We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Oban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthornbank Guest House
Ranked #15 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We had a lovely view out of our huge windows looking over the harbor and of the ferrys and town of Oban. The room was elegant and charming. It had everything we needed and more. Ian was a perfect host. Helpful with ideas and directions. The breakfast was delicious and served in a lovely breakfast room. Hawthornbank has it's own parking, which is a plus in Oban. It is located up a hill from town, so if you have physical challenges, it might be a bit tough, but we loved the walk into town (5 minutes!). I cannot say enough positives about Hawthornbank Guest House. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Oban.

Room Tip: Ask for the big room up front with the huge window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thanks for your great feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

This B&B is in a great location. It's an short walk to the waterfront, shops and restaurant. Our room was very comfortable. We were on the third floor which had a really nice view of the water. The sink was in our room not in the bathroom which I found quirky and loved it. If you get this room, just watch you head. I hit it on the dormer roof a few times using the mirror LOL. Breakfast was very good and the hosts were wonderful. There was a small parking lot in back which is a must in Oban. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 052112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast was good, and thanks for reviewing us. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Ian made us very welcome We had the four poster bed very comfortable Nice views from our room across the bay Short walk to town centre. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. parking spaces for guests

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ronnie200650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks for the review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We were very fortunate to find the Hawthornbank Guest House for our first visit to Oban. The house itself is a charming Victorian situated high enough above the harbor to provide beautiful views of the port and islands, but a very easy walk to George Street. Our room was comfortable and immaculate, with a large wardrobe that easily held our carry on bag. The en suite bathroom, while small, was well-appointed without clutter, and so clean that the surfaces sparkled.

When we arrived we sought advice about things to see and received good information about a range of sites. We spent a very enjoyable half day on Kerrara walking to the castle ruin.

The owners manage the guesthouse very sensibly: guests are asked to make breakfast choices the night before to ensure the supplies are available. Similarly, you are asked to settle up on your last night to avoid interfering with the breakfast hour. Breakfast choices were varied and delicious and served with a warm smile.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lisac79823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay in Oban. Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This was our first visit to Oban and we were very lucky to find such a comfortable, centrally located place to stay. Large hotel chains often come up blank when asked for a double room and a twin next to each other, but this independent little B&B accommodated us just so, with panoramic views over Oban harbour.

The house itself is a charming, tall period home looking across the town, and a range of breakfasts, including the all important full scottish are served (with specials changing daily). Without any sense of intrusion, you'll be made to feel like a house guest.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grahaminn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thanks for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your first visit to Oban and Hawthornbank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
188 reviews
0.5 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.2 km away
Greystones
Greystones
#10 of 94 in Oban
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0 km away
The Old Manse Guest House
2.8 km away
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthornbank Guest House

Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: €38 - €46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthornbank Guest House is a delightful Victorian villa built in 1873. It is pleasantly situated in a slightly elevated position, nd have many rooms with spectacular views of Oban bay. We are close to Oban town centre yet in a quiet residential setting. There is off-street parking and a footpath leads from the front garden towards the town. We have facilities for bicycles and welcome cyclists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthornbank Guest House Hotel Oban
Hawthornbank Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing