We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Nearby Hotels
US$385
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$348
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$228
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$154
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$358
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
302
366
181
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
366
181
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suitequeensferry roadretail parktwo double bedsupgraded to a suitefifth floorgood sizefree wifiminute bus ridebus servicean upgradereception stafftwo night stayhotel restaurantstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellentprinces street
Filter
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just had a fantastic stay here, convenient location, although a little out of Edinburgh, it is on a bus route to the city centre. Restaurant was fantastic, restaurant staff were very attentive, food was excellent. The hotel staff were absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. Room was clean and comfortable. No complaints whatsoever. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your review, it was an absolute pleasure to read.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Had a fantastic stay at the Holiday Inn. The room was spacious, very clean and offered a brilliant view of the city. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The food and service in the restaurant was of a high quality and the buffet breakfast was excellent.

The location is very convenient as the 41 bus stops right outside the hotel so getting into the city centre is cheap and takes only ten minutes.

Recommend it highly.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank LisaW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have just returned from a family gathering at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh West where we were all looked after extremely well by the staff, which really made our weekend special. Great hotel, very near to the city centre and on a handy bus route. Lovely room overlooking the castle and nice to have the GM chatting to some of us. All in all a very successful visit, we will go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for leaving a review, glad to hear how welcome you felt!

We will look forward to you returning in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A great 2 night stay, our first at a Holiday Inn. We found our room to be lovely and spacious with an outstanding view of the city. Fabulous staff who couldnt do enough for us from checking in early we were made to feel welcome. Our stay included a meal on our 1st night and the restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere, we were however a little confused by our menu choices available with this offer as not all options on the menu were included despite being the same price. We suggest anyone arriving at Waverley station to get the 41 bus from just outside and this will get you almost to the hotel door, at only £3.20 for unlimited trips we found it invaluable as the hotel is not central.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandTDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on tripadvior. I was very happy to read how welcome you felt on check in and during your stay!

Upon reading your comments about the menus, I have spoken to the Restaurant and Bar Manager who has assured me he will look into getting a menu designed specially for guests from Superbreaks and other travel agents who have a set menu included. This will help to make the dinner choices a lot clearer for people in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A 1/2 hour walk to New Town, but worth the walk to see Dean Village and walk along the Leith.
Plenty of buses into city from outside hotel
Hotel same as every other Holiday Inn i've stayed in, so you know what your getting

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyrshireMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

The walk into town from here is very scenic if you go passed the Dean Village and Leith. If you would like something quicker next time, the number 41 bus goes straight to the city centre from here in 10mins.

Our hotels are normally similar because we all follow the Holiday Inn standards. I am however very proud to work at this particular hotel as I feel we do try to provide excellent customer service to our guests, over and above the standard!

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews