We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$335
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$270
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$386
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$188
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$654
US$475
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
400
163
35
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
163
35
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barcomplimentary sherryfour poster bedspa bathcity centreblack watchshortbread biscuitsday ticketdrawing roombus servicesmall hotelfrequent buseslovely hotelmain roadminute bus ridefree car parkleave the car
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend here for 2 nights in mid September. We had a brilliant time from start to finish. When we arrived late on Friday night around 23:30 we realised we had forgotten to bring any toothpaste. The gentlemen running the place didn't have any of those small tubes and so he kindly offered to give us some of his own toothpaste on a little saucer! An incredibly kind gesture.

The room itself was lovely - clean, decently sized, with complementary shortbread and sherry. There's also a small tv, DVD player and good tea making facilities - perfect for the evenings.

Breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had, normally am quite fussy but it was homemade and good quality with lots of choice. The waiter was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. It's served 8:30-10:30 on weekends which is perfect timing.

One thing to note is that although it is not in the main city centre, you can catch a bus almost immediately right outside the hotel and in 10 minutes you'll be in the centre so that was no problem at all (£1.60 for adult single or £4 for the day.)

Would definitely stay here again and have suggested to friends/family!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dhara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Dhara J

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for staying with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Kildonan. You will be pleased to hear that we have toothpaste and tooth brushes in stock now!

We are so glad that you found the breakfast to be one of the best hotel breakfasts you have had.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The Kildonan lodge is an excellent choice for those looking to stay in a great location not too far from the city center. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive and the all inclusive breakfast cannot be me matched anywhere else. My wife and I will definitely be coming back here next time we're in Scotland!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Addison87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanLodgeHotel, Manager at Kildonan Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Addison87

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. The staff is delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Kildonan and found the team to be helpful and attentive.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kildonan in the future.

Kind regards

Chrystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Had an enjoyable stay in Edinburgh at the Kildonan. We were there for 7 nights. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms well appointed with lovely towels, etc.
The breakfast provided was very good, with a number of options besides the usual Scottish Breakfast. I appreciated the fresh fruit salad provided each day as many B and B's in Scotland/England tend to forget to have fruit for the patrons. The Kildonan had a very good choices. The staff at the Kildonan were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Edinburgh. Location is on a main road so buses are plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelmoose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Just the best place to start our Scottish holiday. Beautiful room great staff great food perfect spot on bus route - buses all the time and just 5 to 10 minutes from the Royal mile. Having both breakfast and evening meals available at good prices with honesty bar makes this the perfect place to be based. Free car parking too. 5+ stars.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColinD2017UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Visit to Edinburgh for the Military Tattoo. We have used this hotel before and found it just about perfect for our stay. comfortable rooms and excellent dinner and breakfast menu.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated on a main bus route into the city centre which is about 1.5 miles away, so easily walkable in around 30 minutes.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davebelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews