We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 51/11 James Square

Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Swimming Pool
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen
Lounge
Hallway
Master Bedroom
Master en-suite
Master en-suite
Bedroom 2 (as king size option)
Bedroom 2 (as singles option)
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bathroom
BBQ Area
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kim N
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in April 2017

Close to a chemist if you needed cold medication or pain relief. A few good places to eat locally including a Domino's pizza a few steps down the street. Warm and Friendly caretakers. Near public transportation as well as places to pick up groceries to fill the cupboards. I shall definitely stay again, as long as there is availability at the time that I plan .on staying

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Thank you very much Kim for your kind review I am glad you all enjoyed your stay, we will be very happy to have you stay with us again.

All the best
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camper708...
1 review
“Good option if you are able to walk for 25 minutes into town centre and for busses”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Location was reasonable. Ideal for secure off road parking. We found it easy to walk to many of the tourist attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your review.

All the best
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer5...
1 review
“Lovely Apartment!”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a lovely,clean, well equipped apartment. It is on the 2nd floor, but the lift is good. We spent one evening on the 4th floor outside terrace with excellent views over Edinburgh & beyond!
The apartment is in a perfect position very near Haymarket station. There are plenty of very good restaurants within easy walking distance.
We arrived at the apartment early & it wasn't ready, but Audrey welcomed us & let us leave our bags inside which was very helpful.
The only issues we had was the intermittant TV signal, but that wasn't a big problem as we were out most of the time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review,

Regards
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky A
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice-ish apartment but some serious problems”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Booked this apartment for a family get-away for the Fringe. A nice apartment on the whole but some significant issues that need to be fixed before we would even consider recommending this apartment to anyone else, particularly given the high price-tag.

1) Front door key code lock is broken - it turns out one of the buttons is broken requiring some serious force and many, many attempts before we could get the door open. This needs to be fixed ASAP.

2) The plumbing is in dire need of work. Not only is it noisy (including the bathroom fans) but from the second day of our trip we had no hot water running from the taps. A plumber came to check and declared it fixed but to no avail - we experienced ongoing issues with it.

3) The door in the small 4th bedroom (which has no windows and is essentially a converted utility room) jams. This meant that if you close the door there is no capability to open unless someone comes to get you out! After much banging of the door in the early morning to get out I was eventually freed - thank goodness the kids weren't staying in this room.

4) The circuit breaker tripped which meant no lights in the ill-fated 4th bedroom (so yes I was trapped AND in the dark) or in the kitchen. Suggest checking.

5) No instructions for any of the appliances and the TV aerial is broken.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Hi Vicky,

I sincerely apologise for the problems you experienced during your stay, in our property over the last few days.
We were not aware there is a problem with the bedroom door and will get this looked at. Unfortunately, the trouble you had with the combination lock was the first time we had any problem with this lock. The trouble with the pump, is surprising as the pump was only supplied and fitted in February this year and is still under warranty. We have had the plumber replace it earlier today, under the warranty. The hot water would only affect the sinks as our two showers are both electric, but these things do happen from time to time and it's unfortunate it happened during your time with us. The circuit breaker does trip out because it is a safety device and that is what it's designed for. Something as simple as a light bulb blowing could cause it to trip. It may trip out prematurely, as a precaution, however this can be reset.
The instruction manuals for all the appliances are in the guest book. My apologies, you were not aware of their location. However, Audrey is always on hand and always willing to help with any queries you might have.
All the appliances have all been checked since you have checked out and they are all working perfectly.
I can assure you we keep the property well maintained at all times and pride ourselves on making sure all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay in the apartment. Once again, I do apologise, on this occasion that this was not your experience. Thank you for choosing our apartment.
Best wishes,
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am really glad
You enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing