We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$314
US$195
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$228
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$79
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,493)
Filter reviews
2,493 results
Traveller rating
875
1,130
364
75
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
875
1,130
364
75
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunter squareroyal milegreat locationcentral locationrooms are smalltrain stationstreet noisewithin walking distancetwin roombuffet breakfastpubs and restaurantsshort stayprinces streetcastleadvocateearplugshairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,333 - 1,338 of 2,493 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

perfectly decent hotel. Our room was large (though we got 2 single beds despite specifying for a couple, and arrived to find a small chocolate bar on the floor by the window...) did us fine for a base to explore the city from.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Veritini,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Spent one Friday night here, arriving around 10:30 pm and checking out at 9:00 the next morning. For £110 B+B, it was very expensive. I had a room on the second floor overlooking the front of the hotel and could not get to sleep due to the noise from the bar / night club on the other side of the road. If you are driving then there is no car park and any parking in this part of Edinburgh is expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Charlie S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at Ibis Edinburgh. We have taken note of your comments but do hope you will return to Ibis Edinburgh in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Gets a very good because of its location. The hotel itself is budget but comfortable and clean. If you want a luxury hotel don't pick this one. We found it excellent for our requirements of a short stay as a couple. The bar downstairs is nice and it is right on the doorstep of may other good places to eat and drink. You can easily walk right to the middle of town in 10-15minutes.
Parking is a bit of an issue. We parked our car at the train station car park - waverley station which is a five minute walk down the road, and not too expensive.
The hotel is perfect if you don't have to worry about parking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebluerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Littlebluerock,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ibis for 2 nights. We'd both been to Edinburgh many times before, and in terms of location you can't get more central: nestled in the heart of the Royal Mile, halfway between Holyrood and the Castle, this hotel is perfectly placed to explore Old Town and only a few minutes from Princes Street and the New Town as well. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly, and the buffet breakfast was excellent, with the best espresso I have ever tasted from an automated machine and decadent buttery croissants worthy of a boulangerie. That said, our room was pretty awful. We were in 305 on the 3rd floor, and our window opened onto a covered atrium so there was literally no ventilation whatsoever. The hotel did provide a fan, which we needed to have on full blast in order to sleep at night (with no covers on - that's how hot it was). The air conditioning unit would only work in hot weather so we had no room temperature control apart from the fan. The bed was not great; the mattress was a poor quality memory foam, so that added additional heat and was uncomfortable to sleep on. The bathroom was outdated with a narrow, claustrophobia-inducing shower cubicle. Finally, the Ibis appears to be a chain that not only makes you pay for wifi, but blocks all other wifi signals from being accessed, which in this day and age is pretty petty. The hotel is in a Georgian or possibly Victorian building conversion so understandably there's not a lot they can do about certain heating problems; do yourself a favour and ask for a room above the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Rooms above Floor 3 have better ventilation
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegaraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Megara McT,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We have taken note of your comments regarding your room and do hope this does not deter from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Beds in our room (106?), at our first stay, were very poor. It was impossible to sleep. Rooms was very good otherwise. Somebody should check the beds once in the while.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 374Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear 374Kate,
Thank you for your comments. We are currently in the process of replacing our beds and therefore do hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews