We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Really Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel surpassed all expectations. The room was exquisite, with a Four Poster bed. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we had a lovely breakfast. We advise catching a bus into the city centre or maybe a taxi. There's an honesty bar where we met a really friendly group of American Tourists. We recommend The Mockingbird for an evening meal or drink.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank startledbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. We are all really pleased that the Kildonan surpassed all your expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation of the Mockingbird we will be sure to try it.
We hope to welcome you back to the Kildonan soon.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend here for 2 nights in mid September. We had a brilliant time from start to finish. When we arrived late on Friday night around 23:30 we realised we had forgotten to bring any toothpaste. The gentlemen running the place didn't have any of those small tubes and so he kindly offered to give us some of his own toothpaste on a little saucer! An incredibly kind gesture.

The room itself was lovely - clean, decently sized, with complementary shortbread and sherry. There's also a small tv, DVD player and good tea making facilities - perfect for the evenings.

Breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had, normally am quite fussy but it was homemade and good quality with lots of choice. The waiter was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. It's served 8:30-10:30 on weekends which is perfect timing.

One thing to note is that although it is not in the main city centre, you can catch a bus almost immediately right outside the hotel and in 10 minutes you'll be in the centre so that was no problem at all (£1.60 for adult single or £4 for the day.)

Would definitely stay here again and have suggested to friends/family!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dhara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Dhara J

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for staying with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Kildonan. You will be pleased to hear that we have toothpaste and tooth brushes in stock now!

We are so glad that you found the breakfast to be one of the best hotel breakfasts you have had.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The Kildonan lodge is an excellent choice for those looking to stay in a great location not too far from the city center. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive and the all inclusive breakfast cannot be me matched anywhere else. My wife and I will definitely be coming back here next time we're in Scotland!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Addison87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Addison87

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. The staff is delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Kildonan and found the team to be helpful and attentive.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan in the future.

Kind regards

Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Had an enjoyable stay in Edinburgh at the Kildonan. We were there for 7 nights. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms well appointed with lovely towels, etc.
The breakfast provided was very good, with a number of options besides the usual Scottish Breakfast. I appreciated the fresh fruit salad provided each day as many B and B's in Scotland/England tend to forget to have fruit for the patrons. The Kildonan had a very good choices. The staff at the Kildonan were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Edinburgh. Location is on a main road so buses are plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelmoose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Just the best place to start our Scottish holiday. Beautiful room great staff great food perfect spot on bus route - buses all the time and just 5 to 10 minutes from the Royal mile. Having both breakfast and evening meals available at good prices with honesty bar makes this the perfect place to be based. Free car parking too. 5+ stars.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColinD2017UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,881 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €75 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing