We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Ranked #47 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Just got back from a 4 day/3 night trip to Edinburgh, during which we stayed at the Kings Manor. We've been to Edinburgh many times, but never to this hotel before. Main reason we chose the hotel was price, we like two twin rooms and the cost for this at hotels we've previously stayed in was very high.

Booking

We stumbled across the hotel accidentally during an Expedia search, the price on a room-only basis was very reasonable, it had leisure club facilities which the kids enjoy and the option for interconnecting rooms was a bonus. I phoned the hotel up directly to enquire about breakfast and to get more details about the possibility of interconnecting rooms, and whilst I was on the phone asked for a quote directly from the hotel. It was £170 more than Expedia, which seems very odd to me - how can going through a third party which takes a cut be better business for the hotel? As such, I booked through Expedia and requested adjacent/interconnecting rooms if possible.

Arrival

We arrived around 1pm and were pleased to hear our rooms were ready. They were adjacent but not interconnecting, a minor inconvenience but one I'd hoped the hotel would be able to address as we had made the reservation over a month ago. We were directed to our rooms and offered assistance with our luggage.

Rooms

Rooms are decent enough, beds were comfortable, TV with Freeview channels, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities. Bathrooms were very nice, appear to have recently been renovated. Plenty of coathangers which makes a change. We asked for a fridge in one room, and one was more or less immediately brought up (small tabletop beer fridge).

Location

The hotel is 7 or 8 miles outside the city centre and apart from houses there isn't really anything else (pub/srestaurants/shops) nearby. The beach and promenade are around a half mile walk away, sure this is very pleasant on a warm summers day (decent enough on a clear chilly October morning). Bus service (44) to the city centre is very good, stops outside the hotel, every 10 minutes through the day and every half hour in the evening. It can get quite busy on the bus (lots of stopping) but you should be on Princes St in 20-25 minutes. The hotel has free booklets with bus information on, which is useful.

Breakfast

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment really. When on a room-only basis, it is £10 for adults/£5 for kids if you book on arrival (£12.50 adult/not sure for kids otherwise). So for a family of four for 3 nights it adds up to a lot of money. We were able to haggle, but nonetheless it was still expensive. Service was patchy, we were shown to a table each morning and told someone would take our order for tea/coffee/toast but on 2 out of 3 times no-one did and we had to ask. Decent enough selection of fruit/cereal and cooked breakfast items, however the latter wasn't very warm (particularly on Sunday when I heard others complaining). Also, all fish options (mackerel/kippers/herring) had run out by 9am on Sunday. I think if I had my time again we'd get the bus into the city centre first thing and eat there.

Other Meals/Drinks

We ate a couple of times in the Bistro at lunchtime, food selection was pretty good and there is a full menu all day at weekends (12-2:30 and 6:30 onwards weekdays, sandwich menu outside these times). Beer and soft drinks were reasonably priced (under £3 for Bud, £1.50 for a can of Irn Bru). Only down side is that Sky Sports is only shown in the bar area, and kids aren't allowed in there. As such, we couldn't watch the Liverpool/Everton game on Sunday.

Leisure Club

Very good Leisure Club, the Fountain Spa. Complimentary towels each visit, gym was decent enough and the pool area was excellent (20m long/1.25m deep, small kiddy pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms). My wife was impressed that hotel residents were able to book on the exercise classes (zumba etc) free of charge - problem was she didn't bring her kit!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back if we can get as good a deal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

If i can take up a few of the points that you raised. We have a few interconnecting rooms , but they also fulfil other categories , such as ground floor rooms. Unfortunately we were unable to free up two rooms for the length of your stay. As you say we do try to respect all requests made to us , but sometimes things are just not possible. The hotel is just over 3 miles from the city centre and the train from Brunstane takes 7 or 8 minutes if speed of access to the city is important. At the time of your booking we were working on a targeted promotion with our partners Expedia , which we are delighted that you could take advantage of. On this occasion Expedias promotion was better than we were offering directly. This is something that we are working on to ensure that 3rd party promotions can be matched by contacting the hotel directly. I do hope that we can host a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,026 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

We had our wedding day at the kings manor on the 8th September 2012 what a fantastic day we had from start to finish all went really well the service was second to none !!
The meal was lovely and served without any effort at all everyone commented that their food was delicious also disco was great
Arora was the wedding cocordinater this day and looked after us all the way
The service was 5star treatment and we would just like to say a massive thank you once again for making our day so special

Room Tip: ask for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time out from your married life to post a review of your Big Day. We are all delighted that everything went well and you chose to share this special occasion with us.
May we all wish you both a long and happy marriage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend (19-21 october) our first time in Edinburgh. Not too far from the city centre however the bus is a bit of a nightmare as it must stop every 60 meters or so (this has nothing to.do with the hotel), buses stop right outside and run every 5-10 mins... Hotel facilities were great, my kids made full use of the pools.. We ordered room service, and although they made a mistake it was quickly rectified and our replacement was brought straight away. I can safely say we will be returning for another stay and are all really looking forward to it... Many thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The bus service is really great for getting to the city , it runs every 10 minutes at peak times. It does stop frequently, as all busses do, but sit on the top deck and get a city tour for £1.40! If you are in a hurry the train will get you to Princes Street in 7 minutes. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I organised a group of 50 people to stay at this hotel. Alistair, the manager, was fantastic and so were all the staff.
After we went to the late Saturday show at the Royal Edinburgh Tattoo they had tea, coffee and shortbread waiting for us and of course the bar was available too.
It is easy to get to the centre of Edinburgh by using Lothian Bus 44 which stops outside the hotel.
The food, spa (free to residents and well worth a visit) and room facilities were brilliant, even had Playstation2 for the bigger children of the group!!
Thank you for a wonderful weekend Kings Manor and I hope we'll be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Our party were split over the new and older building and no-one could say anything about the 28 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlieann124124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in August. I am delighted that your party enjoyed your stay with us, due in no small part to your efforts prior to arrival so that we were familiar with what you required during your stay. I hope that we can host your some of your party again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in September. Fairly normal hotel, Checkin friendly staff, breakfast was good but don't go too late as they run out of food and recooking takes time.
Cost £75 per night, but was on a business stay, so I didn't pay.
What I loved was the gym and spa facilities attached to the hotel. If you stay at the hotel, there is no charge. Gym room was OK with 5 tread mills, 2 rowing machines and a few machines for targey weight training. They also have a lengths pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms.
Wish I could have spent more time using the facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffcam1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. Our Breakfast buffet is kept as fresh as possible by cooking small and regular amounts with a limited ‘ back up’ supply in the kitchen. On rare occasions the demand for an item outstrips our ‘back up supply’ and there can be a delay in cooking fresh items. We feel this policy of keeping small amounts on hold to ensure freshness, even with occasional short delays, is preferable to cooking large quantities and letting go stale and dry by holding under heat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#113 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,325 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,358 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#98 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kings Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kings Manor Hotel

Address: 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €47 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kings Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style hotel with family owner / manager. Constantly being upgraded to meet the demands of today's traveller. Bar, restaurant, bistro, free parking extensive leisure club including pool sauna, steam room and spa bath. Family rooms available. Quick, reliable inexpensive public transport to city centre and all city's attractions. Set in quiet suburban setting a few minutes walk to the beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kings Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing