We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
474
557
176
65
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
557
176
65
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre rubber duck tram stop murrayfield stadium iron and ironing board princes street minute walk west end lovely hotel would stay again reception staff cooked breakfast visiting edinburgh double room haggis haymarket buses
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

The best thing about this hotel is the location; it's incredibly central and within a very short walking distance of the Haymarket station and tram stops, which is really useful if you're wanting to use public transport. It's also an easy walk into central Edinburgh and all the touristy sights, pubs, restaurants and everything else.

The room was a bit small but not too pokey, and was quite basic but comfortable, with the usual amenities. The beds were decent. Staff were friendly and they have a secure luggage room where we stored our bags on our last day while we got a bit more sightseeing in before our flight home.

I visited with my sister who'd never been to the city before, and used this hotel as the base for doing pretty much all the walks in the Lonely Planet guidebook; the only time we actually used public transport was on a trip out to Sterling, and to get to and from the airport, as we simply walked everywhere else from the hotel.

There are several coffee shops and small eateries within a minute or two of walking distance from the hotel for breakfast, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leigh_vdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Great location for tram and bus stops. Overall hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. Only complaint is the laminent flooring in the entryway is very very slippery. Great bars around the area as well.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Plus point to the location. Minus couple of points on the room. Our heater was spoilt during our stay. However They did quickly rectify the issue and provided us with a portable heater.

Others - Below the summary for easy reference.

Chk in and out 5/5 - fast and friendly.
Hotel condition 4/5
Room condition 4/5
Cleanliness 4/5
Room amenities 2/5 - the hotel only provides shampoo and bath gel. U have to buy or bring on your own other than this. Do take note.
** there's a kettle. No mini bar. Iron and hair dryer provided. Daily still and sparkling water provided-foc.

Room has no air conditioning. There's a fan provided. Well you need a heater more than a/c so this is fine. We left the windows open and the chill was real.

Housekeeping 4/5

Location 5/5 , to move around town bus 31 and 26 stops right infront of the hotel. Very convenient. Or you could take the tram down to princess street. Note the tram stops are fewer as compared to buses. So see for yourself where you would like to go. Some walking is required.
The bus 31 stops at waverly st too as well as infront of princess st.

Nearby shops and cafes are found. There's a Tesco express beside the hotel. Many cafes around the area. Basically Edinburgh is very walkable. Small and compact place.

We had a good time apart from a few hiccups on the hotel. The scottish are friendly helpful people except for a few rotten ones.. (no biggie).

I hope u have found this helpful. Happy planning!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flowerymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Beautiful room and just a nice size for a night or 2. Only downfall is the £8 per night charge for parking in a tiny car park with only a few spaces. Seems that the staff use it too so can be a little tricky to manoeuvre out of. To be expected due to it’s location. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Littlecupcake44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

When arrived there was no rooms to be had even though it had been paid for, offered to be put in different hotel and a taxi to get me there. Manager resolved the problem very efficiently with sorting out a room and offered a beer in the bar and a free breakfast, overall a good stay and would stay again, good location good room very pleased with stay after the initial problems.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank john01743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews