We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardenlee Guest House
Ranked #206 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Kay and Kenny are gracious and welcoming but low key hosts. It felt like we were staying with family. The ceilings are high, our room was spacious, and though the bathroom was small it was perfectly adequate. It is at the bottom of a long hill that leads up to the train station and central city, but there is a bus stop a few steps away. The breakfasts were generous and delicious with a lot of hot and cold options. At the end of our stay, we left a camera in a store downtown and had to leave very early in the morning. Our hosts were quite reassuring that it would be found, and in fact called the next morning on our behalf, located the camera and picked it up, and posted it to us. In the meantime, they called to arrange transportation to the airport for us. All much more than ever expected. They are truly lovely and caring and you can't ask for better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraN443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We loved having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    58
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
26
51
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I have to admit: this review is biased. I had booked a single with shared facilites. A couple of days before arrival I had hurt my back real bad, which I mentioned upon arrival. Without a blink the proprietor immediately suggested that I take the apartment. It felt like being home. If you're with a family, its a great place to stay. The breakfast was good, location is okay. If you don't like street sounds, ask for a room at the back. Nice walk uphill (about 10 mins.) to town. Botanic Gardens and Leith Walk close by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levensgenietster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghKay30, Manager at Ardenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it.
We love having you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just got back from a short stay in Edinburgh for the Great Edinburgh run (very hilly!) Had a lovely stay in the B and B and would definately recommend it. The breakfast was amazing with lots of choice and help yourself to juice and cereals. It is about a 10 min walk from the centre but it is up quite an incline but is next to a bus stop if your legs get tired from all the walking. There is also a great french restaurant called Pierre Victore opposite the b and b. Overall a great stay in a lovely b and b in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizSlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We were visiting Edinburgh during the Fringe Festival, which is always manic, but we were made welcome by all the staff, particularly the manager and his wife, who always had a friendly word at breakfast and suggested various extra shows to visit - even though we were pretty Fringe-out by the end of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was a bit cramped but had everything we needed, especially free internet for surfing the Fringe. The guest house is very well situated for the heart of Edinburgh and also near to the Botanic Gardens which proved to be an oasis of calm on our last day! The breakfasts were fantastic, efficiently served and hot when you wanted hot, and there was a great choice for everyone's tastes. We found the breakfast staff very friendly - mostly local women I think - which doesn't seem to be everyone's experience but it was ours.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Everything was fine. I spent four nights at the premises and I had only to wait for the confirmation on the web for a longer period of time.
Later, I was happy with the room, but just a little upset with the staff dealing with breakfast, who appear to be like temporary staff quite superficial and slightly bullying... the continentals: a guy asked for some lemon tea and he was given a herbal tea withoutntrying to understand what he was asking for. The staff definitely need to be better supervised and trained.
Another matter regards the rooms; one day I was struggling about finding my blankets who were pushed and hidden at the bottom of the bed... unusual indeed!
The internet connection was not working 100% and the sitting room needs to be cleaned more regularly.

.

Room Tip: Perfect location and women travelers friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#104 of 392 in Edinburgh
352 reviews
Alba House
#47 of 392 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Abbotsford Guest House
#96 of 392 in Edinburgh
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Queens Guest House
Queens Guest House
#69 of 392 in Edinburgh
331 reviews
Dene Guest House
#19 of 392 in Edinburgh
335 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#43 of 392 in Edinburgh
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenlee Guest House

Property: Ardenlee Guest House
Address: 9 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenlee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ardenlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenlee Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardenlee Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing