We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,877)
Filter reviews
1,877 results
Traveller rating
1,172
446
154
68
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,172
446
154
68
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuck box printing press george street beautiful hotel deluxe room fresh milk every member of staff perfect location little touches public areas beautiful room checking out the heart of the city fantastic stay breakfast was excellent train station comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 1,877 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here - would definitely come back. Hotel rooms were beautifully decorated and beds were very comfortable. Great to be able to walk out in to George street for shopping or returning home from dinner.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LaurenAx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The Principal Edinburgh George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Lauren R,

Thank you for taking the time to award us with this fantastic 5 star review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you found the rooms to be to your liking and may I also thank you for highlighting our central location on the stunning George Street - indeed the perfect base to explore Edinburgh.

I do hope that we would have the pleasure of looking after you again soon, where a warm welcome back awaits you.

Kindest regards,
Andreas Maszczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Older building refurbished into a hotel (at least in part), very comfortable and pleasant. Front desk welcoming and helpful. Great central location. Trendy, attractive dining-staff attentive. Room clean, well maintained, entire facility had a distinguished feel to it. Loved the décor in one of the meeting rooms-very elegant. Were I to return, would certainly stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank like2travelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The Principal Edinburgh George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience with us here at The George. I am delighted to read your comments and thrilled that you were so well looked after by our team.

I do hope that we will indeed have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future, where a very warm welcome awaits you.

Best wishes,
Andreas Maszczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

If your looking for Scottish tradition then perhaps look elsewhere. Greated by a Scotsman in kilt at the door, beyond is more like the United Nations. Not an issue ordinarily, but an inability to communicate resulted in minor issues being magnified unnecessarily. At £250 a night (excluding breakfast) you are untitled to enjoy your stay - our experience was not so good - perhaps we were unlucky.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trek650355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The Principal Edinburgh George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. We are continually developing and building on each guest journey and I am sorry that your stay with us was not as you had expected.

Thank you again and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Maszczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Room was large, modern and very quiet - a beautiful old map of Edinburgh over the bed. The best part was the breakfast, full table service to bring you coffees and teas but a help yourself buffet - perfect!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The Principal Edinburgh George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Ccrab,

We were delighted to read your comments following your stay with us. I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Maszczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Fabulous hotel - staff were attentive - huge amount of easily rectified hitches - most memorable being given access to our initial room (toilet not flushing originally) only to find someone else's belongings & car keys already in there. Luckily the occupants of 256 weren't there when we let ourselves into their room.
The duty manager smirked when we brought it to her attention - she offered to pay for our meal, but that was included in our bill when we checked out - better service from a Premier

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeHotel, General Manager at The Principal Edinburgh George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Pauline,

Thank you for your review of The George Hotel following your recent stay with us. I am sincerely sorry to learn of your experience on this occasion. This certainly does not reflect the high standards of service excellence that we pride ourselves on here at The George. I have discussed this matter with the Guest Relations Manager who will be in contact with you shortly.

I do hope that you will return to The George again when you are next in Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Maszczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews