We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, good services!”

Miya Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #1,046 of 2,777 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$3 - US$526
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Our small boutique restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere so you can experience our Japanese cuisine in comfort.
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

We ordered the dumplings, edamame, chicken fillet for starters, lobster Sashimi set for main course, all lovely food and good services, we enjoyed so much with this fantastic food!

1  Thank Yujia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Miya Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you! And see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Our second visit at Miya sadly didn’t meet our expectations. The service was terribly slow, the waiting staff was inattentive and the restaurant was so cold, I ended up putting my coat on during the meal. The explanation I was given was that there were only two chefs in and one was still training. We waited 30 minutes before getting our starters, fair enough we were given a free starter which had been made in error by one of the chefs. Then our main meal arrived, we ordered the wagu beef, but we pretty much were on the last mouthful before our rice came. No one checked on us at any point to see how we felt the meal went. I was asked if I wanted more tea, nobody bothered asking my husband. We waited for someone to take our dessert order but after waiting in the cold for what felt like edges, I had to go to the waiting staff and settled the bill. I was given 10% off and a half hearted apology. Such a disappointing night. 2 stars as the food was ok overall...

Thank Souvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Miya Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Souvina

We are sorry to hear that you were less satisfied with your second visit. We take our customer feedbacks seriously. Regarding the ‘cold area’ near the front door, it is caused by draft coming in from the door when our guests coming in and out of the restaurant. We are taking actions to address this and will be resolved very soon. In terms of service issue on the night you visited, slowness was due to an incorrect order that was taken in. Once our waiting staff identified the issue, we took step and made necessary amendment for you, this included a sincere apology. Based on previous feedbacks from our customers, we are surprised and equally disappointed to hear your experience. The management took this very seriously and is taking all necessary measures to make sure that our usual standard is maintained in future. We are, however, glad to hear that you enjoyed our food. We hope that you will visit again.

Yours sincerely,
Team Miya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

we arrived and were instantly greeted by a nice and kind young man, who also seemed to be the only one paying us much attention, catered for us very well, i would give this restaurant 4 stars in their service provision.

The food was sensational although it took ages to arrive and it wasn't even in the order that we had ordered. starters came at the very end which i have to say was terrible. The nice man attending to as did apologies often for the delay and explained that a few of the chefs in that day were under training and also provided us with complimentary dishes to accommodate our wait.
i would give 4 stars for food quality but only 2 for food delivery.

It was also very cold where we were sat regardless of the heating we were provided with i would recommend asking for a much warmer spot upon entrance.

overall:
Very good staff and customer service (thanks to kevin)
Very good Food
Poor delivery of food (but it may have been a bad day that night)

I will definitely give it another shot.

Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Miya Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your second visit. We take our customer feedbacks seriously. Regarding the ‘cold area’ near the front door, it is caused by draft coming in from the door when our guests coming in and out of the restaurant. We are taking actions to address this and will be resolved very soon. In terms of service issue on the night you visited, slowness was due to an incorrect order that was taken in. Once our waiting staff identified the issue, we took step and made necessary amendment for you, this included a sincere apology. Based on previous feedbacks from our customers, we are surprised and equally disappointed to hear your experience. The management took this very seriously and is taking all necessary measures to make sure that our usual standard is maintained in future. We are, however, glad to hear that you enjoyed our food. We hope that you will visit again.

Yours sincerely,
Team Miya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We’ve visited here twice now. Beautiful decor and owner is lovely. Very helpful to explain the menu and give recommendations. The quality of food products used and presentation is way above their nearby competitors. The tastes are much more enjoyable also. The prices are slightly higher than the nearby sushi restaurants but the quality of dishes certainly justify the slight additional increase. Highly recommended

Thank KwaiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Owner at Miya Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you so much! We will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

It's a small restaurant and we had a booking on a Saturday night. Tables were packed too closely together making it less than comfortable. Took 15min before anybody offered us drinks. Food was only ok. We got some marinated skewers for £10 definitely not worth the price. Ramen was only ok- not bad but nothing outstanding. Honestly there are far better Japanese restaurants out there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kittyivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Owner at Miya Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. On the Saturday you were here we had a group booking of 22 people, for the size of our restaurant the group took up most of our spaces. So in future, we will consider closing the rest of the restaurant when serving large groups. Our waitress did inform you at the time that there might be a delay in servicing your table due to the large group, but we would like to apologies for the discomfort you experienced. We will continue to improve our services in future.

With regard to the Beef Tataki salad, we use premium quality beef sirloin, quickly sealed on grill before marinating them in our uniquely prepared Japanese pickle salad sauce and serving on skewers. So it is a very different experience to traditional salad indeed. We do also have other starter options offered at different prices. It is our responsibility to explain our dishes to customers and we will make sure that you understood before ordering the next time.

Thanks again for your review. We strive to meet our customers' expectation and we hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Miya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing