We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice put doesn't live up to malmasion name needs upgrading”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed in Edinburgh malmasion which is in leith a 5 min drive from city center of Edinburgh. There are buses that are closse by that an take you in town of preferred. If you decide to take your car the parking is not cheap. Hotel restaurant and bar are nice and rustic looking. When we checked in the staff were confused about our stay originally they thought we were staying one night but it was two. We were also told that breakfast was included both days then we were told different. The room was in desperate need of an upgrade the carpet was coming up and discolored. The bathroom had tiles missing in the bathroom and the window had loose screws when you opened the window. The cover on the bed had stains on it. We complained and they fixed the window, tiles and blanket and they gave us a bottle of wine. The staff seemed to be confused at times getting orders wrong for breakfast. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eden1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,655 - 1,659 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a nice stay at the hotel its what happened afterwards that has put us off.
We booked into the hotel for 1 night on the special Sunday night deal for my birthday. We stayed in the Arthur Suite which was very nice although check in time was late at 3pm.
We booked into the restaurant and had a nice meal. We had the steak, the only downside is that you do have to pay for all the extras i.e bread, side salad, chips and it can quickly add up.
They also automatically add a 10% service charge in the restaurant ( I would rather leave my own tip dependent on the service, which was good, however I feel this was a bit cheeky).
When we booked we were advised that the breakfast would be £10 each, this jumped up to £14.50 each. There was no way I was paying £29 for two breakfast so we got breakfast around the corner for £8.
When we checked in they took a swipe of our card and said they would hold £50 incase we had room service etc. this is the usual and is fine.
We paid cash for our room and our restaurant / drinks bill.
I have just found out today from my bank that the hotel had requested and are holding £185 from my card and it is a nightmare trying to get this back. Beware this doesn't happen to you.

Room Tip: Arthurs suite was lovely - although window are very small so you cannot appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGe0rges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here last weekend (28-30 October 2011) to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I have stayed in other Malmaison hotels several times and have always been very impressed. For this reason, we had high expectations of the Edinburgh hotel, which were disappointingly not met.

Our room was adequate, but not great. It was a little on the small side, overlooking some kind of industrial yard. It didn't have the usual Malmaison cosy feeling and the room was a little chilly, but not bad enough that you'd want to complain.The bathroom did not have a bath and the shower was not overly powerful. There was nothing specifically wrong with it, but for £320 for two nights b&b and based on previous experience, we expected better.

The hotel was in a nice area, with plenty of decent restaurants and bars nearby and some interesting shops. The city centre was in walking distance, although taxis were more convenient at night.

On the bright side, the breakfast was lovely - fresh and made to order. The staff were all very pleasant and the hotel was clean and well maintained, even if the service was frustratingly slow on occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronaghB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed for one Saturday night after a lunchtime booking at Tom's Kitchin. Hotel was absolutely fine... we booked in early and easily.. the hotel is easily accessible from Eboro by bus and taxi.. a stones throw from our restaurant and within easy reach of a few local convenience shops as well as the Ocean shopping complex and cinema. All in all very sound hotel in a good self contained part of town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles67616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Booked in to the hotel on the "thank Mal its friday" promotion. Good check in and very helpful, during check in they offered full breakfast for £10 if booked there and then. This is a great deal as you cant even go to Starbucks for that! Room was nice and had a bit of a view. I think what you have go to remember here is i was paying £120 for a room, dinner and breakfast (cooked) all included. The location too is terrific, i dont agree with other reviewers knocking where the hotel is. Leith is superb with a couple of excellent pubs/bars right outside. Edinburgh is either a good walk or a short bus ride which is all part of the stay. Ocean Terminal and the Brittannia are also very close.
Also throw in free parking and free wifi and you have got yourself a bargain night away in one of Europes most beautiful cities

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruciebonus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €82 - €236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing