We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adoption into a Scottish family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Come Ben the Hoose

Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile) Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile)
Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Master bedroom, a lovely sunny room with twin beds builtin wardrobes and coathangers
Lounge features two chairs, plus a sofa and Freeview TV plus DVD
Dinning table folded away when not in use.
Light sunny lounge with book case and information leaflets
View as come in the front door, stairs to the 2 bedrooms
Bright Galley kitchen
Sky Light single bedroom with a built in wardrobe and childrens games .
Optional fold-up bed is available, or  travel cot
Shower room with wash hand basin and WC.  Shelving for toiletries
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle
One of the many Street Performers in the Edinburgh during the Festival in August
Dunbar Harbour, East Lothian is also nearby and worth a visit
My grandson and myself sledging in the local park
Portobello beach looking towards Musselburgh with its harbour, shops and coastal walk way
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle with spectators at the Military Tatoo on the castle espanade
Come Ben the Hoose, come in the house your welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Walter K
Monmouth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adoption into a Scottish family”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at this lovely cottage was like being adopted by the owners that live next door. We were welcomed by the misses so warmly and graciously. The kitchen had been supplied with all the basic needs and also a bottle of wine and beer. There was also a variety of food stuffs waiting for us. All throughout. Our two week stay the McDonalds were more than helpful with any questions regarding transportation and places to go. This was a highlight of our two months in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to public transportation and friendliness of the owners.
Liked least: Wifi signal was a little weak but that was of no concern overall.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2013
It was lovely having you stay at Come Ben the Hoose. I am please that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niccolo85
Brescia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful apartment with a really very kind and helpful host”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our experience was really really good in Come Ben the Hoose, the apartment is 1 minute by walk from the Bus stop and so arriving to the city center it's very simple. The apartment has got everything one can need, a well equiped kitchen, 2 comfortable bedrooms, comfortable leaving room with TV, bathroom with shower and a small garden on the back door. It's all well cleaned and tidy and heaters make the whole house perfectly warm. The home also is equipped with city maps, bus timetables and even with a small list of the best restaurant of the quarter! The quarter is residential and very quiet, with very little traffic.
The host, Mrs Ann, is a very very kind, polite and helpful person. At the arrival she prepared some welcome cake for us and she showed us carefully the home. She is an excellent host and we wish to thank her a lot for her hospitality.
Overall, our experience in Come Ben the Hoose was really very good. Me and my girlfriend strongly recommend Come Ben the Hoose, it the ideal home for travelers and city visitors! Vote: 10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home cleanliness and comfort / host kindness
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
You must come back soon and stay a bit longer next time so you can enjoy more of Edinburgh and Scotland. It was delightful to meet you both. Regards Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
199donna
Bega, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top little house”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a late review and is something that I've been meaning to do for a while. Sorry Anne! We stayed at Come Ben the Hoose for 3 weeks. It was just ideal for us. There was enough room for a family of four, and the house is very accessible by bus to the heart of Edinburgh. Also, Portabello is a pretty 20 minute walk away. Anne and Gordon are excellent hosts, and Anne's attention to detail and cheery attitude really 'iced' our visit. We had a great time, and its affordability is just another bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja S
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place to visit the city and to relax at the same time.”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our time in "come ben the hoose" and we didn´t miss anything. It has the perfect size for group of four.The kitchen was well equipped and full of daylight.Ann Mc Donald was very helpfull and provided us with excellent pancakes on the arrival. The area is really quiet and I loved the jogging track on the innocent railway close by. It`s not to far to the city center, so we walked there every time and took the bus on the ride back. Unfortunately we could only stay for 4 days, but since we had such a brilliant time in edinburgh, we will be back for sure some time. And if avaluable we return to come ben the hoose:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and price
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Ann went above and beyond for our visit, going out of her way to help us. The house is perfectly situated so that the city centre is only a short bus ride or car journey away. Unlike other rentals, Come Ben the Hoose is filled with everything you need for a self catering holiday as well as leaflets and maps to help you enjoy your time in Edinburgh. My friends and I had a great time here and hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of Ann
Liked least: Weak WiFi
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing