We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels in Europe!”
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Clean rooms, hot showers, internet access, great breakfast, and a friendly staff--what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
There are newer reviews for Castle Rock Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,040 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

I only stayed one night but had a list of quite definite positives and negatives about this hostel. It was a bargain but was not that much cheaper than one I stayed in in Dublin earlier this year which was far better.

Positives - the price, a great, laid-back and welcoming atmosphere and mix of guests, brilliant position literally next to the Castle, a couple of really nice lounge rooms, free tea and coffee, lots of character and pretty clean and tidy.

Negatives - I felt a 12 bed dorm with not even a wash basin was taking "basic" a bit too far (as I said, for only a few pounds more in Dublin I was in a six bedder with a brand new ensuite bathroom), the room was absolutely roasting hot and quite a distance from the toilets and showers and minimal storage space; beds are pre-allocated with no option to express a preference - I was on a top bunk which I hate, but was unable to swap, nowhere secure to leave luggage on check-in/ out day - bags just had to be left in the lounge room, (although reception would hold valuables and perhaps just my experience, but actually a reasonable distance from many of the Fringe venues which are at the opposite end of the Royal Mile - downhill on the way, up on the way back! Also steeply uphill from Waverly Station.

Overall, I accept that for this price, there are going to be a number of compromises, and it was fine for one night but for much longer I would want to be in a smaller dorm with a lower bunk and at least a wash basin.

Room Tip: Try to ask in advance if you have a preference for top/ bottom bunk.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a hostel I won't forget in a hurry. It wasn't particularly bad or particularly good, just memorable. If it's style and comfort you are after don't come here. If it's character and interesting people, this place has both in spades. I'm not saying that all the people are interesting or even friendly but they'll be someone worth talking to there. Or at least someone worth observing, like the guy who decided to use our dorm floor as a urinal one night.

I'm not sure what the building itself was like as it was covered in scaffolding and undergoing major restoration work both inside and out. Then again most of Edinburgh seems to be going through the same thing at the moment. My dorm was pretty big but quite old and shabby. As I said, the place is full of character. The kitchen and living areas are pretty big which is just as well as it's a big hostel.

The staff are very friendly and super easy going. The location is supurb, right under Edinburgh Castle and a five minute walk to the Royal Mile. I had a huge bag of laundry washed and dried overnight for less that I would pay to do it myself at a laundrette. The wifi was pretty slow though.

Most importantly though, it is cheap. Very cheap. I paid nine quid a night for my dorm. You won't do much better than that anywhere.

Room Tip: The Scottish Castles room was the makeshift urinal for one of the nights I was there. Check it out.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have thought about this hostel every day since I've returned to the states.
I was going thru some real hard days, having been the victim of s violent crime in London. I rented a car and drove north to glasgow, which was not my fav city in the world... Accidentally took the Edinburgh exit, and so glad I did!
I arrived at the hostel at midnight, got the last bed, and stayed up all night talking to the desk staff...

The next three days, I chilled in the common rooms and explored the city... All the while, my hostel home waited for me, and was ready for my weary head.

I had to go to the police as well as the US Consulate in Edinburgh and both places I was asked if I felt safe from harm. My reply was that this was the safest and most welcoming hostel I've seen... The US representative at the consulate said she was glad I was at Castle Rock because she knows how safe it is!

I never felt anything but welcomed and appreciated. One morning, a female staff member even went out of her way to get me a shaver for my hairy legs!

I miss the staff and the paintings and the music and the feeling I got upon entering... My official Home Away from Home!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carriehowser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here in a 12-bed dorm room and had a great experience.
It is perhaps a 5-minute walk to the castle. The staff was very friendly. The decor is fun and funky. The showers are hot, and even though there are a LOT of rooms and people, we never had to wait long for a turn.
In the morning there is some breakfast available (for a small fee), but there are also two huge kitchens, so we never had a hard time making food.
Overall, we really enjoyed it and would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarradiddleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: €10 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing