We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this property is its location and you will appreciate its closeness both to the Royal Mile and also Waverley Station. But I do think it's a bit rich to describe the property as 'luxury'. It's just a private apartment and really, it's just average. In addition to the terrific location, it's great to have a full kitchen and be able to cater meals, laundry facilities and wifi. The host is terrific, communicative and very helpful. But just know that it's a standard, run-of-the-mill average property.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

Thank you Liz for hosting us at Atholl Brae recently! We were delighted to find such a spacious and comfortable home-away-from-home for our week-long stay in Edinburgh. The apartment is bright, clean and well-appointed, with comfortable beds, two good-sized washrooms, WiFi, and all the kitchen amenities. Ample instructions were provided to help us North Americans master the UK appliances! And the welcome treat of shortbread and sparkling wine was much appreciated.

The apartment is ideally situated just a short walk from the Royal Mile with its tourist sites, Calton Hill, the local Scottish Grocer, pubs, restaurants and shopping. However, for all this, the wynd is very quiet. Being able to park our car in the secure underground parking was a real bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (we didn't want to leave!), and would not hesitate to book again on a future visit to Edinburgh.

Food recommendations include: The World’s End pub, No.1 High Street pub, The Witchery by the Castle, all on the Royal Mile, and the Doric on Market Street.

Room Tip: If you are North American, be advised that Atholl Brae is on the 2nd floor of the building. One fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HistorybuffCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi there!
It's great to hear you so enjoyed your stay - thank you for choosing to stay at Atholl Brae, Royal Mile apartment. I hope we'll be welcoming you back soon.
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

A well equipped, quiet apartment in a perfect location; thanks Liz! Very neat, stylish and cosy. Close to the Waverley Railway Station and Royal Mile. Nearby: Tesco and World's End pub. Easy to book and pay; absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: Well equipped in a quiet, central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Lovely to hear you so enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards and very best wishes
Liz & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

This is a great find in Edinburgh, tucked just off the Royal Mile through the Old Tollbooth Wynd it has a car park with it which was so valuable for us and is a short walk to everything in Edinburgh yet quiet at night. The apartment is well maintained and warm and clean. We loved staying here and popping back for that extra coat or sunglasses (yes it was sunny) was no hassle. Driving out for day trips further afield was easy with the car park underneath. Highly recommended especially if you want a kitchen and a couple of bedrooms instead of a hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mandy212017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Just back from a stay in Edinburgh before easter. The weather was very cold and windy which was quite disappointing as having been here quite a few times over the years this time I brought my 3 teenage daughters along. The apartment was really comfortable, clean, modern and had everything you could possibly need for your stay. My only problem was the walk from Waverley station, although not a great distance, I did feel uncomfortable as it was quite a long lonely road which I wouldn't want to take at night! To another side of the apartment under an archway is the Royal Mile, only a few yards to the street, so the apartment is right down the bottom of the royal mile, and it is all uphill towards the castle and the shops along the way. I didn't mind the walk myself, but my daughters complained a lot, but I guess the windy conditions had a lot to do with that. On the whole, this is a great apartment, and if you want to cook it is perfect, I can't think of anything it does not have for your stay. I would thoroughly recommend it and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay in our apartment - I hope we'll be welcoming you back soon.
The route you took from Waverley Station to the apartment is the most direct one, it takes me around 10 minutes to walk - and I probably wouldn't go that way in the dark either... but there are several other routes, and a taxi option too.
All the very best for now
Liz & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,255 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Brae Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Brae Royal Mile

Address: | Flat 6 1 Old Tolbooth Wynd, Edinburgh EH8 8EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: €151 - €627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Brae Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, 4 star Visit Scotland accredited, apartments, right in the heart of the historic Royal Mile, in Edinburgh's Old Town. - Blair Angus has fully level, disabled access to ground floor apartment which is now separately listed, on our partner sites - Atholl Brae is our first floor apartment - up a short flight of stairs from street level. Both apartments can also be booked through our own web-site - see details above , at the top of this listing. We guarantee the best price through our web-site. 2 Very beautiful apartments in an ideal location - OK, yes, we're VERY biased. We are only 2 minutes walk from the Royal Mile, 7 minutes walk from the train station. Within a modern luxury block, the apartments overlook a beautiful courtyard - a luxury oasis, just off the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile. Secure underground parking behind a roller door, off the street. Wi-fi included. Our prices are per apartment, not per person. Each apartment will accommodate 4 in luxury, or up to 5 plus a baby in comfort. Our best rates are for stays of one week or more. We will also be delighted to help you plan your stay in Edinburgh, if you wish; we're good at welcoming and friendly, personal service. Our ground floor apartment is disabled friendly. Welcome to Edinburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atholl Brae Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Brae Royal Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing