We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$157
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$344
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$384
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$235
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$119
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,191)
Filter reviews
4,191 results
Traveller rating
3,031
796
220
94
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,031
796
220
94
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
Filter
Updating list...
3,023 - 3,028 of 4,191 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I've stayed in 5 star Hotels in London, New York, Berlin, Lisbon, Barcelona and several other cities and this topped them all, by far! Service was 2nd to none, rooms were big clean with great views, and the breakfast was great. If going to Edinburgh stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GumbyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Balmoral is supposed to be one of the leading hotels in Edinburgh. However, when I compare the Balmoral to other world-class hotels in London, or in the US or Asia, it becomes just an average old hotel. However, if I compare it with other hotels in Edinburgh, then, it will score high marks. It is centrally located and situated between new and old towns. I periodically stay in Balmoral, George Hotel, Sheraton and Caledonian Hotel in Edinburgh but amongst the 4, I tend to come back to stay in Balmoral. Sheraton is not bad as well. The service is good and staffs are friendly. The food, room service and dining, are good. Perhaps overall it's above average but I can not score it as good as it is not the world class. If I score the Balmoral as within "regional class" then I would mark is as good.

Room Tip: If you can afford then reserve a large room and facing the castle.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KLTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Unless you are prepared to shell out a shed load of cash for a valley view room, well stay at the Sheraton Grande! Rooms ok, and unless you put your hand in your pocket a central courtyard view is what you are going to get, its terrible. Drinks, well, did i just put a down payment on the distillery! Pool nice but no jacuzzi and below ground. At the Sheraton the sun shines in! Stayed once, wont be back, not worth the money Sheraton wins hands down. If you think this is the best hotel in town, well you are mistaken!

Room Tip: If you can afford a room overlooking the Princes' Street Gardens then go for it! Otherwise Sheraton Grande!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fussyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I had the pleasure of accompanying one of my groups on their annual conference in Edinburgh, Scotland. The hotel was outstanding. The staff and level of service particularly with the conference service staff was flawless. In fact, I would say in all my years of experience in the meeting and event business, no one has surpassed the high calibre of service delivery.
The guest rooms are beautifully appointed. The meeting and function space was perfect. The food was awesome. This conference had 120 guests on peak and concurrent sessions running throughout. Feedback from the delegates was the "best ever".
I highly recommend The Balmoral for anyone planning a meeting or conference in Edinburgh. It is a premium hotel in everyway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review following your attendance at an Annual Conference held in The Balmoral.

I was delighted to learn that the high level of service you received, particularly from the Conference and Banqueting team, surpassed your expectations. We strive for guest satisfaction and service excellence and appreciate such positive feeback from our valued customers. This inspires and motivates us to maintain the high level of service we airm to provide.

Thank you again for sharing your impression with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Balmoral in the future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

There is no better hotel from which to explore Edinburgh. Exceptionally friendly staff, lovely ambiance and fabulous food at a number of price categories. Old style welcome awaits you both at the door and the reception desk.

Always arrive early so you can enjoy the afternoon tea before checking into your room. Sit on plush velvet seats and enjoy people watching as everyone pops in for tea of lunch - also Hadrians Brasserie is super for hearty suppers.

Rooms are spacious, well appointed and feel like home. The spa is excellent. Breakfast is excellent value. I love coming back to this place for a weekend shopping in the Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have fabulous views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsey_reid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews