We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked into here after a being disappointed with our original booking at another local hotel. We ended up getting the last in the place thankfully! Yes, it has no character as with other chains, but yes it is very well equipped, very clean and excellent service! Can't fault anything with the room, except it was slightly noisy as it was a Saturday night, don't think you can avoid any stag/hen party goers though unless you stay at the Caledonian!

Excellent loaction, right next to the bus station into the centre of town, or it is a nice 30 minute walk if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domwells27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Edinburgh Haymarket Premier Inn.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    1,134
    418
    147
    66
See reviews for
705
1,055
148
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Proud Salopian
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel within walking distance of City Centre (10 minute walk to The castle) which was handy. We went to Edinburgh in order to see the Giant Pandas at Edinburgh Zoo - we were able to catch the bus right outside the hotel, which cost £4 for 4 of us. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was very clean and the beds very comfy. The buffet breakfast was good value for money - kids eat free. We did eat one night at the hotel and the food was fine - although would recommend you book if you dont want to eat late. The atmosphere within the hotel was good. Parking and food is extra - although the parking was fairly cheap in comparison to other locations. Would also recommend you use the stairs - lifts take forever!! but after the breakfasts we were having - the stairs were a good option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvoProudSalopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Edinburgh Haymarket Premier Inn.

Sorry about the issues with the lifts!

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Premier Inn Haymarket, excellent hotel, excellent service, on site parking and short walk from all local attractions. Staff helpful, breakfast lovely, will def stay again.

Booked a family room 2 hrs before arrival and it was all ready for us ! :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxxy76Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Edinburgh Haymarket Premier Inn.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, Co Down, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights during half term with our 12-year old twin daugthers. We live the Premier Inn because you know in advance what to expect and it never disappoints. The rooms are incredibly cheap yet clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast costs about £8 per adult (with kids eating free) and you can eat all you want from a wide selection of food on offer. The £22 meal deal (three course dinner and breakfast) is a must if you are on a budget. The Haymarket is close to the railstation of the same name and on a direct route from the airport. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk to Princes Street or the Lawnmarket which means that it has a great location. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to families visiting this great city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cronstown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Margaret Auld
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I'm a reasonably frequent Premier Inn guest and generally have good things to say about them. Edinburgh Haymarket has up til now been my 'brain off' choice when in Edinburgh for short business trips. It's fairly inexpensive, clean, friendly and efficient.

Last night I got a pleasant surprise - the iron WASN'T shackled to the ironing board (as if Premier Inn expected every other guest to be a cheap steam iron thief). It used to be. I have to confess - Last year I blogged about the frustration of being treated like a criminal when it came to ironing my shirts at Haymarket P.I. It seemed I ruffled a few feathers and was heartily 'flamed' by one or two commenters who I suspected were connected with P.I.

Well, whatever the reason behind the decision to stop chaining their irons to ironing boards, I say 'good move Premier Inn' :-)

As always, had a good night's sleep. The wi-fi didn't work (to be fair the lad on reception told me this was likely even as he sold me the £3 card) and they removed it from my bill on request the next morning.

The one thing I think is worth noting as a negative was the quality of the breakfast. It was soiled (in my view) by one thing - cold plates, cold food. There's nothing more unppealing than a cold fried breakfast. I left mine. Easily fixed, P.I. - I hope you can just throw the switches and heat up both food AND plates.

And the coffee (dispensed from giant industrial urns) is not just so-so, it's well and truly awful. Hot water and big standard Nescafé would be preferable.

So, sadly, down a notch or two and mainly on the quality of the breakfast which means I'll probably aim to find a new (perhaps a little more expensive) place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmukau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
574 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,921 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing