We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very beautiful place-the views are amazing.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Roam42485...
1 review
“A very beautiful place-the views are amazing.”
Reviewed 23 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

A very comfortable and well equipped holiday home, we all enjoyed our stay, including our dogs. The situation is tremendous with views out across the loch.
There are many good restaurants within a short drive and lots of interesting places to visit, we can't wait for next year.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2019
Very pleased that the dogs had a good holiday and that you kept busy and found some good places to eat. Let us know of any recommendations. Best Regards, Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide0771...
1 review
“Lovely views over the loch and great location for wildlife, history and gardens”
Reviewed 2 June 2019 for a stay in May 2019

Grand downstairs rooms overlooking the loch and comfortable bedrooms - a place with character. The small road outside leads around the shore with fine views - good for cycling if you don't mind a few ups and downs. Lots of things to do in the area: boat trips to the islands, kayaking, seal-otter-whale-porpoise-eagle-squirrel spotting, whirlpools, gardens, castles, prehistoric sites (Kilmartin), good food in Oban and elsewhere... the sun may even shine! (Don't worry, the rain is quite warm) Your hosts are very helpful and you can bring the dog.

Date of stay: May 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2019
Thank you for your positive remarks and useful suggestions of visits and activities. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Best Regards, Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisH109...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Base for a Lovely Holiday.”
Reviewed 31 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely to start the days watching the Osprey and the Gannets fishing in the Loch - and a glimpse of the otter.We had lovely paddles in the Loch over to Luing and Clachan bridge. Also a nice cycle over to Luing. Glorious weather for a walk up Ben Cruachan from where the views were stunning.
A nice relaxed, old house where we felt at home. Plenty of room for all 9 adults and a dog! Had a nice BBQ in the Garden. It was lovely to return back here again.
Thanks Denise.

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your return visit and that you made the most of the good weather! I'm glad there was enough room for your dog and hope he/she had a good holiday too. We are putting in new sofas soon, so you will have to return and try them out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Thank you. We are always glad when people say that the house feels like home, as that is what we intended. We spend time there too, so we have a good idea of what is needed, but are open to suggestions. There is always something to see, or look out for, on the loch which makes it easy to sit and watch if you don't feel like gadding around the countryside. Hope to see you back one day. Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oldromant...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorious views from a fine old house”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The great attraction of Creag-an-Fhithich is the view from the front door across the sea loch to the hills beyond. Breakfast, lunch, teatime, evening drinks, supper, late-night scotch, there was never a moment when it was less than perfect. We did have astonishingly good weather, but the view would be magical in any conditions. There are also easy walks nearby. The house is spacious and comfortable, and if it's a bit retro that's half of its charm. It has the welcoming feel of a family home. The kitchen is well stocked and everything was easy to find. We also liked the 'secret garden' just beyond the main garden. For activities, we recommend David Ainsley's Sea Life Adventures boat trip out to see the seals, porpoises and whales (the latter if you're lucky)--he's well informed and full of interesting details. For drinking, we recommend the Oban single malt as being perfectly balanced (we tried several...)

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on Loch Melfort after such a long journey from Singapore! The secret garden (also known as The Wilderness) is a work in progress that nature always wins! Glad everything was to your liking, including the local whisky! Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.