We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of things at the hotel are good but that doesn't make Fraser Suites a good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of things at the hotel are good but that doesn't make Fraser Suites a good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The greatest thing about Fraser Suites is its location. It is situated a very short walk from Waverley Station, the Royal Mile and the heart of the town. First impressions were also very favouable. The reception area is modern and very stylishly decorated. Unfortunately it went downhill after that. The room was sold as a junior suite but it was small for a suite and had no separate living and sleeping accommodation. Most of the other problems I had were problems of poor housekeeping. Toiletries and loo paper were only replenished on request, the room had very dusty skirting boards, tops of pictures and windows. As for behind the bed, I am sorry I looked. The telephone didnt work at all during my stay and the TV stopped working two days into my four day stay. I thought the staff tried hard but were hampered by insufficient numbers to run the restaurant properly. Tables were left stacked with dirty dishes long after the diners had left and the breakfast was very limited in terms of choice. When I spoke to the manager she explained that the restaurant was in the process of changing hands. She apologised for the issues I raised but made no offer of even a slight reduction, which would have been appreciated. In summary, this could be a very nice hotel and it wouldnt take much to make it so. But at the moment it isnt good value for momey and I wouldn't recommend it. Which is a shame.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Commuterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. I am disappointed that you left us without being perfectly satisfied with the hotel and the service.

I am sorry that you felt the room type sold was not what you expected to be. We have room descriptions available on our website and I would urge every future guest to check them if clarification is needed. Our junior suites have split living and sleeping areas, and our one bedroom apartments have got separate bedrooms. I would like to apologize for any housekeeping shortcomings, we take great pride in our property and its cleanliness, and rest assured, I will raise this issue with our head housekeeper to ensure we organize staff re-training where necessary. As I responded to another reviewer, we had an issue with our tv and phone system over the weekend, it took BT and our external tv service provider five days to fix the issues. We have now decided to implement a backup system - making us probably the only hotel in Edinburgh with such an arrangement in place.

We have just reopened our restaurant and we are bringing new, trained staff members in to make sure the staffing levels are adequate. Our breakfast selection is what is accepted by VisitScotland for a four-star hotel, and the feedback has so far been very positive from our guests.

I am delighted that our duty manager handled the issues well, and would ask you that next time you contact a staff member as soon as you identify issues that affect your stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh to allow us to make amends and make your stay even more enjoyable.

I trust you find the above response satisfactory, but if you wish to discuss these matters further, please do not hesitate to contact me on zsolt.jakri@frasershospitality.com.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    579
    169
    69
    28
See reviews for
226
866
72
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

+ great cozy individual room style
+ great comfortable bed
+ great view over the city
+ kitchenette in room, tea facility and free cookies in room
+ good central location

./. mould in bathroom
./. carpet not well cleaned

This is a perfect place for lovers and romantics.
I did not take breakfast in the hotel because there are many breakfast places around that are much cheaper and offer a lot of insight into daily life of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YuppyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be delighted to hear that we are going through our scheduled spring cleaning now, so any minor issues are being taken care of.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and I hope you will choose Fraser Suites Edinburgh again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

lovely room everything you need. we were on 1st floor which had no view but nice and quiet. next time we stay will ask for higher floor. right on the royal mile, will stay again. parked our car in waverly station new street,hotel guests get discount. cost us £13 for 24 hours.there are steps(80) new street steps that take you up to the hotel if you dont want to walk right round but was tuff going if you have luggage. Edinburgh is full of steps and hills so no good if your not so fit. Beautiful city.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor if you want a view. double bed a little small but i'm used to sleeping in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for the brilliant comments. As you pointed out, our location is ideal for exploring Edinburgh, we are minutes away from the train station, the bus station and the airport shuttle bus. We are just 200 yards away from St GIles Cathedral and just off the Royal Mile with only a short walk to the Castle and other points of interest.

I am delighted that you found everything you needed in the room and were satisfied with the quietness of the area.

The News Steps is certainly a challenge, however, there are alternative routes to the hotel, and we offer a shuttle service, or taxi pick up, too.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your next visit and we will be happy to allocate a room on higher level.

Once again, thank you very much for the amazing review.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on an advance purchase rate. We were so impressed! We got what we paid for and more! Check in was so quick, polite and helpful, asked if we wanted to store luggage and gave us a map of edinburgh and a discount for a nearby carpark.
we stayed on the 6th floor and had an amazing view over princes street, we stayed in an executive room for a little bit more when booking it was quite large! We had a big spacious bathroom with a bath and a shower. The whole hotel was spotless! Little touches like the iPod docking station and large wardrobe space / kitchenette with microwave / plates and cutlery made it ideal if you wanted a night in after walking around the city.
Great price, great rooms amazing locations 2 minutes walk from the royal mile. Thank you for a lovely birthday stay! You will not be disappointed if you book here we have recommended to all of our family and friends!

Room Tip: The reception is on the 3rd floor, we stayed on the 6th floor great rooms, very quiet and lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for the fantastic comments. The team here at Fraser Suites Edinburgh are delighted that we had the opportunity to welcome you here on your birthday.

As you pointed out, our rooms and apartments are really spacious and our location is second to none. However, what makes us really what we are is our team here, and I am very happy that you found them helpful and knowledgeable. Our kitchenettes are something extra compared to regular hotel rooms and as you rightly said, they provide a different option after a busy day in the city.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the Fraser Suites for two nights and is definately some where we would return to.
We were in the Observatory Suite and the room was fantastic !
Clean,spacious,very tastefully dressed -bath was divine !
Bed was very comfy and the kitchen area was just the job to warm up our Marks & Spencers goodies.
Very central and the staff were lovely and polite -a real pleasure to stay here -hopefully be back soon !!

Room Tip: Well worth paying that little extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMERRAOUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for yur fantastic comments. It is great to read that you enjoyed the experience at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. Our rooms and suites are finished to the highest standards and I am delighted that you found us the ideal place to stay.

I have now passed your comments on to my team here and I think you have just made their day with the feedback! We work together as a team very hard on improving our services and it is fantastic to receive comments that show that our efforts make the difference to our guests.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit. And if you contact us in advance, we will try and allocate a great suite for you once again.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#50 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp and LateRooms so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing