > you stayed 10nights and seemed to run out of time to enjoy so much more of Edinburgh and the surrounding countryside > all so easy to explore within a 50 mile radius > your review mentioned so many interesting aspects of geraldsplace.com, and in thanking you may I mention just two comments you made "Edinburgh is a fabulous city and Marie [housekeeper] is as nice a person as you will meet - she is the engine of Gerald's Place. Everything she does is done to the highest standard" > Gerald wholeheartedly / unreservedly agrees > Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews