We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthornbank Guest House
Ranked #16 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great hospitality as soon as we entered the house. Morven was very pleasant made us feel very welcome immediately. Our room was spectacular with a great four poster bed (best sleep in years). View was just lovely overseeing Oban and the isles. Breakfast was very well made and was relaxing to eat in such a nice room. Morven was very knowledgeable of the area and gave good advice of where to visit etc. Loved the whole experience of staying at Hawthornbank. We'll be back to visit the islands soon and plan to stay at Morvens.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are definatley worth the little extra payment. I would suggest requesting in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dmccu47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

A really excellent bed and breakfast. We had a lovely double room, beautifully decorated and with lovely original features. The breakfasts were delicious. It was all very reasonably priced at £75 per night.

It is only a short walk into Oban, which was beautiful.

Morven really makes this excellent b&b special. She is an outstanding host and couldn't have been warmer or more welcoming.

Genuinely the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Hope to come back and try out the four poster bed next time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This B&B is fantastic, great location, easy short walk into the center of town. The house is lovely with beautiful original features. The rooms are spacious and have sitting areas as well as ensuites. We had two rooms, both were great, one was on the top floor with spectacular views over the bay. Morven couldn't be a better host, highly recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misschica79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Wonderful stay and a four poster bed to boot too!!!!!

Wonderful room with a great view, facilities excellent.

Great breakfast.

Lady of the house was so lovely, very friendly, very warm and welcoming. We were on a motorbike and she let us leave our luffage in the house when we checked out so we could have a wander around the distillery. Nothing was too much trouble for her whatsoever.

Highly recommended.

We love Oban and will stay here again on our next tour of Scotland.

Room Tip: Four poster room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We arrived at the Hawthorne after a drive to stay one night on our way to Coll.
Morven greeted us at the entrance and our two year old daughter who normally sizes you up before talking to you promptly handed Morven her precious Teddy. We reckon if she does that then its an OK place to stay, and she was right. Morven took us to a spacious room at the top of the house which suited us perfectly, plenty of space for the three of us to rest before an early start to get the ferry the next morning. As we were leaving earlier than any sane person would like to be up and out of bed Morven left us a packed breakfast each. I say breakfast, it was more like a feast, and each bag individually labelled with appropriate contents for adult and child.

I would thoroughly recommend Morven and her guest house to anyone looking for a place to stay in Oban

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.5 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.2 km away
Greystones
Greystones
#9 of 94 in Oban
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0 km away
The Old Manse Guest House
1 km away
High Cliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthornbank Guest House

Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: €37 - €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthornbank Guest House is a delightful Victorian villa built in 1873. It is pleasantly situated in a slightly elevated position, nd have many rooms with spectacular views of Oban bay. We are close to Oban town centre yet in a quiet residential setting. There is off-street parking and a footpath leads from the front garden towards the town. We have facilities for bicycles and welcome cyclists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthornbank Guest House Hotel Oban
Hawthornbank Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing