We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,359)
Filter reviews
4,359 results
Traveller rating
3,158
823
230
96
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,158
823
230
96
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the palm court hadrian's brasserie scotch bar rocco forte sean connery concierge staff train station beautiful hotel turn down service luxury hotel princes street birthday treat edinburgh castle castle view royal mile spa doorman
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 4,359 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We had the recent pleasure of staying at the wonderful Balmoral Hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. It's a historic, grand hotel located perfectly near The Royal Mile part of town.
It's a lovely hotel in every sense with a particularly wonderful staff -- the level of service here is truly exceptional. As an added bonus: Number One is a world class phenomenal restaurant here at the hotel.
If you've never been, you'll love Edinburgh, and you'll love staying at The Balmoral.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank byMT305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear MT305

I was delighted to read your review and thank you for sharing your kind impressions with other TA users.

Our team take great pride in delivering the utmost levels of care and attention to our guests and I will take great pleasure in highlighting your review to them.

Number One - our coveted Michelin starred restaurant - truly is a wonderful gastronomic experience and I am delighted you had an opportunity to visit during your stay.

Thank you once again for posting and I very much hope we will welcome you back to The Balmoral again soon.

Kindest regards

Richard C
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We have stayed several times in the Balmoral and always enjoy the way they look after you: from the reception staff, to the concierges to the wait staff. I need a walk-in shower because I am somewhat disabled and sometimes we have to stay somewhere else if one isn't available, but there was one this time! we had afternoon tea in the palm court, which is an experience in itself: wonderful sandwiches and savouries, light as air scones and sinfully delicious cakes, plus a girl who pours your carefully selected tea from a great height through the tea strainer (loose leaf tea, of course, what else?)

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank annepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This is perhaps the finest hotel we have stayed-in for quite some time. What makes it so special is the staff...especially the front desk and the Concierge staff...outstanding...attentive to every need and more than willing to go the "extra mile" to accommodate your needs and see to your comfort!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

As this was our 2nd visit we asked for a room with a view. As usual not an issue and we received a room over looking the bridges.
Again the staff were amazing, could not do any more for us, as we arrived early, not an issue, they took care of our cases and told us they would phone when room was ready and they did + cases in room when we got back.
There was a wedding on with the pipes at the door amazing.
It is a bit pricey but you get what you pay for

We had a brilliant night and again breakfast was exceptional.

We booked a dinner at the Golden Dragon. What a waste of money, this was also the 2nd visit but nothing like the 1st

Room tip: Always ask prior to arriving, if you don’t ask you will not get
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JockF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

It had always been my dream to stay at the Balmoral when I returned to Edinburgh. The porters were very attentive and the front desk staff was very friendly. We arrived early from the US and were so happy when they were able to give us an early check in. The room was quite large though the furniture was a little dinged up. The bathroom was fabulous!! Marble and glass and clean, clearly updated. Anyone who loves taking a bath will die for the tub. Also despite the location near Waverly Station and off of Princes Street, our room faced the inside of the property and it was very quiet. I had a wonderful nights sleep. The only downside was the restaurants. £28 pound for breakfast is crazy and the other meals were equally over priced. Luckily Edinburgh has so many restaurant choices.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews