We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a base”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

we chose this Premier Inn because Dundee is ideally located to access the north of Scotland, and the St.Andrews area to the south (30mins away), the hotel was perfect for our needs - easy check-in, no fuss room, breakfast in the morning.
No complaints at all, although the walls are maybe a bit thin and we could hear sounds from next door.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    166
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
162
162
29
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Saw some previous reviews so was a bit apprehensive however, there was nothing to worry about! Had a free night to cash in so chose this one as it was on the outskirts of Dundee and in a quiet location.

A very warm welcome from reception, room was spotless and all staff extremely friendly. Dined in the restaurant with the kids and I have to say the steak was cooked to perfection - all dishes were excellent, service was good (perhaps our server could have smiled a bit more as she was a bit robotic compared to the rest) and kids were happy.

Same the next day, fantastic breakfast, Owen looked after us very well as 1 of our girls had been up all night unwell and we were all a bit tired. Quality breakfast and nothing was too much trouble.

Probably one of the best Premier Inn sites Ive ever stayed in so highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTTP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

very comfy clean rooms .food & service very good, staff very helpful & courtious . breakfast was very good for an unlimited every thing was still cooked to order . would definetly recomend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I found my stay at the Hotel was fine but my experience in the restaurant will not be repeated. The food was served at different times meaning we didn't eat together as a party.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRC500, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Maggie M,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am really sorry to hear about your dining experience in the Gourdie Croft Beefeater. I would be delighted if you could contact me on 01382 561115 to discuss this further. Kind Regards, Mike Clarke, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

An overnight stay with daughter & children, we were meeting up with other families. Room was a good size for us, clean bathroom, comfy beds. Restaurant adjoining meant I did not have to drive around looking for somewhere to eat. There was a good selection of food for both dinner & breakfast.

Room Tip: We asked for a family room, it was on the ground floor but we had no problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRC500, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear CaroScotland,

Many thanks for your comments and I'm pleased that you and your daughter had a nice stay together with being served nice food in our Beefeater Restaurant. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Mike Clarke, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
6.0 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
4.5 km away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Address: Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dundee
#3 Business Hotel in Dundee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#7 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Scotland's last working jute mill at Verdant Works or soak up some culture at Caird Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing