We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$342
US$190
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,285)
Filter reviews
2,285 results
Traveller rating
549
938
494
161
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
938
494
161
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscott monumentprinces streetgreat locationtrain stationfirst flooredinburgh castlechristmas marketcorner roomtour busestriple roomcentral locationyour luggagebuffet breakfastprincess stnice bathroomreception areashort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,638 - 1,643 of 2,285 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2011

stayed here last weekend and shared a triple room, comfortable for being an olde building. The meal we had in the restauant was fantastic and we looked over onto the Chistmas markets and the lights- so very festive. Breakfasts were sufficient and filling. Only negative comments would be no lift from the bottom of the front door to the reception so have to lift cases up stairs-not so great for my elderly mother.However lift from reception up to the bedrooms.Also a bath mat to come out from the bath/shower would be good. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhona_mccallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A lovely hotel and the staff were very helpful and tried hard to please, had to wait sometime at check in as there was a problem with my booking, got sorted out in the end.
The room was a bit stuffy and cramped was unable to open the window to get some fresh air in.
The breakfast was good with a nice variety to choose from, although staff had trouble keeping it topped up due to it being very busy, just meant a couple of trips too and fro, not such a big deal really.
Excellent location for the Xmas Market and Princess Street, only a 15 min walk to the old town (near the Castle).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We arrived early and receptionist locked luggage away while we went sightseeing and returned to the hotel later. It is very well situated on Princes Street near to the Scott Memorial. Very close to the railway station. There were several steps from the street entrance before you reach the reception point which could be a problem to people with mobility issues. Our room was at the back of the hotel, very comfortable and quiet. The bar meals looked appetising although we did not try them. The breakfast was tasty and the food replenished quickly. The only disappointment i found was there was no porridge but the haggis was delicious. There is a lot of road works ongoing in Princes Street but this did not cause much of a noise problem.

Room Tip: In view of ongoing road works a room at the back of the hotel is quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Hi stayed here on business in early December, the location is great if you go by train as it's right next to waverley station. Didn't use the hotel much, arrived dropped bag off went to meeting and returned at bedtime.

Room was clean comfortable and bigger than expected ( cheapest available) but could do with double glazing as there was a little bit of street noise.

Staff on reception were helpful and polite

Will stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at the Old Waverley for a two day break, arrived by train too early to book in but were able to leave our luggage and go sightseeing. Room was spacious, modern and very clean. Buffet breakfast good, excellent coffee. Again on checkout day, staff asked if we needed to leave luggage. Central location, excellent for theatre visit as well as usual visitor attractions.

Room Tip: 6th Floor (top) have good views over Princes St Gardens
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews