We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcoming hotel, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Comfy spacious rooms, big double-bed, clean and tidy. Lovely meal in the restaurant for an amazing price!! Less than £9 for steak and chips!! Was only there for the long weekend, wish I could have stayed longer!! Look forward to a return in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of edinburgh castle on 5th or 6th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbierotten123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Please do retuen again in the future!

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 644 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just had a fantastic stay here, convenient location, although a little out of Edinburgh, it is on a bus route to the city centre. Restaurant was fantastic, restaurant staff were very attentive, food was excellent. The hotel staff were absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. Room was clean and comfortable. No complaints whatsoever. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your review, it was an absolute pleasure to read.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Had a fantastic stay at the Holiday Inn. The room was spacious, very clean and offered a brilliant view of the city. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The food and service in the restaurant was of a high quality and the buffet breakfast was excellent.

The location is very convenient as the 41 bus stops right outside the hotel so getting into the city centre is cheap and takes only ten minutes.

Recommend it highly.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank LisaW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have just returned from a family gathering at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh West where we were all looked after extremely well by the staff, which really made our weekend special. Great hotel, very near to the city centre and on a handy bus route. Lovely room overlooking the castle and nice to have the GM chatting to some of us. All in all a very successful visit, we will go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for leaving a review, glad to hear how welcome you felt!

We will look forward to you returning in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A great 2 night stay, our first at a Holiday Inn. We found our room to be lovely and spacious with an outstanding view of the city. Fabulous staff who couldnt do enough for us from checking in early we were made to feel welcome. Our stay included a meal on our 1st night and the restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere, we were however a little confused by our menu choices available with this offer as not all options on the menu were included despite being the same price. We suggest anyone arriving at Waverley station to get the 41 bus from just outside and this will get you almost to the hotel door, at only £3.20 for unlimited trips we found it invaluable as the hotel is not central.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandTDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on tripadvior. I was very happy to read how welcome you felt on check in and during your stay!

Upon reading your comments about the menus, I have spoken to the Restaurant and Bar Manager who has assured me he will look into getting a menu designed specially for guests from Superbreaks and other travel agents who have a set menu included. This will help to make the dinner choices a lot clearer for people in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,222 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €82 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing