We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$188
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$255
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$270
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$475
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,184)
Filter reviews
4,184 results
Traveller rating
2,355
995
505
220
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,355
995
505
220
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeacock alleycaley bargalvin brasserieguerlain spacastle viewbeautiful hotelend of princes streetluxury hotelturn down servicenespresso machinean upgradebeautiful roomhaggisroyal mileconciergedoormanbathrobes
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 4,184 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Went with work for some pre-drinks before dinner. The place is grand! The bar area felt luxurious and cosy. I can honestly that I had the best cocktails in a long time - highly recommend the French martini! Only 4stars as they should bring more nibbles especially considering we had quite a few drinks. Highly recommend though!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Sylvia G,
The best cocktails in a long time, incredible feeling! I am delighted that you chose our property to have pre-drinks before dinner, thank you very much for your comments.
It would be fantastic to have you enjoying a night at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian.
Best regards,
Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely stay at this hotel in a Queen deluxe room for 2 nights. Staff from check in to check out were attentive and relaxed, nothing seemed a fuss and we were made to feel welcome throughout our stay. Every member of staff we passed acknowledged us, even just to say hello! The view from the room was great, and the choice and quality of food at breakfast was vast but great. Special mention to Paloma at check in, and Anna, Christian and Angelos at breakfast, but as I said, all the staff we came in contact with were great, especially with our kids. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank CRossi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear CRossi82,
It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed every single minute of your stay at our wonderful property. It makes me very happy to see that our team was attentive, friendly and that you felt welcome and acknowledged.
I will make sure to deliver your satisfaction to the entire team, especially to Paloma, Anna, Christian and Angelos.
Thank you very much for your incredible feedback, I hope to have you staying at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian very soon.
Best regards,
Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel well located in Edinburgh's old town. Our room was big and reasonably priced. I felt a little out of place going in wearing a hoodie and baseball hat. It seemed like the desk staff struggled to hold back laughter due to our appearance.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank jbandre09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear jbandre09,
Thank you very much for your nice review, I am very happy to see that you enjoyed a big and nice room in such an historical property. I am very sorry to learn that you felt out of place, but please do not! We have a lot of guests from a lot of different countries around the world, wearing a baseball hat will never be a reason to be or feel underdressed at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian.
I would love to have you staying with us in a not too distant future.
Best regards,
Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
114
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night whilst in Edinburgh for my birthday. The hotel was lovely from start to finish and the service was excellent. Greated on arrival with a piper and the breakfast was very fresh and tasty. Breakfast staff were very upbeat and chatty.

Lots of Americans enjoying our city!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear TripAdvisor user,
I am delighted to see that you decided to stay with us during your birthday, and that you enjoyed our wonderful service. Breakfast at Brasserie by Galvin is indeed a magnificent experience.
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback, I am really looking forward to have you staying with us again.
Best regards,
Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

From the moment we stepped into the beautiful lobby until we boarded the taxi the next day, the time at the Caledonian was very special. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the staff sent us a complimentary bottle of Merlot. The concierge, Michael could not have been more friendly and helpful. The dinner at the Brasserie was served hot and well-prepared. We had a delicious lamb dish and a fish encrusted in herbs that was the best we has eaten in our previous week in Scotland. The hotel was clean and the bathroom spotless.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank 36geralyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear 36 geralyns,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your review.

I am absolutely thrilled that chose the Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian to celebrate such a special occasion. I am pleased that your overall stay was so enjoyable and that our Concierge, Michael helped enhance your experience.

We would love to have you back very soon.


Best regards,

Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews