We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...mind blowing.”

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.42*
and up
Camera Obscura and World of Illusions Admission...
Ranked #5 of 397 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy unique 360 degree panoramic views over Edinburgh from the fascinating Camera Obscura and rooftop terrace. In World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including vortex tunnel, mirror maze and shrinking room. Get involved, play, touch everything. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Tickets are valid all day, just get your hand stamped and come and go as you please all day long. If you don't see everything we give you a free pass to come back the next day. Unique money back guarantee if not fully satisfied. Free Wifi. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Bring your camera - lots of photo opportunities throughout. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays. Latest news: Autowed has arrived - get married, renew vows or become 'best friends forever', with our friendly robotic wedding machine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

It's amazing for any age. There are lots of stairs and floors. If you want to see the camera tour of the old town, make sure you go around 1130am as its the lightest part of the day. It takes a good 90 mins to go round. Great fun!

1  Thank rosscoplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi Ross, thanks for taking some time to leave us such a great review – as well as some fantastic advice for future visitors! It’s brilliant to hear you enjoyed your show inside the Camera Obscura so much, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"all ages"
in 1,110 reviews
"vortex tunnel"
in 465 reviews
"great fun"
in 947 reviews
"no lift"
in 209 reviews
"five floors"
in 123 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 435 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 153 reviews
"few hours"
in 386 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 114 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 219 reviews
"any age"
in 104 reviews
"whole family"
in 146 reviews
"rainy day"
in 235 reviews
"great attraction"
in 145 reviews
"edinburgh castle"
in 275 reviews
"royal mile"
in 293 reviews
"mirror"
in 1,186 reviews
Filter

1,207 - 1,211 of 11,970 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Great attraction in Edinburgh and definitely my favourite thing to do. Really well done. We arrived at opening time and there was already a queue so be prepared to get here early as when we were leaving the queue was huge. 5/5 though! Especially with the kids go free train ticket.

Thank 645BobC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi Bob, thanks so much for letting us know that you had such an enjoyable time during your visit with us here at Camera Obscura – it’s always fantastic to hear that our visitors enjoy us so much, we become their absolute favourite! It’s great to hear you used the Kids Go Free discount too. Hopefully we’ll see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

The camera obscura was very fun and interesting. We really enjoyed this and would highly recommend visiting it.

Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi Steph, thank you for taking the time to leave your review – it’s great to hear that you had such a brilliant time during your visit! Thanks again for your recommendation, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

This was really good fun. Plenty to do and see and some really good optical illusions. Very good for children too would recommend it.

Thank Conor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi Conor, thanks for letting us know how amazing your time here at Camera Obscura was, it’s great to hear you had so much fun! Thanks for letting us know with your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We visited after being at the castle as it is so close. We went straight to the top for the main experience of the camera looking around the city and made our way down floor by floor. There’s so many illusions and things to see and do in 6 floors! Would recommend to anyone going to Edinburgh it was a brilliant 2 hours

Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCameraObscura, Manager at Camera Obscura and World of Illusions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hello Jordan, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a brilliant review. It seems like you had a fantastic time while exploring our 6 floors of interactive exhibitions! Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camera Obscura and World of Illusions also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura and World of Illusions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing