We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
easyHotel Edinburgh
Ranked #154 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Bellingen, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No frills value”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Sometimes all we need is a comfortable clean bed in a cubbie hole. We needed somewhere for half a day before catching the Caledonian Sleeper to London at close to midnight. We took a standard room with window. It was tiny. But so was the price. It was like napping in a cocoon. Everything worked and the receptionist was great.

Room Tip: Pay the extra cash and get a room with a window. We looked directly at the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellogirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    158
    140
    65
    67
See reviews for
27
230
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in March 2012. We arrived in Edinburgh on the Friday night train from London (getting in at 23.30) and were reluctant to pay £100+ for a hotel room which we would only be in for a relatively short night’s sleep, so we opted instead for the Easyhotel for our first night before transferring to other accommodation for the rest of our weekend away. We booked a ‘small room, no window’, which cost us £30 for the night, and for the money we weren’t disappointed. The room was exactly what it said it would be – small, with no windows! We had two small suitcases which we stowed in the luggage space under the bed – a small double which wasn’t the most comfortable but certainly wasn’t awful. The bathroom was also compact- you get the feeling that they have measured exactly how much space is needed for a toilet, sink and shower and haven’t left any spare, but everything was clean and the shower was a power shower which was much better than the shower in the hotel we stayed in for the rest of our trip! This isn’t a place for a long night’s sleep - once the person next door/in the room above you is up and showering, you are also going to be woken up, but it definitely served our purpose and we were intending to be up early anyway to make the most of our weekend away. What I wasn’t expecting was the friendly welcome from the 24 hour receptionist, and my only real complaints were that the bathroom fan was noisy during the night and the air was very dry, so we woke feeling thirsty and dehydrated – but it is perfectly possible that both of these were a fault in the room rather than a permanent problem. Overall, the Easyhotel delivers what it promises – very cheap, basic accommodation in a great central location – with a friendly receptionist as an added bonus after a long train journey!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I would love to have rated this 5stars to help boost it rating on TA, but Im being honest. Easy Hotel is a good chain of hotels that put clean modern rooms in central safe locations for typically less than $50/night.

PROS
Location -
On Princes St New Town halfway between Waverley and Haymarket
10-15minute walk to Royal Mile or Calton Hill
Safe Area, Always people walking on main shopping thoroughfare and whenever the trams are finished it even be better.

Rooms -
Clean, modern
Quiet night sleep, you can control heat/ac unit too.



OVERALL -
It's not a bad hotel for the budget conscious, but if you want something on the Royal Mile with all the other tourists this might be out of the way. This is literally halfway between New Town,

Price -
Booking early is recommend for best deal, I paid 19GBP cheapest in Edinburgh that wasn't a hostel dormitory. Even if you add early check in, wifi, television it will still be cheapest.

Food -
Only has a vending machine and coffee machine, but has vouchers daily for discounted full Scottish breakfast at Ryan's a block over to the west end which was very good.

CONS
Staff -
Not the best at going out of their way, mainly only 1 person there 24hours for simple questions, check in/out, security. Not rude, just not the best.

Rooms -
They are small and probably best for solo travelers or a backpacking couple. Not for families or romantic couple getaways.

Small rooms with windows look out the back, Standard rooms have window overlooking Princes St front and Edinburgh Castle. This is key to remember, I was a bit bummed out. Then you walk out the front door and see it anyway.

Beds and pillows can be too flat and soft for most, I enjoyed my sleep through the night.

OVERALL -
It's not a bad hotel for the budget conscious, but if you want something on the Royal Mile with all the other tourists this might be out of the way. This is literally halfway between New Town, Old Town, the 2 Trains Stations, Zoo and Castle.

Room Tip: Book early for best rates, but be advised it is non refundable booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everythin you read about the fact rooms are very small is true. But this is the idea of the hotel: offering NOT a hostel, but a very cheap hotel located in the best place of Edimburgh. Ok, you won't find any bar in your room, neither a place where to put your stuff. No drawers, no wardrobe, very small toilet that reminds me about a mobile home. But you know what? Everything is clean and you are on the main commercial street. From the window of your small room you can see the wonderful Castle! It's right in front of you! If you're gonna stay for one week or more, maybe it's better if you find something else. But if you're planning to stay for one weekend... Or if you're not one of those "travellers" who stays in the room for half a day... This is the right place for you! Then tell me how it feels to wake up and have such a wonderful view... I felt like I was a princess, even though the room was so small!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilanis2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We knew the room would be tiny, and it was; all we wanted was a room to sleep in with a bathroom and that's what you get from easyhotel (actually, we'd paid extra because we also wanted a window..).
It would have been fine except that the fan which kept us awake most of the night until we slept just from exhaustion. We got up at one point and asked about it at reception who said it would go off periodically but it didn't.
Thankfully we were only there for one night, as we were checking out another couple were leaving early for the same reason and trying to get their money back for the rest of their booking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
805 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 204 in Edinburgh
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Edinburgh

Property: easyHotel Edinburgh
Address: 125A Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotel accommodation in the city center, easyHotel Princes Street is located in the main shopping area and within walking distance to Edinburgh's Waverley Train and main Bus Station. Additionally there is a 24 hour, 7 days a week shuttle to service flights to Edinburgh's International Airport. The hotel offers cheap accommodation and is located right in the heart of Edinburgh, on the world famous Princes Street with direct views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Gardens. The budget lodging accommodation provides easy access to the city's shopping, dining and famous tourist attractions. So whether you are traveling for business or leisure, easyHotel is the most convenient place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your easyHotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EasyHotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing