We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Taxidi

Taxidi
Ranked #365 of 2,805 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$44
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon this little restaurant by accident. And oh boy, we're so happy that we did. The food is absolutely delicious, especially the tzatziki and the fries. It is very good value for money too. We only paid around 30 pounds for dinner and the portions are big! The staff is very kind and welcoming and we really loved sitting in the window seat and looking out on the street. A great experience!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank exploringwithjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

As a family we have spent a lot of time exploring the Greek islands. This restaurant is authentic and we loved the guy who served us. Food delicious and staff very friendly.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Dani Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We loved the food here. Service very friendly, outside dining in good weather. We thought very affordable too!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank lbaufrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Been here three times now and will definitely go more often. I normally don't like lamb but I absolutely enjoyed their lamb chops. If you are a group of three or four, I'd recommend you the meat platter - a fantastic selection of grilled meats accompanied with some cute bread bites and fries. I also highly recommend the Greek salad.

They have very decent coffee, too. Since it's a Greek café you can get a nice cup of cold frappé to go on a hot summer day. The owner and the staff are also very friendly and easy to talk to.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Xiling87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

A local friend who is Greek had advised us that the food here is tasty and authentic. We were surprised by some of the unexpected choices or presentation, but also delighted by the flavor combinations, sophisticated seasoning, and entirely fresh ingredients.
The outstanding dish was my main course, a beef and tomato stew that was served over pureed aubergine (one of the daily specials) - cooked and seasoned to perfection (and obviously, with love and respect of the chef for the food).
The staff were friendly and generous with their attention, but never overbearing. We will definitely plan to eat here again.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redxdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taxidi also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Taxidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing