We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful luxurious home”
other travellers have booked this property
Dumcrieff House from the south lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dumcrieff House from the south lawn
Dumcrieff Mansion House Approaching Dumcrieff Estate by helicopter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Dumcrieff House from the south lawn
Dumcrieff Mansion House
Approaching Dumcrieff Estate by helicopter
DUMCRIEFF HOUSE
Entrance Hall
Reception Hall
Our butler, at your service
Hire our butler for your special occasion
Kitchen
Hire our professional  butler for your special occasion or event
Dining Room
The dining table can seat up to 18 guests.
Drawing Room
The Snooker Room
Cantilever Staircase
A double bedroom
A double bedroom with King Size Full Tester bed
King size bed
Sophisticated Hen Party girls are very welcome
King Size Full Tester Bed
Relax and enjoy views over open countryside in all directions
Rococo style super kingsize bed in balcony bedroom
A Shower Room
A twin room
A shower room with bath
Another  twin room
Slipper bath with a view over the lawn, river and open countryside
A double bedroom with king size bed
A Shower room
The ground floor bedroom
Ground floor shower room
The south drive in early spring
Southerly view over the south lawn and front field
'Tar' MacAdam's  first roller is in the grounds near the house
Dumcrieff is ideal for get-togethers with friends
Moffat Water runs through the estate
The North Drive
Our butler will attend to every detail, including picnics
Front Door
Guests at front door
Dumcrieff can  be hired for photo-shoots by the half day or longer.  Contact us for details.
Dumcrieff House from the south
The south facing terrace area is Ideal for dining al fresco during summer months
South lawn and front field
Dumcrieff Estate parkland
Southern Upland hills around the estate
Pheasants on the lawn in Autumn
Deer are often seen in the grounds
A Woodland Walk
Dumcrieff Sheep
Landing on the lawn at Dumcrieff
Just arrived for a special birthday weekend at Dumcrieff
Another hot summer's day at Dumcrieff.
The perfect secluded mansion for your special occasion
Southerly view from the secluded mansion
Surrounding countryside
Hay-making at Dumcrieff
Woodland walk by the river
Moffat Water runs through the estate
Attentive butler service at Dumcrieff for your special luxury get-away
Nothing is too much trouble for our butler. Contact us for details of extensive butler duties
The Terrrace
Butler preparing the table for a VIP BBQ on the terrace
Dining al fresco on the terrace in summer
Hire our Pipe Major for your special occasion
VIP Service available for any occasion
Marquee Interior
Hire a Marquee for your special occasion
Marquee Interior
Bride on the terrace
Hire a limo for your special occasion at Dumcrieff
Our chauffeur & butler
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AniKrishn...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful luxurious home ”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I booked Dumcrieff for my husband's 50th bday celebrations. The booking process (through Owners direct site )was easy -but for me it was the communications with Philip @Dumcrieff who answered all my queries and doubts in detail through email or phone that was the highlight. We were a mix of adults, teenagers and a couple of toddlers and spent a weekend there

Full compliments to Philip and Dematra who make the house what it is now

The house is awe inspiring and has a pleasing mix of the antique and the modern-such that you feel at home and not out of place. The beds and bedrooms are very spacious luxurious and very comfortable-the bathrooms and kitchen have all the mod cons and are fully kitted out for use( 2 refrigerators , 2 dishwashers an Aga that is on always) . The rooms remain warm and the shower water pressure is strong . Most bathrooms have dual access -internally from the bedrooms and from the corridor The kids had no qualms about the wifi and phone coverage was fine in the ground floor.-but the games and billiards rooms and the outdoor space kept them away from their gizmos

The grounds and surroundings are a delight to explore We were there in the 1st weekend of October 2016 and were expecting wet cold conditions -and instead were awarded the most glorious sunshine with temp of 16 degrees - long walk followed by a picnic lunch on the lawns. Moffat is a short drive away for any necessities

I prearranged with Philip and got an external caterer for the bday dinner

I had also arranged a housekeeper's services through Philip -unfortunately she became indisposed but then Dematra stepped in

A beautiful place. We left with fantastic memories of Dumcrieff and our celebrations there and hope that we can return sometime



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect House for any big gathering”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I booked Dumcrieff for my friend's hen party and if you're looking for sophistication and beautiful scenery, this house could not be better.
On arrival the house was spotless and we were given a comprehensive tour by Philip and his wife. They also left us several complimentary bottles of prosecco and biscuits which we thoroughly enjoyed!
The communal areas such as the drawing room and dining room have stunning views and are the perfect setting for social gatherings. The grounds of the house are incredible if you enjoy walks and nature.
In terms of location, the house is approximately a 4 minute drive from Moffat which was handy for us as we had booked Brodies for afternoon tea.
Everything in the house was luxurious from the showers and complimentary toiletries to the decor and bedding. It was so lovely to stay there and we are all enthusiastic about returning one day!
There were 14 of us staying overnight and despite this, the place still felt huge!
Another feature to mention is the bbq...we made great use of this and despite the rain, we were still able to enjoy the wonderful outdoor space. Again bbq fuel was provided so you didn't have to worry about bringing anything.
The house itself was really well kitted out with TVs in every room, DVD players, wifi, beautiful bed linen and all the kitchen essentials you could think of.
I could not recommend this place highly enough for a group gathering. Philip and his wife bend over backwards to accommodate your needs and make it very easy to contact them if you need to.
I very much look forward to a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie B
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in a beautiful location. ”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

15 hens had a fabulous weekend at Dumcrieff House. The setting was perfect, despite the rain. Philip was on call to answer any questions should we need and was flexible with the check out arrangements. There is lots of space in the house so room to escape if you need to! The lounge is a super size and a smaller one with a television should you wish to use it. The games rooms are great too with lots of board games to choose from. I'd definitely consider going back for another weekend. Thank you Philip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
830travel...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, couldn't fault it”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed in the house for a family gathering, absolutely wonderful weekend. Hosts were very helpful in showing us where everything was and how everything worked. House has all amenities required and beautiful bathrooms. Stunning surroundings. Would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: oven not easiest to use when trying to cook breakfast for 18 people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having the opportunity to stay in a house like this
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing