We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,192)
Filter reviews
2,192 results
Traveller rating
739
802
425
164
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
802
425
164
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre leith docks mini bar ocean terminal superior room continental breakfast an upgrade the royal yacht britannia bars and restaurants lovely hotel club room hotel is situated an overnight stay a lovely stay stayed for one night comfy bed lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,832 - 1,837 of 2,192 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a nice stay at the hotel its what happened afterwards that has put us off.
We booked into the hotel for 1 night on the special Sunday night deal for my birthday. We stayed in the Arthur Suite which was very nice although check in time was late at 3pm.
We booked into the restaurant and had a nice meal. We had the steak, the only downside is that you do have to pay for all the extras i.e bread, side salad, chips and it can quickly add up.
They also automatically add a 10% service charge in the restaurant ( I would rather leave my own tip dependent on the service, which was good, however I feel this was a bit cheeky).
When we booked we were advised that the breakfast would be £10 each, this jumped up to £14.50 each. There was no way I was paying £29 for two breakfast so we got breakfast around the corner for £8.
When we checked in they took a swipe of our card and said they would hold £50 incase we had room service etc. this is the usual and is fine.
We paid cash for our room and our restaurant / drinks bill.
I have just found out today from my bank that the hotel had requested and are holding £185 from my card and it is a nightmare trying to get this back. Beware this doesn't happen to you.

Room Tip: Arthurs suite was lovely - although window are very small so you cannot appreciate the views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGe0rges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here last weekend (28-30 October 2011) to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I have stayed in other Malmaison hotels several times and have always been very impressed. For this reason, we had high expectations of the Edinburgh hotel, which were disappointingly not met.

Our room was adequate, but not great. It was a little on the small side, overlooking some kind of industrial yard. It didn't have the usual Malmaison cosy feeling and the room was a little chilly, but not bad enough that you'd want to complain.The bathroom did not have a bath and the shower was not overly powerful. There was nothing specifically wrong with it, but for £320 for two nights b&b and based on previous experience, we expected better.

The hotel was in a nice area, with plenty of decent restaurants and bars nearby and some interesting shops. The city centre was in walking distance, although taxis were more convenient at night.

On the bright side, the breakfast was lovely - fresh and made to order. The staff were all very pleasant and the hotel was clean and well maintained, even if the service was frustratingly slow on occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronaghB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed for one Saturday night after a lunchtime booking at Tom's Kitchin. Hotel was absolutely fine... we booked in early and easily.. the hotel is easily accessible from Eboro by bus and taxi.. a stones throw from our restaurant and within easy reach of a few local convenience shops as well as the Ocean shopping complex and cinema. All in all very sound hotel in a good self contained part of town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles67616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Booked in to the hotel on the "thank Mal its friday" promotion. Good check in and very helpful, during check in they offered full breakfast for £10 if booked there and then. This is a great deal as you cant even go to Starbucks for that! Room was nice and had a bit of a view. I think what you have go to remember here is i was paying £120 for a room, dinner and breakfast (cooked) all included. The location too is terrific, i dont agree with other reviewers knocking where the hotel is. Leith is superb with a couple of excellent pubs/bars right outside. Edinburgh is either a good walk or a short bus ride which is all part of the stay. Ocean Terminal and the Brittannia are also very close.
Also throw in free parking and free wifi and you have got yourself a bargain night away in one of Europes most beautiful cities

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruciebonus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a nice hotel in a good quiet spot with buses just around the corner leaving every 5 mins to Edinburgh city centre. Attentive, friendly staff and efficient service. We ate mostly in quiet pubs just a few yards away but tried the hotel restaurant on our last night and it was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AER441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews