We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,860)
Filter reviews
2,860 results
Traveller rating
1,426
739
377
181
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,426
739
377
181
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scotsman newspaper north bridge privacy hatch newspaper building royal mile train station market street deluxe room beautiful hotel mini bar street level an upgrade beautiful room central location calton hill princess street edinburgh castle
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 2,860 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

All of the personal were more than good they were VERY helpful and pleasant-The food was okay but not many customers-since the hotel just came out of bankruptcy it is doing very well.There are structural improvements that are being made without causing discomfort to guests if I went back to Edinburgh I would go to the Scotsman .
The location is great and the service is tops

Room Tip: do not go below the 4th floor & ask for a city view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamdO8249WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear williamdO8249WD,

thank you for your recent custom and fantastic review, it is nice to hear you had a great stay and I will pass your kind comments onto the team and was pleased to read they were able to assist you during your visit to Edinburgh.
As you have mentioned in your review, the hotel is going through transition and refurbishment period and new Management team are doing their best in order to provide highest level of service and product with as less as possible disruption to our customers.
Please contact us directly on 01315565565 for your future stay and we will be able to offer best available rates and another unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

The place needs a good cleaning and most everything is broken and out is service including the lifts! Also the front desk staff barely speak English not worth the price. We stayed here last year and it was great now it’s a dirty mess!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Michael Z,

thank you for your to review our hotel and express your thoughts on recent experience.
We always pride ourselves for highest level of service where we are able to provide multilingual staff in order to meet everyone expectations and needs.
The Scotsman Hotel is a very old and historical building and unfortunately some of the maintenance issues are out of management control, however we are doing our best in order to resolve these issues with immediate affect.
Please accept my sincere apologies that you haven`t enjoyed your recent stay at the Scotsman Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. This hotel has a more private and personal feel to it.

The hotel has been refurbished and you can see this throughout. We stayed in the Penthouse, however I felt the living area could do with having a more contemporary feel to fit in with the refurb of the rest of the hotel!

Hotel is situated 5 mins walk from Princess Street. Ideal if you want a more personal experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Agnes M,

we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying at The Scotsman Hotel and would like to thank you for your great review, we do really appreciate it.
As you have noticed during your recent visit, the hotel is going through refurbishment in order to improve the product we are offering and we would love to welcome you back at our establishment in the near future.
For your next visit, please contact us directly on 01315565565 and we will be able to offer best available rates and another unforgettable experience.

Regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

amazing place, from the view to the cleaner lady, it was just perfect., we had a super time there, close to everything within walking distance plus a wonderful launch in the hotel. fresh water everyday, fantastic!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maely R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Maely R,

Your review is very kind, thank you it is much appreciated.
We are are always doing our best to make sure our guests receive highest level of service and have an amazing experience while staying with us.
For your future stays please contact us directly on 01315565565 and we will be able to offer best available rates.

Regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I absolutely loved my stay at this hotel. The location simply cannot be beat, directly across the street from the Waverly rail station. Additionally, depending on your room, you can see Carlton Hill or Edinburgh Castle.
The staff was wonderful and very helpful. I would love to come back some time, and would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend others to stay as well.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Darlene_K17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Darlene_K17,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh! It's great to hear such positive feedback about so many aspects of your experience with us here at The Scotsman Hotel.
We always pride ourselves for high level of standards and service we offer to our guests. For your future visit please contact us directly on 01315565565 and we will be able to offer best available rates and another unforgettable experience.

Regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews