We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #64 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrigmor631
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,229 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

perfectly decent hotel. Our room was large (though we got 2 single beds despite specifying for a couple, and arrived to find a small chocolate bar on the floor by the window...) did us fine for a base to explore the city from.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Veritini,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Spent one Friday night here, arriving around 10:30 pm and checking out at 9:00 the next morning. For £110 B+B, it was very expensive. I had a room on the second floor overlooking the front of the hotel and could not get to sleep due to the noise from the bar / night club on the other side of the road. If you are driving then there is no car park and any parking in this part of Edinburgh is expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Charlie S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at Ibis Edinburgh. We have taken note of your comments but do hope you will return to Ibis Edinburgh in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Gets a very good because of its location. The hotel itself is budget but comfortable and clean. If you want a luxury hotel don't pick this one. We found it excellent for our requirements of a short stay as a couple. The bar downstairs is nice and it is right on the doorstep of may other good places to eat and drink. You can easily walk right to the middle of town in 10-15minutes.
Parking is a bit of an issue. We parked our car at the train station car park - waverley station which is a five minute walk down the road, and not too expensive.
The hotel is perfect if you don't have to worry about parking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebluerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Littlebluerock,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ibis for 2 nights. We'd both been to Edinburgh many times before, and in terms of location you can't get more central: nestled in the heart of the Royal Mile, halfway between Holyrood and the Castle, this hotel is perfectly placed to explore Old Town and only a few minutes from Princes Street and the New Town as well. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly, and the buffet breakfast was excellent, with the best espresso I have ever tasted from an automated machine and decadent buttery croissants worthy of a boulangerie. That said, our room was pretty awful. We were in 305 on the 3rd floor, and our window opened onto a covered atrium so there was literally no ventilation whatsoever. The hotel did provide a fan, which we needed to have on full blast in order to sleep at night (with no covers on - that's how hot it was). The air conditioning unit would only work in hot weather so we had no room temperature control apart from the fan. The bed was not great; the mattress was a poor quality memory foam, so that added additional heat and was uncomfortable to sleep on. The bathroom was outdated with a narrow, claustrophobia-inducing shower cubicle. Finally, the Ibis appears to be a chain that not only makes you pay for wifi, but blocks all other wifi signals from being accessed, which in this day and age is pretty petty. The hotel is in a Georgian or possibly Victorian building conversion so understandably there's not a lot they can do about certain heating problems; do yourself a favour and ask for a room above the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Rooms above Floor 3 have better ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegaraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Megara McT,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We have taken note of your comments regarding your room and do hope this does not deter from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €49 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing