We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,264)
Filter reviews
5,264 results
Traveller rating
2,962
1,782
383
102
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,962
1,782
383
102
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elemis products jelly beans train station walk in shower sauna and steam room rubber duck end of princes street superior room calton hill royal mile excellent location lovely hotel spa facilities hotel bar large bathroom central location lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 5,264 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights at this centrally located hotel. Excellent for a business stay. Quick and efficient check in friendly service.all staff and especially the restaurant were great and most helpful. The room was recently refurbished; very comfortable and quiet for city centre close to the old town. Good wifi to work peacefully. Bed very comfortable. Could not use the pooland sauna as was closed for maintenance but nice walk area nearby. Would be my choice again when in 'auld reekie' next time.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dave V,


Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that overall you found our hotel to your liking and that our team provided the friendly service that is synonymous with Apex Hotels.

We all looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We managed to use the free park and ride twenty minutes away so a short bus ride and we arrived here for our recent five night stay! We were welcomed with a smile and our room was even ready early so they let us check in!
Overall a very comfortable room with all the key features and nice little touches. Water stocked in the fridge daily, shampoo and shower essentials, a safe and hair dryer! Tea coffee facilities too and lovely biscuits.
The hotel is clean, well maintained with very nice friendly staff!
Location is perfect!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sjbounds80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sjbounds80,

Thank you for posting a review online about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that your found our team friendly, as this is something we truly pride ourselves on.

I was also pleased to see that you found our central location to your liking, as this is so important when visiting a city.

i do hope we get to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

夏の風物詩、ミリタリータトゥーを見るために訪れ宿泊したホテル。
ロンドンから電車で来たのだが、ホテルは駅から近いはずがわかりにくく、遠回りで行ってしまった。
チェックイン前には荷物を預かってくれ、そのまま観光にいける。
ホテルから主要な観光地は徒歩圏内。
部屋はツインを頼んだが、ベッドはくっつけてあった。
部屋のお風呂にはバスタブもあって、ミリタリータトゥーで冷えた体をあっためられた。wi-fi は夜はなぜかとってもつながりにくかった。

全体としては、いい滞在になった。

Clean hotel, There are staffs who has a good hospitality.
One thing ....the Wi-Fi connection at the night was really poor. but overall We had a good time at this hotel! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yukiiiiii90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're expecting an American style room in the UK, forget it unless you're willing to seek out 5-star venues. The Apex Waterloo is rated at 4-stars, which seems excessive to me. Having just spent four nights there, the downsides are: tiny rooms, tables that lack any drawers, no designated place(s) to put your luggage, and an inability to adjust your room temperature (we were compelled to open two windows in order to cool the place down). Other minor problems include the tiniest piece of soap ever produced (prisoners in lockup probably get more soap), the absence of washcloths, and unreliable water temperature. The visit worked out OK because the hotel is located very close to the primary attractions, and has a fascinating cemetery across the street (the cemetery contains the remains of most major figures of the Scottish Enlightenment, which also means that there are very few religious symbols). The (included) breakfast buffet is also good.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Ga2r75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ga2r75,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Apex Waterloo Place. I was very disappointed to read that your time with us was far below that of our usual high levels of guest satisfaction.

I was especially disappointed to read that you found the room amenities not to your liking, we do provide wash clothes for all our guests these are located in the bathroom mirrored cupboard, along with a number of other guest conveniences. All our rooms also have temperature controlled via the air con, which is operated through a panel on the bedroom wall. I am truly sorry that non of this was apparent during you stay. However I do feel confident that had you discussed any of the issue detailed in your review with one of our team, during your stay they would of been able to assist you; ensuring your stay was much more favorable.

Kindest regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This is the second time I have stayed at the Apex in Edinburgh. They never fail to amaze me Great overall service !! Kym at breakfast is worth a mention a invaluable employee what a great hostess very attentive and seems to be on top of everything

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Redbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Redbase,


Thank you so much for your kind words, it is always pleasing to see returning guests and for us to live up to their expectations. I will of course be sharing your review with the team and especially Kym.

I do hope we get to welcome you for a third time in the near future.

Kindest regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews