We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
215
40
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
40
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling greenfour poster bedvictorian roomguest housewarm welcomewelcoming hostsbreakfast was excellentgeorge streetlittle extrastop floorwonderful stayhospitality trayconvenient locationroom was largewould definitely stay here againb and bfront facing
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

The Hawthornbank Guest House was amazing! Ian and his staff took amazing care of us while we were there!

Breakfast every morning was perfection!!

The rooms are well sized and kept extremely clean. Access to the guest house at any hour (via key) was great in that there were some late nights.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Theodore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks for the positive feedback. Hope to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed at Hawthornbank in one the rooms, my parents taking the one in front of mine. Both rooms, each of them decorated with its own theme, looked pretty nice as in relaxing and peaceful. I was pretty impressed by how nice the building was, as well. Although is it not in front of the seaside, views from the room were pretty cool.
Good full english breakfast was provided

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oriol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thanks for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We were in room 8 and it was great. The windows had blackout shades and the breakfast each morning was very tasty. The whole house was very clean and comfy. The owner was very friendly, super nice, and helpful. She went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thanks for leaving a review - glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Stayed in June in a very spacious (there was an armchair and small sofa too), well decorated and furnished, twin bedded room on the top floor. The big plus was a lovely view over Oban bay. Convenient for the seafront with a shortcut down the hill from the garden of the house. Welcoming hosts, spotlessly clean and great choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sylvia585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had a very comfortable stay. Room was so clean with a great sea view. Good value for money.The hosts were so welcoming and attentive to our needs. Foods and services were excellent. We would highly recommend Hawthornbank Guest House to other tourists and travellers.
We would love to come back.
Joel and Frank.

Room Tip: Great sea views and very clean room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jfa7349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thanks for writing a review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews