We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than expected”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel is located in Leith, a very charming and convenient place to visit Edinburgh by car (8 minutes from city centre, parking available at all time, bar and restaurants). Unfortunately this was the only pro! Just arrived and receptionist was not able to find our reservation, then our standard room turns out to be a room for disable people! This could be good if you need it but not if you have to use a dwarf basin!
Overall the room needs improvement and I'm quite happy to stay there just for one night!

Room Tip: Standard room comes with a double bed, and sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian191199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,709 - 1,713 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

this hotel is a bit out of the way from the main city centre but close to shopping and the royal yacht/docks area, there seemed to be quite a few lovely places to eat/drink nearby but we didnt get the chance to try, roome wasokay, the ben was excellent and the food was gorgeous, only let down was the deposit they asked for of £100.00, seemed a bit daft considering we were only staying a few nights

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngordon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The location was excellent .. and we has a great time staying for 4 nights.
Very clean with tasteful decor ,staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

Just for the hotel to improve their bit ,
I personally felt there was not much ineraction from the staffs .. the reception was quiet a bit inside and unless you walk there on purpose you never get to meet anybody to greet or for an hello .. most of the time i felt anyone can just walk in to the building unnoticed.
but that again is not a complaint , some people might like this as it gives more privacy but not for me .. :)

if I visit Ediburgh again this hotel would be my first choice ...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here on sunday 7th August for two nights and loved every minute of it! The hotel is like all the other Malmaisons I have stayed in, stylish and cool. The location is perfect for getting into town, and there are also some amazing bars and restaurants on the doorstep. We were given a large room overlooking the river with a small seating area. There was a bottle of fizz, some chocolate dipped strawberries and a plate of goodies all prepared for us in out room on arrival becaue we let them know it was our wedding anniversary. The bed was gigantic and the bathtub was soooo deep! truly felt spoilt. I love the Malmaison and would recommend it to anyone, you get a little bit of luxury for a bargain price! Big thumbs up to to everyone that made it a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newbrideStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I often stay at the Malmaison in Edinburgh for work where the office is 30 seconds away (no exaggeration). I always look forward to staying at the Malmaison as it's very much styled as a boutique hotel. The concept is lovely, decor beautiful, staff are very friendly and attentive and rooms stunning. Throughout this stay I decided to have dinner here for the first time. I usually only have breakfast and then find a restaurant locally for dinner. The breakfast first of all is amazing. With breakfast added on at the time of booking, you will get a continental buffet, toast, coffee/tea and then you can order something from the menu - stuffed all day! The dinner I had was simply amazing. The menu was plentiful and had a great selection of foods anyone would be a fan of. I opted for snails to start and the Mal Burger for my main. The house red is a Malbec Shiraz, very good tasty wine. The seating is fantastic. Dining alone I was seated at a nice table with a divider. Book in hand, I was in heaven. The rooms are very comfortable and amenities are just right. The usual - shower gel, conditioner, body cream but all lovely bottles of the stuff. Cotton wool, buds. They've taken care of lots of stuff I didn't bother to pack. Helps the easyjet luggage allowance!

The only drawback I would say - is - the breakfast staff are slow on the uptake. Two mornings in a row I had come down for breakfast and been seated for just under 10 minutes before making eye contact or actually asking someone if I could order. The evening service was not like that at all. Perhaps they assumed I didn't want to order from the menu. I would give them the benefit of the doubt and say perhaps they are busy but they weren't. Two members of staff setting tables whilst there were many empty tables already set and no one waiting to be seated? That isn't acceptable. Also, whilst the complimentary toast is a great idea, there is potential waste. Some people don't eat bread in the morning. Also depending on what you're ordering from the menu, you may not want toast. I ordered boiled eggs with soldiers. Lovely, filling, and so no toast necessary. It's a very generous offering but I saw many waiters returning uneaten toast to the kitchen which is such a waste. I'd be interested in staying at other malmaisons (for pleasure, not work mind).

Room Tip: They are all fantastically pleasant rooms with no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieClaireBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,595 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: €77 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing