We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good B&B w/Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardenlee Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardenlee Guest House
Ranked #186 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good B&B w/Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The B&B is in 2 separate buildings next to each other. The B&B is easy to find. You can take the bus or walk (about a 15-20 minute walk from the Tourist Information located next to Waverly Train Station). The staff is friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is wonderful with lots of choices (oatmeal, eggs, sausage, yogurt, cheese, fruits, cereal, toasts) and service is fast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    55
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
25
50
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oud-Beijerland
Level Contributor
607 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The guesthouse is divided over 2 houses. In one the breakfast is served you you might
have to make a very short walk. Rooms are very high and look a bit old fashioned glamorous.
But the are clean only we had a really small bathroom. There is television on the rooms
but also in the special living room. You can reach the guesthouse coming from the centre
of Edinburgh easily by foot but you can take also 2 stops with the bus(ses).
Its is situated in a uit area , so very little noise in the evening and nights.
The lady and the lord of the guesthouse are very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast (full English or parts of that) is of a good quality. Due to the fact that the breakfast room is not to big you might in the weekends have waite a few minutes for a table.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmoreijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have been using this B&B for 6 months now, and I highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Edinburgh. The rooms are cleaned daily, to a high standard. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. The choices of Breakfast's are varied and always tasty !
The rooms vary from single to double to Huge ! there are some very nice rooms in this B&B, and I reckon I've been in most of them now.
The owners are always willing to offer advice about local attractions, and have a great knowledge of up&coming events. They are both a dab hand at running a B&B and always have time to spend to talk to you.
I have seen families, couples, business people (me included) come and go from this B&B and there are a lot of happy faces that return to this B&B.
For the price they charge, you really are getting value for money, and the walk into Edinburgh town centre takes about 12 mins.
There really isn't anything bad I can say about this B&B, and I have stayed in a lot of B&B's in my time. (This review was written by Mark Sankar, I'm just using my wife's TripAdvisor !)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SankarsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We loved having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was here for 2 nights and the place was just fantastic. The staff were very friendly and upgraded my room free of charge. The room was massive, clean and had everything i needed and wanted. I got great sleep as it was very peaceful. Breakfast was also very nice. The locaton was good, only about 10-15 mins from the centre of town. I would definately recommend staying here, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela199284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We enjoyed having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

The guesthouse has one of the best English breakfasts we ever had during our UK trip. Good breakfast kick start a good day! :) Our room is situated on the second floor, first room facing the back garden. Very quiet. Nice & big room for both my wife and me thou' the bathroom is a bit small, but we are not fussy about it.

The downside is that Ardenlee Guesthouse is about 200-300m away from Princes Street. For travelers walking to the guesthouse, be aware of the up slopes and down slopes towards the guesthouse. Especially those who are carrying huge backpacks or big luggages or older folks. Maybe too tedious. It is best to take a bus. 1-2 bus stops away.

Overall, we love this guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dericcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We loved having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 km away
Eyre Guest House
Eyre Guest House
#288 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 km away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#22 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.5 km away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#131 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ailsa Guest House
Ailsa Guest House
#199 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 km away
Mingalar
Mingalar
#94 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.4 km away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#123 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenlee Guest House

Property: Ardenlee Guest House
Address: 9 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenlee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ardenlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenlee Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardenlee Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing