We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food -even at 9pm on a Sunday night! ”

Biddy Mulligans Pub
Ranked #656 of 2,701 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Located in Edinburgh's Old Town, Biddy's is an Irish pub and restaurant on Grassmarket with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Serving hearty dishes made with locally sourced produce the restaurant prides itself on authentic homemade cuisine as well as their extensive selection of Irish whiskies. Biddy's is open until 1am all week with live music every night and provides plenty of sports coverage, especially for hurling and Gaelic football.Scottish produce, Irish foodBiddy's may be an Irish pub and restaurant but their menu also features items such as grilled nachos with salsa, sour cream and guacamole, sweet potato and mixed bean burger and chilli con carne with boiled rice.Let the restaurant chefs tempt you with the full Irish fry - an all day breakfast consisting of bacon, sausage, a potato farl (tattie scone, to Scots), mushrooms, tomato, white pudding, beans and a fried egg. Alternatively, diners may opt for Biddy's Irish stew (Granny Fallon from County Longford's very own recipe), the mussel pot with caramelised onions, Guinness and parsley or the crispy breaded haddock with chips and peas. Just be sure to leave some room for the Baileys cheesecake for pudding.Old Town accessibility & transport linksBiddy's is on Grassmarket in the Old Town area of Edinburgh and is around fifteen minutes on foot from Waverley train station. A short distance from the Royal Mile and a pay and display parking area, bus stops and taxi ranks are also close to the restaurant.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We chose this place, after finding the menu on trip advisor, whilst sat drinking in another local Irish bar... my chap was craving stew and boy did the chef deliver.
Apparently it was delicious, the best ever Irish stew!
My salad was perfect too. So much so we sent a thank you note back to the chef, as tbh by 9pm on a Sunday night, a lot of pubs would have just sloshed it on a plate. Not here, five star tasty food, well presented and attentive serving staff too. We shall return!

Thank Bucketlistingtheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback to our pub- your review has made our day, just like your lovely note made our chefs day! We always strive to provide the best of fresh, hearty homemade food and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you again for your great review, it really does mean a lot to the whole team.

We'll see you again soon hopefully!

Best wishes,

The Biddys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018

In Edinburgh for a 6 Nations weekend and visited "Biddies" for drinks every evening. Brilliant atmosphere especially when the live music is on and a "sing song" amongst other visitors from all manner of different countries broke out on each occasion. Despite being busy, queues at the bar were dealt with efficiently by the happy staff. Our intention was to work our way down the Grassmarket but ended up staying in this pub instead!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank matthewharris2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Hiya Matthew,

Thanks so much for your great review- we're delighted to hear you enjoyed the weekend as much as we did! We'll be sure to pass on all your lovely comments to the musician and the team, it'll make their day. We hope you'll be back to spend another 6 nations weekend with us soon, feel free to get in touch with us directly on info@biddymulligans.co.uk if you'd like to book a table & we'll make sure you get a great seat!

Thanks again for taking the time to write us your review, we really do appreciate it.

Best wishes,

The Biddys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We wanted to have sticky toffee pudding before leaving Edinburgh. Walking in the Grassmarket, we saw it on the menu. Great pub! Also had the club sandwich (very nice) and a Scottish ale recommended by Jessica (from Canada), our knowledgable and friendly server. The pudding did not disappoint! Would recommend this place highly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Steve,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such great feedback- we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and we'll make sure to pass on all your lovely comments to Jess and the team- it'll make their day!

Thanks again, and we hope you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh.

Best wishes,

The Biddys management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

I usually drink gin tonic in a club but like this I never tried. Very soft, very good! Nice pub, live music and good atmosphere

Thank easyboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, General Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi easyboy77,

Thanks for the review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your gin and tonic. We have a great selection of gins here as part of our Grassmarket Gin Club. Hopefully see you again soon and you can sample another.

Thanks again,

The Biddys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Stayed in the hotel next door so decided to try the breakfast. We're both vegetarian so usually struggle to find a decent filling veggy breakfast. Best breakfast ever, all I can say. The pub is really nice too, live music through the week, friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Biddy Mulligans Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Jo E,

Thanks for the lovely review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us and managed to catch some of our live music in the evening too. We look forward to seeing you again, next time you're in Edinburgh.

Thanks again,

The Biddys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biddy Mulligans Pub also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Biddy Mulligans Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing