We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$425
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$147
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$502
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$157
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$179
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$987
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,195)
Filter reviews
4,196 results
Traveller rating
3,033
797
220
94
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,033
797
220
94
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
Filter
Updating list...
3,111 - 3,116 of 4,196 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in the Balmoral Hotel during February 2012 in our Honey Moon trip.
The hotel for sure is the best in the city. The location is excellent, in the center of the city and within walking distance from everything. The staff is very polite and willing to help you. They upgraded us to a suite due to our Honey moon trip. The room was amazing, one of the best of the hotel with very nice view. Of course the price of the hotel is expensive but Edinburgh in general is an expensive city, so it is worth staying in this hotel. I am not sure how nice are the simple rooms without view, but the facilities of the hotel are worth staying in.
Breakfast was perfect. Spa seemed very good with big pool, even though we didnt try.
I have also to mention that i forgot a personal thing in the hotel and the stuff was willing to send me in Greece with no extra charge,
Thanks a lot for making our Honey moon unforgetable!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank androniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing The Balmoral as your honeymoon destination. All of team at The Balmoral send their warm congratulations to you both following your happy event.

We are delighted that your stay was such a memorable occasion and the 5 star service demonstrated by our staff exceeded your expectations. It is only through our guest feedback that we continue to improve and provide the quality of service that one naturally expects from The Balmoral.

We do hope that you will return to The Balmoral soon and we send our best wishes to you both for a very happy future together.

Yours sincerely

Franck Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Balmoral Hotel will not disappoint ... well maybe just their Afternoon Tea wasn't as fabulous as the surroundings. The hotel staff were amazing from the curb to the front desk upon arrival. Even when we checked out it was effortless to split the bill between my sister and me.

The rooms were well appointed and the white marble bathroom was great. Loved the Bath Ritual Menu that was offered. Room Service arrived with a silver tray with hot tea, bath oil, bath sachet, bath lotion and a rose. They draw the water, add the bath oil and then tie the sachet over the faucet so that the water is infused as the tub fills. Then they sprinkle rose petals in the tub. You can add a glass of champagne as well. Awesome experience for 14 pounds!

The Balmoral Hotel is right in the center of it all. You can walk to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood and across the street is St. James Shopping Center.

Our room rate included Breakfast ... which was definitely worth it. We also booked Afternoon Tea. The room is amazing and they have harp music playing as well. What was highly disappointing was the addition of Bollinger Rose Champagne. You got a small glass (maybe half of a normal glass) for 17 extra pounds! That was ridiculous! The did have an amazing tea sandwich (goat cheese spread, arugula and balsamic vinegar), however some of the sandwiches seemed to have been exposed to air as well as some of the deserts. The scones were not that great ... I have made better ones! My suggestion is don't add the champagne ... just enjoy the tea.

However ... do eat at Number One and enjoy the tasting menu with wine parings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txlegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We booked a room as a treat and were overwhelmed by the class and old school glamour of the hotel. The service is the shining star for this place, every single member of staff is attentive and friendly and makes you feel like a special guest. We only had a basic room but it was spacious and the bathroom was amazing - biggest bath I've ever seen! We were told it was a queen bed but it was massive and super comfy. We went to the balmoral bar for the cocktail tasting menu and it was an incredible experience. The spa facilities are out of this world. it really does deserve its five star rating and I will definately be making this a more regular treat!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbrideStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Lovely room, great location. Food in the hotel is brilliant. Service was second to none. Hotel is right on Princes Street and walking distance from anything you'd want to see in Edinburgh and just 2 minutes walk from Waverly Station. Lovely spa, gym and swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheeseyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just back from an overnight stay in Edinburgh, taking the chance to visit our daughter at uni , whilst my husband was on business. I had previously only ever been in the bar. We met our daughter for afternoon tea which was lovely, sadly then I went to our room, or should I say cupboard ! Dark depressing and dingy. Reception did change the room from floor five to six this time dark larger and depressing, but we had no time to change as husband had to be out for meeting and take a shower. Our sleep was terrible as the outside noise on the bridges carried all the way up to the sixth floor. Wakened shattered. My daughter arrived for a chat and breakfast and we went to the quiet drawing room for chats , this was taken over by a meeting, only place to go was the palm court where we had afternoon tea which was full of other people , so not wanting to go to the room we went out for coffee. sorry balmoral you just did not come up to scratch !! Loads more choice in Edinburgh this is overpriced and came up lacking

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theholidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience at Palm Court, however, I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your room allocation.

The Balmoral offers a variety of room categories to suit varying needs, starting with our Classic rooms. As the building is historical and Grade A listed, many of our rooms are different shapes and sizes - reflecting the era in which it was built. Whilst many guests think that this brings character to our rooms, I understand that each guest has different taste and this was not to yours.

On highlighting that you were unhappy with your room allocation our front desk had two further room options for you however, you seemed satisfied with the first alternative shown to you. I do wish you had pointed out that you were still unhappy in order for us to show you the second alternative and find a room which was suitable for you. I will be sure to update our records with your preferences, indicating that you prefer a brighter room for any future visits. Perhaps a different category of room would better suit your needs - we have a variety of rooms with views towards Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street which may be more to your taste.

With regards to the street noise which you experienced - I apologise for any inconvenience caused by this external noise. Our engineering team are now checking to see if we can further soundproof the room, whilst keeping within the limitations of planning permissions for a listed building, such as ours.

I hope you are able to visit the hotel in the near future in order for us to restore your confidence in our accommodation. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you wish to discuss this matter further.

Kind Regards

Franck Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews