We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,400)
Filter reviews
2,400 results
Traveller rating
651
769
482
298
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
769
482
298
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club gin palace table tennis refurbished room front facing tennis courts signature room swimming pool new owners games room grand hotel pitch and putt gin tasting leisure facilities bit dated steam room bunk beds
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 2,400 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday and we loved every minute of it. There is so much to do at the hotel that you will never be bored and with the choice of the outdoor bar, cocktail bar, gin palace and the restaurant we weren’t short of a drink or two!
The hotel is a few minutes walked into Peebles which has a few nice shops, restaurants and bars and a lovely walk along the river.
The staff at the hotel are excellent as is the food we had a dinner - can’t wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank weefunkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback weefunkymonkey. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Peebles Hydro and found plenty to do during your stay. It will be a pleasure to pass your feedback on to our team and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

I booked a meeting room with catering for a small group and the facilities were excellent. I had great communications with the hotel team before the day and was met when I arrived, shown to the room and the facilities were explained to me.
The meeting room had a fabulous view over the Tweed valley and everyone in my group commented on how great the catering had been.
I am very happy to recommend Peebles Hydro for its facilities, catering and friendliness of the staff.
The cost for the event was very reasonable

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frankkatzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us frankkatzer. It was great to hear that you were pleased with the facilities and catering for your meeting at Peebles Hydro. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team which will certainly be passed back to them. We hope we will get the chance of welcoming you back to the Hydro before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We used an Itison voucher to add a couple of days holiday to the end of a wedding weekend (not at Peebles). Hotel was very nice and food good value. There seemed to be a lot of trainee staff but having said that we could not fault them. Room was very comfortable and good outlook to the east - sun streaming in in the morning.
Food was good but breakfast could have been hotter and things kept running out before they were replaced.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us Antony P. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break although sorry to hear that it was not perfect in all respects. Your comments regarding the breakfast have been passed back to the Food and Beverage Team and we do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Disappointing stay compared to the stay we had in November. We were allocated a feature room in the annexe but if the feature was the view then this was obscured by two of the three double glazed windows being blown and containing condensation. The room itself was ok but lacked any character and could be likened to a traveller lodge type, it was also very noisy doors slamming when being closed. Dinner was ok, breakfast was also ok but was let down by some elements of the buffet being cold namely the scrambled egg. On checking out I found we had been overcharged by a substantial amount, this was corrected but I felt the apology for the hotels mistake given by the senoir member of staff at reception was a bit half hearted. The young girl at the reception did ask if we has enjoyed our stay and how it could be improved upon and I mentioned the noisy room. Staff on the whole were pleasant but a few were a bit offhand.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback margaret m. We were sorry to hear that you found your recent visit to be disappointing based on your previous stay. We will certainly take your feedback on board and do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Soooo....after a weekend away we decided to call into the Peebles Hydro for my elderly mother to have a coffee and a scone and us a sandwich, it was Bank Holiday Monday. There were people sitting outside at tables have drinks and food, all good so far. After we parked I could not work out where the lift was for my mother, there was a sign but it was not clear, eventually a lady (not staff) showed us the way. Once upstairs, whilst there was a reception, there were people checking in etc. so I decided to investigate where to find the said coffee etc. I found a shop called the 'picnic shop' it was very dark, no windows and a lady serving, the sandwiches were in rather tacky plastic containers and some cakes on a stand, I took a scone and we both wanted a sandwich which was not ready prepared, the lady said that she could get one made so we paid and I asked where we could sit...anywhere was the answer, although the lady was nice enough, she did not actually show us and as we are not familiar with the Hotel it was a little odd, we eventually found the 'garden room' but we noticed that the décor was not really in keeping with the hotel, very modern and very sparse, bare tables (café like) no flowers or any decoration on the tables. My mums scone was definitely not baked that day or even the day before, very hard, when our sandwiches came they were on a bare small plate, no napkin, cutlery, garnish, just put on the table, whilst the lady was very nice the whole experience was a huge disappointment - what a shame, sorry but won't be back - also over £15!! To add to that the plant pots outside the hotel had really bad laminated signs stuck in them to advertise the gardens......a signpost would be a better idea!!

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank bendywendy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us bendywendy3. So sorry to hear that you found your recent visit to Peebles Hydro for coffee, sandwiches and scones to be disappointing. Your feedback will certainly be passed back to the Management Team. Sorry also to hear that you do not plan to return to the hotel but hope that you may reconsider and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews