We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just spent 4 nights in this hotel, which we found through TripAdvisor. We chose it partly because it is so close to Waverley Station and Princes St. It was a perfect choice, even more so because we were upgraded to a superior room for free. Nearly all the 4 star hotels in Edinburgh are expensive, but you get what you pay for. A well furnished room, with high end fittings in the bathroom. Deep tub and massive walk-in shower. Excellent, comfortable beds and good pillows. ( They quickly changed my feather pillows for non-allergenic ones.) Double glazed windows meant no sound at all from outside, and friends on a lower floor said that applied to their room too. A massive 42 inch TV, and in our room, an iPod dock and DVD player.
We ate twice in the restaurant, on their early evening menu. Limited choice, but freshly cooked and good ingredients. (£16.50 for 3 courses. £12.50 for 2.) There is also a large, comfortable bar area for light snacks and drinks, open throughout the day, but it is a bit chilly.
My one criticism, which applies I think to all these large hotels, is that breakfast is not included. At £15 we guess this is aimed at the business traveller on expenses. There is a cafe two doors down, or you can eat in the St James Mall just behind the hotel. We used the restaurant in John Lewis.
Staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,374
    1,389
    289
    78
    25
See reviews for
678
2,090
191
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel reception and bar area are nice however we paid for a deluxe room which was far from deluxe. It was room 209 which was on street level and there was no privacy during the day, in the early hours of the morning the room was opposite Pivo's ( nightclub) which was noisy. In addition on entering the room it was cold and the bathroom was freezing. We opted for a deluxe room to treat ourselves, looking forward to the extra sitting area space and nespresso machine as advertised at the time of booking, neither of these facilities were available in our 'deluxe' room. Other extras that you pay for when booking a deluxe room that were nort provided were slippers and a magazine selection. In saying that the pool area is nice and i would go back but not opay extra for a deluxe room and request a high floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Falconer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Beautiful hotel inside, the staff were friendly and welcoming! Cracking pool, gym, sauna and steam room. Bed was very comfortable had a really good sleep, spacious bathroom/shower! Only bad things the spoons for the tea and coffee weren't clean and the room was not very well lit but that's honestly just nit picking! Right next to St James shopping centre and literally 2minute walk from the train station! Would highly recommend and will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belllad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

First room I got (before complaining and thereafter getting a better one) was facing a street with multiple big garbage cans and the room was very dark and badly designed. The TV was in the far end of the room and not viewable from the bed.
The other room was okay, fairly big and acceptable. 5min after entering my new and better room the reception called to ask if I was checking out or staying another night. I had just checked in. They didn't have it under control. That being said the hotel was okay but I would try staying at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathilde_x_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you get a chance to stay here, I would definitely recommend it. The staff is friendly and helpful - we arrived with a minor error of our reservation not being in their system. I had the confirmation on my phone and showed the person at reception who sorted it out quickly while we enjoyed a complimentary drink at the bar. The food was delicious for both breakfast (we had breakfast included) and bar food. The room was great with ample space, refreshments and a nice/clean bathroom. The bed was super comfortable! It's within walking distance to touristy things and 5 mins from the train station. Superb!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor (which can be considered the 2nd floor because of the hills!) and faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing