We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs. Terrible breakfast. Avoid.”
Review of Merith House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merith House Hotel
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here with my family in July. The location is good, opposite a prominent open space of a park. But thats where the good part ends.

The bed had bugs in it which were bad enough to give us some very nasty rash which took more than a week to wear off!

For breakfast - the only thing they prepare is toast. You have to wash it down with some old dodgy looking cornflakes and milk and some fruit. Not good but it gets worse. The apple I took had a worm in it and the banana was stale.

The room furniture was a collection of different types of wood. Basically a mash up of whatever they could get their hands on it seems. Very very functional. The bathroom was so small that I could only shower one shoulder at a time!

For service - they would not carry your luggage, which would not have been bad if they had a lift in the hotel (they dont).

Avoidable at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VarunYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Hello Varun yadav
Thank you for your comments about your stay.
The Hotel is now under new Management as of the 1st August 2011 and the problem you mention about bed bugs is sorted out.
As for your comments about the Breakfast and choice of items, We serve a FREE Continental Breakfast and the items served are delivered first thing in the morning so everything would have been fresh.We do advertise a Full Scottish Breakfast is available at a supplement, this was not asked for and the problems with the rooms was not mentioned during your stay or on check out so we could not rectify this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff are friendly but doesn't really make up for the very tiny rooms which are old and tired. The shower room was tiny - hard to turn around in and felt like you were in a closet!
It was clean but tired throughout.
The walls are very thin and we could hear all of our neighbours and I guess they could hear us too!
The 5 pound charge for holding luggage (which we didn't use) is over the top and yet to wash and dry a bag of clothes for us they old charged 3 pound! They were all done in a day and folded up for us.
The breakfast is fairly basic but it's ok - have had worse!
It's handy to the bus route (right outside door) and Ocean Terminal but I think it is a bit overpriced for what it is.
When we returned to Edinburgh we stayed in another B&B a few doors away which was a bit better for the same price but I suspect that they are all much of a muchness.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoHons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The owners are really nice. The breakfast was fine but really basic, not as continental as I thought.

The room is so tiny for £6x pounds worth! The bed doesn't feel so clean as we both felt itchy after just sitting on it.
The bathroom is very tiny, no towel hook provided and no lock. Hot water fluctuates.
The cleaniness of room deteriates as you stay as the cleaner does not make our bed on the third day of our stay.
You can always hear people walking outside as the door is too thin.
The location is fine as there are 2 buses heading towards the town centre.
The staff always turns up on time whenever we ring the doorbell as she ties the receptor on her waist!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacjacjacx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Even in this price bracket I'd expect more. You are greeted on entry by the odour of stale cigarette smoke emanating from the lounge / reception. Once you have negotiated the stairs to your room, elderly or disabled visitors are warned there is no lift, you reach your room. In our case there was a 6 inch gap between the wall and the end of the bed meaning the easiest route around the room was over it. The bathroom was mouldy, the floor was left un-cleaned (unclear how long for) the window wouldn't stay open and the bed was full of bed bugs. Despite sleeping on top of it and using our coats as blankets I still sustained over twenty bites. Given the state of the room we chose to avoid the breakfast. On the plus side the owners were helpful when questioned about nightlife in the area (we couldn’t get back out quick enough!) just a shame they seem to have no interest or aptitude for running a hotel. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Accommodation ok, room small but clean. Nice bathroom. Free internet.
The only problem we noticed was the owners attitude. If you are e.g German they are ok for you. We were Polish and they seemed don't care much.
Recommended only for western European people or Asians. Polish, Russians people stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastern777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 151 in Edinburgh
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#145 of 151 in Edinburgh
411 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#136 of 151 in Edinburgh
666 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 151 in Edinburgh
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merith House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: Leith Links 2-3 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: €42 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing