We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthornbank Guest House
Ranked #16 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We spent a lovely weekend in Oban. The hosts of Hawthornbank Jermi and Ian could not be more friendly and welcoming. They gave us advice on local attractions and even booked a tour around the Oban Distillery ahead of our arrival as this is a popular site. We were staying in the Victorian room with a stunning view of the sea. The B&B is situated in a quiet location but at the same time very close to the centre of Oban, which was really good when i.e. going out for dinner - most of the restaurants and pubs are in a walking distance. Parking spot at the back of the property - very handy. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stunning views overlooking the bay, victorian styled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeFanatic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Glad you enjoyed your trip to Oban. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

The Hawthornbank Guest House was amazing! Ian and his staff took amazing care of us while we were there!

Breakfast every morning was perfection!!

The rooms are well sized and kept extremely clean. Access to the guest house at any hour (via key) was great in that there were some late nights.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Theodore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks for the positive feedback. Hope to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed at Hawthornbank in one the rooms, my parents taking the one in front of mine. Both rooms, each of them decorated with its own theme, looked pretty nice as in relaxing and peaceful. I was pretty impressed by how nice the building was, as well. Although is it not in front of the seaside, views from the room were pretty cool.
Good full english breakfast was provided

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oriol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thanks for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We were in room 8 and it was great. The windows had blackout shades and the breakfast each morning was very tasty. The whole house was very clean and comfy. The owner was very friendly, super nice, and helpful. She went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thanks for leaving a review - glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Stayed in June in a very spacious (there was an armchair and small sofa too), well decorated and furnished, twin bedded room on the top floor. The big plus was a lovely view over Oban bay. Convenient for the seafront with a shortcut down the hill from the garden of the house. Welcoming hosts, spotlessly clean and great choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sylvia585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.5 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.2 km away
Greystones
Greystones
#9 of 94 in Oban
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0 km away
The Old Manse Guest House
1 km away
High Cliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthornbank Guest House

Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: €37 - €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthornbank Guest House is a delightful Victorian villa built in 1873. It is pleasantly situated in a slightly elevated position, nd have many rooms with spectacular views of Oban bay. We are close to Oban town centre yet in a quiet residential setting. There is off-street parking and a footpath leads from the front garden towards the town. We have facilities for bicycles and welcome cyclists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthornbank Guest House Hotel Oban
Hawthornbank Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing