We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveller rating
940
298
54
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
940
298
54
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kyloe restaurant huxley bar jacuzzi bath end of princes street castle view room ghd straighteners junior suite boutique hotel taxi rank nespresso machine comfortable bed mini bar edinburgh castle central location small hotel the ground floor full scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We were very surprised to find two bathrooms, beautiful tub and shower, lots of space, palatial size And helpful and friendly staff. The location was Ideal. I would very much recommend this place We stayed in apartment three, number 15, one bedroom apartment

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rebecca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Reception at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hello rebecca c,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review.

We are so glad you were surprised how much space you had in one of our luxury apartments, we are very lucky to have such spacious beautiful traditional town houses.

We really hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Rutland Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We booked a double room at the Rutland we were very pleasantly surprised to be show to a fabulous funky huge apartment. The apartment was stunning, the staff lovely and very helpful. The breakfast in the Huxley was great and we had dinner in the kyloe, the restaurant has a great vibe again the food was lovely and the staff very friendly. The location was perfect for sightseeing and shopping. Staying at the Rutland was a wonderful experience the only disappointment was not staying longer.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Reception at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hello Tina L,

Thank you very much for leaving your 5 star review about your stay with us at The Rutland Hotel.

We are so glad you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our luxury apartments, we always try upgrade guests if we can.

We will be sure to pass on your great feedback to both the Huxley bar and Kyloe restaurant.

Next time, you will have to stay longer!

Kind regards,

The Rutland Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Both myself and my husband run businesses that are 24/7 and any down time is hugely precious.

We had our first day off since early May and booked a night away at The Rutland’s apartment hotel.

There is plenty of parking outside the hotel though the charges are pretty eye watering but very much the norm in Edinburgh. You can pay by Ringo if you’ve got the App or good old one pound coins will do the job - you’ll need a fair few!

You are across the way from Princes Street with a huge array of restaurants and coffee shops to pick from. The Rutland Hotel has The Huxley and Kyloe to choose from to catch a bite to eat. Both very acceptable, the staff are warm and friendly and the food is great. They make a great cup of coffee and breakfast is good in The Huxley.

I cannot fault our apartment - it was spotlessly clean and stocked with a Nespresso coffee machine with milk in the fridge, which was a bonus. The decor was quirky, fun, practical and well put together. Plenty of mirrors and the light is such that you can easily apply make up, which is some hotels is hard to do, because it can be so dark.

The bed was comfy, the sofa was comfy, the bathroom was lovely and big with a separate large shower and a big bath. GHD hair dryer and straighteners was a bonus and I’ve gone and bought a GHD hair dryer on my return home, because it was so good! As a side line they don’t offer fans for the rooms and there is no air conditioning but all the windows open up to let in fresh air. I’d suggest opening the windows up at the back of the apartment as it’s quiet, with little noise. It genuinely is a great place to spend a night and unwind.

We were on the first floor, I’ve got a dodgy knee but I managed up and down with little problem. There are no lifts. I asked the receptionist if it’s possible to request a ground floor apartment and she was incredibly helpful and suggested to do the booking by phone to make sure that the request was possible.

You really get the feeling that they want you to have a great time. They are rightly proud of what they are offering and it shows because they have such a nice can do attitude.

This is the first of many visits to this wonderful place - it honestly is a wee gem!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jam00kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Reception at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hello Jam00kam,

Thank you so much for leaving such a fantastic review on your stay with us at The Rutland Hotel.

We are so happy you chose to stay with us on your precious down time from your business. We are so glad you enjoyed everything in the apartment and found all the extras useful.

Certainly, give us a phone directly and we can make sure you have an apartment on the ground floor next time.

We will look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

The Rutland Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Loved my stay at this hotel, the staff were very friendly, the junior suite was spacious, clean and had a view of the castle. The room decor was warm and easy on the eye. The staff were extremely helpful with direction and suggestions. I would definitely go back there again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ams1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Reception at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hello Ams1503,

Thank you so such for taking the write to write such a brilliant 5 star review for us.

We are so glad you enjoyed the space in our junior suites and found the staff really helpful during your stay.

We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Rutland Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We stayed here for one night as a gift from our daughters as part of our golden wedding celebration. Front the moment we checked in the service was great. We stayed in room 10 which is on the 3rd floor and meant climbing some stairs since the lift only goes to the 2nd floor but this wasn't a problem even though we are both in our late seventies. The room was first class with a welcome gift of wine and chocolate from the hotel. Breakfast in the Huxley was very good and overall the staff and service made our stay memorable. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Reception at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hello Scou,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are very please you celebrated such a lovely occasion with us and the staff made it memorable for you.

We really hope we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Rutland Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews