We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit late writing this......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edinburgh Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edinburgh Residence
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bit late writing this......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here Oct 2010. I can not fault this place, the beds were amazing, the bedroom furniture grand, the afternoon tea served in the room was perfect. Lovely touches like if you have the 'turn down' service at night they leave a little note telling you what the weather will be the next day and a suggestion of what to do. This place is amazing, I would return in a heartbeat. The breakfast is served in your room and is beautifully cooked, my husband ordered everything on the breakfast menu and we could not fault it. Well done Edinburgh Residence! They also looked after our bags on the morning of arrival before check in, locked away in a cupboard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Katemumof3,

Thank you very much for taking the time to recommend The Edinburgh Residence on TripAdvisor and sharing some photos of your stay in one of our Classic Suites.

It’s a delight to hear that your cooked to order breakfast, served in the privacy of your suite, made a great start to your day. There is so much to discover in Edinburgh it is understandable that our guest’s would like to make the most of their time in the Capital city and arrive early or depart later on in the day, and as such we will happily store guests luggage for them prior to arrival/upon departure with no additional costs.

We are very pleased that you describe your stay with us as “faultless” and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    61
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
208
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

When we arrived at our original hotel we were told that they had overbooked us. They then offered us a suite in the Edinburgh Residence which was only 100 yards along the street. Feeling a bit apprehensive we walked along to the town house. We were greeted by very friendly staff and shown swiftly to our suite (no 2 ). I'm not quite sure how to describe the residence, it's like going to your wealthy great aunt's house i guess. What I mean about that is, it dosen't feel like a hotel. The suite was beautiful and very spacious with tea and coffee making facilities and a microwave. You can either have breakfast in your suite or have it in the restaurant, we picked the latter. Location is great, 5-10 minute walk and you are on Princess Street. We really enjoyed our stay, if you are looking for somewhere with ambience and atmosphere then this is not for you. If you are looking for a quiet, luxury stay then stay at the Residence.

Room Tip: Suite 2, very spacious and with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear sooScotland,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Edinburgh Residence and received a warm welcome from our team. Your comments will be passed on to our team.

All our individually decorated luxury Suites feature facilities to enhance your stay with us, including a Nespresso machine (for those coffee lovers amongst us), a mini bar/small fridge, microwave, and a flat screen TV with DVD player – there are a wide selection of DVDs available from our Reception team.

The Edinburgh Residence is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful and lively city with only a short ten minute walk to Princes Street and many of our Suites offer fabulous views over the city.

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have recently spent a week in Edinburgh staying in Suite 5 at The Edinburgh Residence. I cannot speak highly enough of our accommodation, shades of times long gone, but now beautifully and tastefully restored. Our two eldest grandchildren joined us from their respective Universities for a weekend and they loved it, especially the breakfasts served in the room. They shared the sitting room complete with two drop down beds cleverly stored in a special bookcase, with an enormous ensuite bathroom. Our bedroom was also very grand indeed also with an ensuite. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Edinburgh itself is a wonderful city a real joy to explore, and of course the position of the Residence close to Princes Street was a real plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Yorkie063,

A real pleasure reading your recommendation of The Edinburgh Residence on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear that your stay with us was memorable and enjoyable.

Our building was originally built in 1872 and maintains many period features throughout offering a taste of historical Scottish elegance. The Edinburgh Residence is ideally located in a peaceful setting in Edinburgh’s exclusive West End, yet is also within walking distance of Princes Street and Edinburgh’s main tourist attractions. As you say, Edinburgh is an ideal destination for a short (or even long) break, with so much to see and do!

Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly, welcoming and helpful team, I will pass your comments onto them.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh as much as it would seem you have and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had a fantastic stay however we found the receptionist very rude and very arrogant she didn't seem interested,and other staff were standing by the reception area and we felt extremely intimidated to say the least.
I would also like to comment on how friendly the house keeping were they couldn't have done a better job.
we also ate in the restaurant the staff member had no idea what he was doing and we waited over 1hr for our main meal only to discover it was cold and he didn't
even get our order correct.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay at The Edinburgh Residence.

We aim to ensure all our guests receive a warm welcome and friendly genuine service throughout their stay and I am disappointed that some of our team fell short of expected customer service standards. From previous reviews and other general guest feedback, our team generally receives a lot of praise for their customer focus. But admittedly, things do slip at times and your constructive comments help us in our ongoing efforts to improve guest service and relations.

I was concerned to hear about your experience in our Number Seven restaurant as this is certainly not the standard we expect. Please rest assured this will be addressed with our team. I would appreciate more information on your dining experience and an opportunity to welcome you back to our restaurant as our guest – my email address is rm.edinburgh@hapimag.com and I would be pleased to hear from you.

We are glad you appreciated our spacious and luxurious suites and the service provided by our Housekeeping team and hope you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We arrived at the Edinburgh Residence with great expectations only to realize that we were allocated to room 7. This room is under the street level and very dark even on a bright day.
When one sits on the sofa and looks out of the window what one only sees is a wet and algae covered wall. Some slippery staircases going up to the street level.
The room feels hot on a reasonably warm day. Opening the windows is not an option for security reasons. What is more the bed board rests on a wall which is made out of soft board . Behind this wall there are service staircases where the hotel staff go up and down on carpeted wooden floors all the time. The floor creaks and the sound of steps echo in the bed room.
And the bed board vibrates. Also internet connection keeps falling off all the time. This is most likely due to the bunker like future of the room. My husband is a business man and he had difficulties with the connection and he kept going up to the reception area to get the connection. When we pointed out our problems to the hotel staff they did not feel too sympathetic to our cause. They said people who smoked loved the room as it had a courtyard in the front. We did not smoke! The courtyard they were talking about was the algae area I mentioned above and it couldn't have been wider than 1 meter plus or minus. The bench they placed for people to sit was wet and dirty. There was a dark hole under the stairs which came down from the street level. Obviously it was a storage area before but now the it's door was not there anymore and inside there was all sorts of rubble. The staff at the reception desk also seemed to be very proud about the Jacuzzi in the bathroom. But this was no big deal for us. Besides all the water taps were loose ,leaking or coming off of their sockets.
We made the booking for this hotel well 7 months in advance. When we asked why we were given the worse room then? The answer was that they had guests who had priority on us because they were regulars and booked the rooms by their room numbers. And the hotel was now absolutely fully booked and they can not give us another room.When I asked if everyone made their booking also 7 months in advance and if so did they all specified the room number they wanted to stay? The answer to this was not all that clear to me. A managerial gentlemen told me that people always heard noises or noticed things in any of the rooms and some people even may hear ghosts! But as management they hardly can do anything about it. So the noises we heard right behind our bed board was kind of my imagination obviously. We could not leave this hotel because it was Festival time in Edinburgh and hotels were full in the area. In the end they decided to give us a room on the first floor for 4 days before the person who booked it turned up, of course we had to pay for the up grade. And what difference it was for our moral. Yet again in the end we had to return to number 7 for three more nights.
I do understand the people who like this place. If one has a good room one can be very happy indeed. I would say Avoid room 7.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnboog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at The Edinburgh Residence. It is important to us that all our guests enjoy their stay and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

Our property is housed in three historic Georgian Town Houses and in keeping with the local area, also includes some garden suites. The garden suites can be accessed through an external staircase and door and a number of our guests like the independence this offers. Thank you for your feedback regarding the appearance of the outside area, as a result we have taken steps to improve this.

We are pleased to offer free wireless access throughout the hotel and have recently upgraded our system to ensure a strong wireless signal is available in all areas of the building. I will investigate the intermittent signal loss you experienced in Suite 7.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the service you received from our team. We try wherever possible to accommodate all our guest requests and I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you in a different suite for part of your stay.

Your feedback is much appreciated and will help us improve the service we provide. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Edinburgh Residence.

Yours faithfully,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#60 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Prestonfield
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Property: The Edinburgh Residence
Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edinburgh Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing