We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$495
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$182
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
113
25
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
25
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milegreat apartmentsecure underground parkingperfect locationwalk from waverley stationfull kitcheneverything you could possibly needcomfortable bedsthoroughly enjoyed our stayhotel roomappliancescastlepubsfestival
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Thank you Liz for hosting us at Atholl Brae recently! We were delighted to find such a spacious and comfortable home-away-from-home for our week-long stay in Edinburgh. The apartment is bright, clean and well-appointed, with comfortable beds, two good-sized washrooms, WiFi, and all the kitchen amenities. Ample instructions were provided to help us North Americans master the UK appliances! And the welcome treat of shortbread and sparkling wine was much appreciated.

The apartment is ideally situated just a short walk from the Royal Mile with its tourist sites, Calton Hill, the local Scottish Grocer, pubs, restaurants and shopping. However, for all this, the wynd is very quiet. Being able to park our car in the secure underground parking was a real bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (we didn't want to leave!), and would not hesitate to book again on a future visit to Edinburgh.

Food recommendations include: The World’s End pub, No.1 High Street pub, The Witchery by the Castle, all on the Royal Mile, and the Doric on Market Street.

Room Tip: If you are North American, be advised that Atholl Brae is on the 2nd floor of the building. One flight of stairs up.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HistorybuffCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi there!
It's great to hear you so enjoyed your stay - thank you for choosing to stay at Atholl Brae, Royal Mile apartment. I hope we'll be welcoming you back soon.
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

A well equipped, quiet apartment in a perfect location; thanks Liz! Very neat, stylish and cosy. Close to the Waverley Railway Station and Royal Mile. Nearby: Tesco and World's End pub. Easy to book and pay; absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: Well equipped in a quiet, central location.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Lovely to hear you so enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards and very best wishes
Liz & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

This is a great find in Edinburgh, tucked just off the Royal Mile through the Old Tollbooth Wynd it has a car park with it which was so valuable for us and is a short walk to everything in Edinburgh yet quiet at night. The apartment is well maintained and warm and clean. We loved staying here and popping back for that extra coat or sunglasses (yes it was sunny) was no hassle. Driving out for day trips further afield was easy with the car park underneath. Highly recommended especially if you want a kitchen and a couple of bedrooms instead of a hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mandy212017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review - we're delighted you so enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again. And when you do..... our own websites give the best prices for both of our apartments.
Very best wishes for now
Liz & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Just back from a stay in Edinburgh before easter. The weather was very cold and windy which was quite disappointing as having been here quite a few times over the years this time I brought my 3 teenage daughters along. The apartment was really comfortable, clean, modern and had everything you could possibly need for your stay. My only problem was the walk from Waverley station, although not a great distance, I did feel uncomfortable as it was quite a long lonely road which I wouldn't want to take at night! To another side of the apartment under an archway is the Royal Mile, only a few yards to the street, so the apartment is right down the bottom of the royal mile, and it is all uphill towards the castle and the shops along the way. I didn't mind the walk myself, but my daughters complained a lot, but I guess the windy conditions had a lot to do with that. On the whole, this is a great apartment, and if you want to cook it is perfect, I can't think of anything it does not have for your stay. I would thoroughly recommend it and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay in our apartment - I hope we'll be welcoming you back soon.
The route you took from Waverley Station to the apartment is the most direct one, it takes me around 10 minutes to walk - and I probably wouldn't go that way in the dark either... but there are several other routes, and a taxi option too.
All the very best for now
Liz & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Wonderfull flat in a very high standard. 150 meter from royal mile. You have also a garage for a car, if you need. The apartment has two sleeping rooms and also two bathrooms, a big living room and a good kitchen. We booked the apartment two times in the last years.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skotti69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie26, Manager at Atholl Brae Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Many thanks for your kind review - we hope to welcome you back many more times.
All the very best.
Liz & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews