We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
317
380
190
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
380
190
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini suite queensferry road retail park two double beds upgraded to a suite fifth floor good size free wifi bus service bus stop an upgrade reception staff hotel restaurant stayed here for one night would stay again breakfast was excellent booked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I was impressed by the service here and also the quality of the guest room furniture and fittings, the bed was extremely comfortable with a choice of pillows, firm or soft. A great nights sleep.
The restaurant staff were very attentive and the food excellent.
We bagged a room on the top floor which had panoramic views of the city of Edinburgh, which stretched from Arthur's Seat to the castle.
The hotel has a free car park and buses into the city centre pass the door.
Great value compared with city centre hotels.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ExploreGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear ExploreGB, thank you very much for you review and it's great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be your home from home for next visit to Edinburgh.
Sincerely,
Marcin Jurczak
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Picked this hotel for its location close to friends, who we were visiting.
Polite and friendly greeting at reception and offered an upgrade from a double room to a small suite, which was great.

Room was spacious, quiet, comfortable and very clean. No problems with the air con and the wifi worked well.
Bathroom small - big enough for 1 person at a time only - but newly refurbished and spotlessly clean.
Bed linen ok. Mattress very, very firm. Too firm for me, but that's personal preference.

Service at the bar on our first evening was excellent. Very impressed with this - thank you.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was disappointing both mornings. Plenty of choice on the hot buffet, but the eggs were overcooked. Coffee and tea were both stewed and unpleasant. The female wait staff were so keen to clear the tables that they took away our plates when we were still eating!!
Also, they might want to rethink having carpet in a self-serve breakfast area.

We didn't try the restaurant in the evenings so can't comment on that.

Would definitely stay here again, but on a room only basis.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank happytraveller09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear happytraveller09Uk, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced with your breakfast. Your comments have been shared with my Operations Manager to follow up with the team and improve in this area. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Marcin Jurczak
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

My daughter was in a competition at Murrayfield ice rink and it was only a 5 minute drive away so perfect location for us. We had a meal in the bar, food was good. Only slight complaint was the speed of the food from the kitchen, we waited almost an hour for dinner but we weren't in a rush so it didn't matter too much. We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. One of the slats fell off the sofa bed but after I phoned reception they sent someone up to fix it within minutes. Shower was great. Hotel was in lovely condition, I would definitely return to this hotel. Also, very pleasant foreign lady at reception.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Jane D, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Great to see you found our location to be convenient and our team to be friendly. Apologies for the delay in food delivery, but I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Marcin Jurczak
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on business for one night.
Reception staff on check in and check out friendly and welcoming.
Had bar dinner which was tasty but had to wait a while to order as kitchen was very busy
Breakfast was good
Room clean and tidy but looked a bit dated

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank brymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear brymills, thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back again for your next business and leisure trips.
Sincerely,
Marcin Jurczak
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in holiday inn for two nights, on arrival the staff were fab and very quick.

We stayed in 512 which had cracking views.

We must have had the smallest room ever... the bed was just a double if that, which made the two nights sleep very difficult. There is no room to move once two adults are in the bed.

The bathroom again you can't fit two people in there at once and it's very much a squeeze.

We had dinner in the restaurant on our final night which I have to say was amazing. We had wings and pate to start and fajitas and steak for main and delicious! Good quality and good service.

Would I stay again... it would truly depend on the room size and bed.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Laura P, Thank you fro your review. Great to see you enjoyed views from our 5th floor room and dinner in our Restaurant. We have a range of bedrooms that provide different levels of size, if you are looking for ample of space I would recommend to upgrade to our Mini Suite which has ample of space. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Marcin Jurczak
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews