We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
12
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We stayed 3 nights at this charming place. It was more of a B& B which we weren't expecting but it turned out great. It was a bit hard to find the front door but the small green awning over the doorway gave us a hint. Fiona was our hostess, she was so friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and serviceable. Our room overlooked the front street but it was still quiet during the evening. Fiona fixed us a lovely breakfast from many choices. Fruit was available on the Buffet. Fiona gave us tourist information and some nearby dinner locations. It was only about a 1/4 mile walk uphill to Princes Street and city center. Yes, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the building and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014

Friendly and helpful hosts. Wholesome Scottish breakfast and menu choice with cerials, yogurt, etc. The room was a decent size and clean, the bed comfortable and a good size bathroom with bath and shower. Good hot water and thermostatically controlled radiator and heated towel rail both of which worked perfectly. Hooks behind doors, wardrobe and drawers for your clothes. Kettle with tea and coffee and plenty of good quality Scottish shortbread biscuits. Flat sceen tv with good reception and many channels. Central but quiet location: around 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the train and bus stations and Princes Street shops. Excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Location is fantastic - within a few minutes walk of the city centre but being on the corner away from Broughton Street it is quiet and peaceful. Our kids loved watching the birds and squirrels in the garden next door through the big windows.

Good sized bedrooms (particularly the main one) and comfortable beds. Owner provided a porta-cot (although we ended up bringing one with us from our other travels).

Living area is very cute - Laura Ashley/floral design. Enviable book collection (wish we could have stayed longer so I could have read a few more selections).

Kitchen is small but practical (we prepared meals most evenings since we had the kids with us) and excellent breakfast supplies provided by the owner. Bathroom was clean, good shower (although it is above the bath) and second toilet available.

Wendy was very good to deal with - we booked quite a way out as planning a fairly significant trip and she answered all questions promptly. Received our security deposit back very quickly.

Would definitely recommend without hesitation and next time we are back in Edinburgh would hope to book again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiwichick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We searched and searched before finding this lovely B&B in Edinburgh. Spent a couple of nights whilst taking our daughter up to Edinburgh University for Freshers Week. Perfect location, very central and possible to walk everywhere. In a great part of Edinburgh - near John Lewis but also very quiet and residential. Wendy is a fantastic hostess. Very friendly but also discreet. As mentioned by others, great breakfasts. NB the wonderful home-made granola! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were so cozy and comfortable at 34 Broughton Place--and the breakfasts were unbelievable! Coming home was a shock after 5 days of being spoiled. Wendy provided the perfect get-away--conveniently located quiet, and restful.

Room Tip: Perfect for one person or a couple.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southmolton, Owner at Broughton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Hello Anne
Thank you for such kind words.
A delight to have you both to stay.

All the best
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews