We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and tranquil”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robin's Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nicola y
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and tranquil”
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had a long weekend at the cottage couldn't have asked for more beautiful scenery, very tranquil and great to see the kids running around having freedom and safety. Would highly recommend Robins Nest and the little extra touches that you don't expect from a self catering cottages. Can't wait to book again xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2018
Nicola,
It was great to meet you all and the kids were making the most of the wide open spaces! It was good to see. We appreciate your comments as we do try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The cottage was clean and homely. Beautiful double bedroom at rear of cottage. Lovely scenery and perfect window seat to enjoy the landscape. Quiet yet not far from the local Tesco Metro.

We all had a wonderful Christmas and seeing a deer on our first night was magical. Our dog loved the walks and freedom.

Communication with Donald was excellent.

A pair of binoculars would have been nice to look at the wildlife, especially the red kites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are lucky in the fact we are located in a really quiet spot but still close to all the local amenities and attractions in the area. Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“spacious house in scenic location near quaint town”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

we stayed as a family to celebrate a 50th and 80th birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
There was more than enough space in the house for 8 people . The rooms were large and all the shower/bathrooms had good facilities which worked well. We particularly liked the large dining table as we were all able to sit round this eating, drinking, chatting and playing games.
The house was easy to find even in the dark. I Liked the fact we were able to use key box to access house so we were able to arrive when we wanted. ( we were travelling down after work on a Friday in different cars.
House was well presented, clean and comfortable. kitchen had all the items you could need for a break away.
The views were lovely and we were able to go for short walks with the dog into the countryside.
We were fortunate enough to have a clear night and the star studded skies were beautiful. Us townies forget how lovely the dark night skies are.
Nearby Kirkcudbright was quaint and had enough places of interest, shops and places to eat to keep us entertained for an afternoon . We had a carry out meal one evening and this was easy and convenient when we did not feel like cooking . The smallish Tesco in town was well enough stocked to allow us to shop for meals and snacks to keep us going.
There are plenty of other interesting places to visit within a driveable radius particularly if you like castles and history. Our dog enjoyed the walk on Brighouse bay beach.
My older parents were with us and although the following would not be an issue for other visitors it may help when making a decision about staying . The only room which was on the level was the downstairs twin room . The other room on the ground floor which was a spacious comfortable double had three step up to it . the was an adequate handrail in place but could be a struggle for an older person who struggles on stairs. The other issue is that the place for the door mat at front door is recessed and the caused more than one of us to trip ( no falls fortunately) . so this might be something to keep in mind if you have a member of your party who is unsteady on their feet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Jane,
Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay at Robin's Nest. We are lucky where we are located. We are rural enough that we can enjoy the dark skies, as you have mentioned, but we are centrally located for all the different activities/attractions that Dumfries and Galloway has to offer.
I take your points on board regarding the steps and in particular the door mat recess. I appreciate this could be a problem and I will deal with it as soon as possible.
It's the only way our family business can improve with your much appreciated comments. Thanks again and we look forward to meeting you again soon.
Regards

Donald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clareww
durham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I stayed here with my dad, sister and her family for 3 nights. We had a lovely time. The cottage was fantastic, had everything we needed, very comfortable and homely, log burning stove and lovely window seat in living room, great location and views and lots of room for the 6 of us. We had neighbours in the other 2 lets but you would not know they were there, it was very quiet. Only a mile into the lovely Kirkcudbright town and 5 miles to Brighouse Bay where we like to do the costal walk, which has amazing views.
We all loved our time here and I'm sure we will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. High Kirkland can be a good base to discover Kirkcudbright and around the area. Always good to come back to a roaring log burner after a days exploring! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
disappoin...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“warm and cosy with excellent views”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have visited Kirkcudbright before and were delighted to find this property to stay in. It was easy to find with the directions given on booking. The house is set high on a hill with wonderful views and in a vey peaceful spot. There was no one in the other properties attached and it was very quiet. The house was very spacious, nicely decorated and very clean, with all that was needed for a stay for eight people. It was lovely and warm and with the log burner lit it felt just like home. I hired it for my 60th birthday and my closest family all came. Young to old all enjoyed the house and the immediate area of Kirkcudbright, with Brighouse Bay being a favourite, even in winter. The children enjoyed making gifts for me (and themselves) at the chocolate bean place over the bridge. The grown ups (and their husbands) enjoyed shopping in Castle Douglas and Dumfries. A trip out towards Stranraer found some lovely places to visit and we also visited the smokehouse for our usual goodies. There were many walking opportunities but the weather was against us and we will save them until next time. The owners were very helpful and were on the end of a phone if you needed them. A wonderful winter break was had by all before the return to work and school!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your comments. We try very hard to give our customers that home from home feeling and hopefully that little bit extra too. We are situated that if you want peace from the outside world you can have that but we are also situated very locally to lots of activities, beaches and to lovely eating places.
The fact we have 3 cottages situated together provides the perfect base for a large family gathering also. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing