We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashdene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashdene House
Ranked #134 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed over for new years weekend- one of the best B and B's we have stayed in.
It was clean, comfortable, provided good facilities and was a good sized room. Breakfast was really good - a selection of breads , fresh fruit salad, traditional scottish hagis and more.
Great location, walking distance to town or easy bus access.
A fantastic place to celibrate New Year - so many things to do and see - we went up to the castle and went on the whisky experiance which was good - the torch light procession was amazing , so well organised have never seen anything like it ... the street party the following evening was also an experiance , would deffinatly reccomend this place !
Thank you
Rebekah and Nic, Sheffield.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your visit to Edinburgh was such a nice experience. We hope to see you again in the future when perhaps you will be able to attend some more of Edinburgh's great festival events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
27
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I have stayed here several times on business trips and it is a joy to come here after a busy day of driving and meetings. The Daubly's are very friendly, always there to offer advice if required but never 'in your face'. I love the peace of the location and the walk into the City for a meal or a night at the theatre is a pleasant one too. But prepare! After a very comfortable night you will be treated to a freshly prepared breakfast which has no peer. Caroline will prepare just what you want, the way you want it and extra tea or coffe is never a problem. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I have stayed in most of the rooms now and all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you, it is always our pleasure to accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We wanted a good B&B, but we also wanted to access the city. We did well, we thought. All was very nicely done, very clean, and very good breakfasts. The bus passes and the help in finding things was very appreciated. We would return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

The house is in a quiet location within easy walking distance of the city centre but also well served by several bus routes with stops nearby. The room we had was the king room which was spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a pleasure each day, with a variety of food to choose from. Caroline Daulby made us feel very welcome and gave us useful local information whenever we needed it . We particularly appreciated the early breakfast on our day of departure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RealName1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

On a second visit to Edinburgh this year, I was so pleased to get a room at Ashdene House. As previously the whole stay was a very pleasurable one. The room was so welcoming and very comfortable, very comfy bed and an immaculate environment. Breakfast is superb, a huge choice and everything so fresh and tasty. It made the trip so much better to return to Ashdene House each day and be revived, just relaxing in such pleasant peaceful surroundings. The owners are very knowledgeable and go out of their way to assist with all aspects of your visit, Thank you again to Caroline for making my stay such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
It was our pleasure to accommodate you again and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
0.1 km away
Claremont House
Claremont House
#123 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 km away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#39 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
35.5 km away
Caddon View Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 9 in Haddington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.0 km away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#32 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.8 km away
94DR
94DR
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdene House

Property: Ashdene House
Address: 23 Fountainhall Rd., Edinburgh EH9 2LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdene House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet family-run guest house on side street, only 1 mile from city centre, offers Bed and Breakfast to tourist and business travellers. Easy access to and from the centre by bus or on foot. Numerous good local restaurants. This Edwardian town-house has been lovingly restored and decorated to very high standard. Freshly cooked or continental breakfast. Bedrooms all have en-suite facilities. Strong environmental policy. Free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ashdene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdene House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing