We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment in a perfect location!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from sittingroom to St Giles Cathedral
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from sittingroom to St Giles Cathedral
External view less than a minute walk from Edinburgh Castle Open plan sittingroom / kitchen. Window seats overlooking Royal Mile
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View from sittingroom to St Giles Cathedral
External view less than a minute walk from Edinburgh Castle
Open plan sittingroom / kitchen. Window seats overlooking Royal Mile
Double bedroom with window seat overlooking Royal Mile
Twin bedroom with window seat overlooking Royal Mile
Kitchen area fully fitted
Bathroom with shower over bath
External view just a minute walk from Edinburgh Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
coachjack...
Granby, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A lovely, modern, well-appointed apartment in a perfect location on the Royal Mile. The space was ideal for our family of 4 and we loved being able to walk everywhere and to stop back as we needed to during the day. We will highly recommend the Lawnmarket apartment to friends and hope to have the opportunity to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location and bright space with window seats
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katie H
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The nicest place and perfect location!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was an excellent place to stay, very centrally located. Lots of room for our big group of 10 between both apartments. The apartments were very clean and comfortable. Working with Catherine and Derek was so easy and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. If I ever go back, I am going straight to Pillowstops. They were more than accommodating and so nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: The hike up to the royal mile.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Memorable Edinburgh Fringe Visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Our accommodation on the Lawnmarket could really not have been any better. It was spacious enough for our needs, and tastefully decorated. We immediately felt at home in this wonderfully located apartment. The high street was vibrant and buzzing with the usual Fringe entertainment, some of which we could view at leisure from the apartment window seats. Noise? Yes, but then that's to be expected given the location. Hotels are not any different, and we find the best solution is a good set of earplugs which work wonders in any location. Would we go back? Yes of course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Location and spacious feel of the apartment
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timetrave...
cary, nc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great location, ok accommodations”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

In many ways, this is a fantastic place to stay because it is so centrally located. Being right on the Royal Mile is great for walking to all museums and there are a bounty of restaurants and stores close by. We did not have a car and I have no idea where you would park if you had one. Coming in by train is easy, though a bit of a hall up hill from the station to the apartment. So, with regard to location, you can't beat it. The accommodations were average, however. The pictures are accurate, but it is plainly appointed with no extras...no soap provided, no wash clothes, and harder than desired beds. Having just one bathroom proved a problem at times and the shower does not work great. The washer worked ok, but really there is no dryer...we used the manual to figure out how to work it, but it still just wrung out the water rather than drying them. The biggest drawback of this rental is the street noise which goes on to midnight at least and starts up again around dawn with the trash pick up trucks. We came in June when we had to keep the windows up to keep it cool, so overall it was not conducive for good sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2012
Many thanks to any guests that leave reviews as all have view points that are valued. The apartment is in a City Centre location which is great for all the attractions normally visited by guests to Edinburgh.

The location close to the railway station is excellent and the journey by taxi from the station to the apartment is less than £5.00

I am glad that the pictures on our website are accurate as there is nothing worse than turning up to find that what you have booked is nothing like what you were expecting.........we have found this ourselves with a holiday we booked in Italy and were very disappponted.

We have never had any comments before about the beds or the shower and will certainly review these items. The dryer for clothes has a thermostat that operates if overloaded and wonder if this has been the problem again I will investigate.

Overall we are sorry if you felt things could have made your stay more comfortable as we do feel along with many other guests that we offer a clean, welcome and comfortable property in what we consider to be the best tourist street in the historic old town of Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing