We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“september2017”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Had 2 different rooms. Loved the room on the 3rd floor(view not great),but didn,t have a couch.The 9th floor room was on different levels. We were always going up and down stairs in the room:(, but it did have a couch which we wanted and used.Staff was helpful and friendly.The location was great.We would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mak132017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear mak132017,

Thank you for your recent custom and taking time to review our hotel.
We always pride ourselves for high level of standards and service we offer to our guests, in order to make their stay with us as a very pleasant.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, due to the lift maintenance work being carried on site, we are working to resolve this issue as soon as possible.
For your future visits, please contact us directly on 01315565565 and we will be able to offer best available rates and another unforgettable experience.

Regards,
Ieva
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 205 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

All of the personal were more than good they were VERY helpful and pleasant-The food was okay but not many customers-since the hotel just came out of bankruptcy it is doing very well.There are structural improvements that are being made without causing discomfort to guests if I went back to Edinburgh I would go to the Scotsman .
The location is great and the service is tops

Room Tip: do not go below the 4th floor & ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamdO8249WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear williamdO8249WD,

thank you for your recent custom and fantastic review, it is nice to hear you had a great stay and I will pass your kind comments onto the team and was pleased to read they were able to assist you during your visit to Edinburgh.
As you have mentioned in your review, the hotel is going through transition and refurbishment period and new Management team are doing their best in order to provide highest level of service and product with as less as possible disruption to our customers.
Please contact us directly on 01315565565 for your future stay and we will be able to offer best available rates and another unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

The place needs a good cleaning and most everything is broken and out is service including the lifts! Also the front desk staff barely speak English not worth the price. We stayed here last year and it was great now it’s a dirty mess!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Michael Z,

thank you for your to review our hotel and express your thoughts on recent experience.
We always pride ourselves for highest level of service where we are able to provide multilingual staff in order to meet everyone expectations and needs.
The Scotsman Hotel is a very old and historical building and unfortunately some of the maintenance issues are out of management control, however we are doing our best in order to resolve these issues with immediate affect.
Please accept my sincere apologies that you haven`t enjoyed your recent stay at the Scotsman Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. This hotel has a more private and personal feel to it.

The hotel has been refurbished and you can see this throughout. We stayed in the Penthouse, however I felt the living area could do with having a more contemporary feel to fit in with the refurb of the rest of the hotel!

Hotel is situated 5 mins walk from Princess Street. Ideal if you want a more personal experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Agnes M,

we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying at The Scotsman Hotel and would like to thank you for your great review, we do really appreciate it.
As you have noticed during your recent visit, the hotel is going through refurbishment in order to improve the product we are offering and we would love to welcome you back at our establishment in the near future.
For your next visit, please contact us directly on 01315565565 and we will be able to offer best available rates and another unforgettable experience.

Regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

amazing place, from the view to the cleaner lady, it was just perfect., we had a super time there, close to everything within walking distance plus a wonderful launch in the hotel. fresh water everyday, fantastic!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maely R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Maely R,

Your review is very kind, thank you it is much appreciated.
We are are always doing our best to make sure our guests receive highest level of service and have an amazing experience while staying with us.
For your future stays please contact us directly on 01315565565 and we will be able to offer best available rates.

Regards,
Ieva
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €112 - €379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing