We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere a bit different..”
Review of Ghillie Dhu

Ghillie Dhu
Ranked #602 of 2,777 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Originally St Thomas Episcopal Church, Ghillie Dhu has been beautifully restored to showcase its traditional features. With an enviable location tucked in at the West End of the city centre, we are a short distance from Haymarket Train Station and directly opposite all major bus routes. Awarded Best Small Venue at the Scottish Event Awards two years running the team pride ourselves on the quality of catering and service we provide.Ghillie Dhu benefits from a dedicated and experienced Events Team who are poised to look after your event from enquiry right through to completion. Our Chef has created a variety of mouth-watering menus from the best produce that Scotland's larder can offer.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

...from the usual traditional Edinburgh pubs and bars. A beautifully decorated bar/restaurant in a Gothic Style, with a cool looking red-lit bar. It has semi circle booths with tables facing the bar, a raised area behind this, and round behind the bar is another really nice area with more private larger square booths, and larger boothed areas across the walkway, well suited to private parties of 12-18ish people. It has live music most nights of the week and it gets pretty busy during these times. We visited on a Monday lunchtime and it was nice and quiet, apart from a Wedding party who came in later. Service was good at the bar and also at the table, very friendly helpful and efficient.
The food was delicious, if a little pricey, but I can recommend the Haggies with 'neeps and tatties'.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks for the great review following your recent visit with us!

We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit and that the food and atmosphere gave you a warm Scottish welcome. I will pass on the comment to all staff.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The Ghillie Dhu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Very nice food good service for reasonable prices. We had the mac and cheese, chicken with beans was very good. Also the greatest pudding as desert it was amazing.

Thank Alexia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks for the great review following your recent visit with us!

We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit and that the food gave you a warm Scottish welcome. I will pass on the comment to all staff.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The Ghillie Dhu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The food in this place was nice enough but the drinks seem expensive even for Edinburgh city centre. A bit of a trek to the toilets down stone staircase but they were clean enough considering the ones in the bar area were out of order. The restaurant area was freezing!

Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

I'm sorry to read that you did not have a good experience with us during your visit last week.

We always try to provide a warm Scottish welcome and the best of Scottish produce, so I can only apologise that your visit did not live up to expectations.

I hope we can restore your faith in the Ghillie Dhu next time you visit!

I have passed your comments to the rest of the team for review.

Many Thanks,
The Ghillie Dhu team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Visited twice during a trip to Edinburgh, once for drinks in the evening, great atmosphere and live band playing. Returned for lunch and had an amazing meal, tasty pie and great fish and chips. Friendly service too, would recommend!

Thank C8rd1ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

My birthday was in February - but my daughter (studying in E'burgh) for three months) arranged for us to "celebrate" here during our (her parents') 3-day visit here ... the food was lovely - and the ceilidh was fun... VERY enjoyable. Our daughter now says that she will have to go to the ceilidh part with her other guests... :-D

Thank saf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghillie Dhu also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ghillie Dhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing