We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
209
39
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
39
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling greenfour poster bedvictorian roomguest housewarm welcomewelcoming hostsgeorge streetbreakfast was excellentshort walkspent three nightslittle extrastop floorporridgewonderful stayhospitality trayconvenient locationwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

This B&B is in a great location. It's an short walk to the waterfront, shops and restaurant. Our room was very comfortable. We were on the third floor which had a really nice view of the water. The sink was in our room not in the bathroom which I found quirky and loved it. If you get this room, just watch you head. I hit it on the dormer roof a few times using the mirror LOL. Breakfast was very good and the hosts were wonderful. There was a small parking lot in back which is a must in Oban. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 052112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast was good, and thanks for reviewing us. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Ian made us very welcome We had the four poster bed very comfortable Nice views from our room across the bay Short walk to town centre. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. parking spaces for guests

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ronnie200650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks for the review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We were very fortunate to find the Hawthornbank Guest House for our first visit to Oban. The house itself is a charming Victorian situated high enough above the harbor to provide beautiful views of the port and islands, but a very easy walk to George Street. Our room was comfortable and immaculate, with a large wardrobe that easily held our carry on bag. The en suite bathroom, while small, was well-appointed without clutter, and so clean that the surfaces sparkled.

When we arrived we sought advice about things to see and received good information about a range of sites. We spent a very enjoyable half day on Kerrara walking to the castle ruin.

The owners manage the guesthouse very sensibly: guests are asked to make breakfast choices the night before to ensure the supplies are available. Similarly, you are asked to settle up on your last night to avoid interfering with the breakfast hour. Breakfast choices were varied and delicious and served with a warm smile.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lisac79823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay in Oban. Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This was our first visit to Oban and we were very lucky to find such a comfortable, centrally located place to stay. Large hotel chains often come up blank when asked for a double room and a twin next to each other, but this independent little B&B accommodated us just so, with panoramic views over Oban harbour.

The house itself is a charming, tall period home looking across the town, and a range of breakfasts, including the all important full scottish are served (with specials changing daily). Without any sense of intrusion, you'll be made to feel like a house guest.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grahaminn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thanks for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your first visit to Oban and Hawthornbank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Spent three nights at Hawthornbank Guest House on the recommendation of friends. We had the ground floor room which was small but adequate, very clean and tastefully furnished/decorated. Only fault was the creaky bed!
Very central location and quiet surroundings.
Lovely, beautifully cooked breakfasts. Bottled water in room. Very friendly & helpful hosts.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Hawthornbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay. By the way, we will be changing the bed in that room over the next few weeks.
-Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews