We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B w/Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardenlee Guest House
Ranked #297 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The B&B is in 2 separate buildings next to each other. The B&B is easy to find. You can take the bus or walk (about a 15-20 minute walk from the Tourist Information located next to Waverly Train Station). The staff is friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is wonderful with lots of choices (oatmeal, eggs, sausage, yogurt, cheese, fruits, cereal, toasts) and service is fast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

The guesthouse is divided over 2 houses. In one the breakfast is served you you might
have to make a very short walk. Rooms are very high and look a bit old fashioned glamorous.
But the are clean only we had a really small bathroom. There is television on the rooms
but also in the special living room. You can reach the guesthouse coming from the centre
of Edinburgh easily by foot but you can take also 2 stops with the bus(ses).
Its is situated in a uit area , so very little noise in the evening and nights.
The lady and the lord of the guesthouse are very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast (full English or parts of that) is of a good quality. Due to the fact that the breakfast room is not to big you might in the weekends have waite a few minutes for a table.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmoreijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have been using this B&B for 6 months now, and I highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Edinburgh. The rooms are cleaned daily, to a high standard. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. The choices of Breakfast's are varied and always tasty !
The rooms vary from single to double to Huge ! there are some very nice rooms in this B&B, and I reckon I've been in most of them now.
The owners are always willing to offer advice about local attractions, and have a great knowledge of up&coming events. They are both a dab hand at running a B&B and always have time to spend to talk to you.
I have seen families, couples, business people (me included) come and go from this B&B and there are a lot of happy faces that return to this B&B.
For the price they charge, you really are getting value for money, and the walk into Edinburgh town centre takes about 12 mins.
There really isn't anything bad I can say about this B&B, and I have stayed in a lot of B&B's in my time. (This review was written by Mark Sankar, I'm just using my wife's TripAdvisor !)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SankarsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We loved having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was here for 2 nights and the place was just fantastic. The staff were very friendly and upgraded my room free of charge. The room was massive, clean and had everything i needed and wanted. I got great sleep as it was very peaceful. Breakfast was also very nice. The locaton was good, only about 10-15 mins from the centre of town. I would definately recommend staying here, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela199284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We enjoyed having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The guesthouse has one of the best English breakfasts we ever had during our UK trip. Good breakfast kick start a good day! :) Our room is situated on the second floor, first room facing the back garden. Very quiet. Nice & big room for both my wife and me thou' the bathroom is a bit small, but we are not fussy about it.

The downside is that Ardenlee Guesthouse is about 200-300m away from Princes Street. For travelers walking to the guesthouse, be aware of the up slopes and down slopes towards the guesthouse. Especially those who are carrying huge backpacks or big luggages or older folks. Maybe too tedious. It is best to take a bus. 1-2 bus stops away.

Overall, we love this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dericcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We loved having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#113 of 393 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
Ailsa Guest House
#204 of 393 in Edinburgh
50 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
773 reviews
Eyre Guest House
#303 of 393 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#72 of 393 in Edinburgh
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenlee Guest House

Address: 9 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: €55 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenlee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardenlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenlee Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardenlee Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing