We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-theatre deal with attentive service”
Review of Blonde Restaurant

Blonde Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 2,804 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We found this restaurant after searching for somewhere in Edinburgh for a pre-theatre deal. This place was in an ideal location near the venue we were heading to, the Queens Hall. We were shown to our table which was in a smaller room in the back. For starters we had the soup of the day and the chowder, both were delicious and served with crunchy bread. For mains we had the lamb meatballs and the confit of duck leg, again both were lovely and very good portion sizes. Finally, we had the creme brûlée and the fig pudding, again we could not fault the quality or portion sizes. You wouldn't leave here hungry. A wide range of wines was available. Service throughout was pleasant and attentive. Only down side was the restaurant do not accept AMEX.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Spontaneous Sunday lunch visit to an unknown restaurant and discovered this to be a lucky choice. Great food, great value, great service. Would definitely go back.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlasgowMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Stumbled across this restaurant after a walk up Arthur's Seat, and thought we would give it a go not knowing anything about it. It was right at the end of their normal lunchtime but they fitted us in (group of 9).
Service was great, food was excellent, and the price was very good with a 2 course lunch at £12.95. Great choice of food on the lunchtime menu, there were several items I was tempted by.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

I hesitate a bit to share this information: Blonde is my favorite restaurant in Edinburgh. A bit off the beaten tracks, with an excellent menu (the fish is fantastic), friendly staff, appropriate prices - a gem.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank marais75012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

I visited Blonde a few weeks ago and i have been meaning to write a review ever since! The staff were wonderfully attentive, friendly and helpful, the drinks were good and the food was incredible! I cant eat gluten or dairy due to allergies and am also vegan, so eating out for me is often difficult, and sometimes both awkward and embarrassing. However this was not the case at Blonde at all! We informed the staff of my dietary requirements beforehand and on arrival was presented with a whole separate menu! The choice was amazing - the fact i even had choice at all is something- and the food was really special. I was so impressed by this little restaurant and would recommend it to anyone, especially those with special dietary needs. Thank you again guys!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blonde Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Blonde Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing